We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a place for a family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Axell's Scandinavian Inn to your Saves list
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Need a place for a family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Axell's and their manager were awesome to our family. They provide us with awnings, made sure the wood was stocked to purchase for the firepit. They weren't upset when we didin't know what dishes went to what room anymore. The Fairway is also connected and our family took up most of both hotels. We had an awesome time playing volleyball in the pool at night. If your looking for a place to stay I recommend here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Your family was AWESOME! We had so much fun watching you all have fun! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
18
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I visited the Fairway (sister hotel of the Scandinavian) this past weekend for a quick trip to see a local production of Rent. Sheila offered a great rate for the room 08/12-08/15 - the room was squeaky clean, the beds were comfortable and I really enjoyed having use of a full sized refrigerator and oven, coffee maker, etc. I also loved the pool!
The Axells hold summer productions in Manchester with the Fairway Players and open their home to actors from NYC for the show; which meant a steady buzz of activity and fun for the weekend including a barbecue birthday party on the front lawn and movie nights. This was my second trip to Manchester and my second stay with the Axells. I did not even consider any other property for this trip and will definitely be back. Thank you Sheila and Kent!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the motel several years ago and it was quite acceptable. We are planning another trip to the Augusta area in August, 2011 and planned to stay at the Fairway again. My wife made the reservations and was told our credit card would be charged for our intended stay. She was also told she would have to cancel at least 30 days ahead of time to receive a full refund. Our plans changed and my wife canceled 33 days ahead of our arrival.

When our credit card statement arrived, however, it reflected only a partial refund. The motel was keeping $149 of a $470 bill. My wife called the motel and spoke with Derinda, the manager. She was pleasant but said there was nothing she could do, and, in any case, there was a $35 charge FOR CANCELING the reservations! We had never been advised of this "charge," and, had we been, we would never have booked the reservations in the first place. My wife successfully challenged the charge with our credit card company.

Essentially, the Fairway has attempted to scam us. Caveat Emptor!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Customers are told that they will receive their confirmation and our cancellation policy via the email address they give us.If a customer calls us within a few hours and explains that they are not certain and want to resind the reservation we will do that. However, a few days is ample time for someone to have read their email.
Our cancellation policy which each customer receives in their email within minutes of making a reservation is as follows:
Dear Customer : Your reservation confirmation is attached. Thank you for your business - we appreciate it very much. Please read our cancellation policy completely. Cancellation Policies:
All Cancellations are subject to a $35 fee per room reserved per day.
Payments are non refundable if a cancellation is made 30 days or less before scheduled arrival date and you will be responsible for entire remaining balance due. Payments will be refunded if the cancellation is received more than 30 days out from scheduled arrival date (less the $35 fee per room reserved per day) and if the reservation is able to be rebooked in its entirety. Because we are a small inn, cancellations have a significant impact on us. We will make an honest effort to rebook another reservation. In the event that we are unable to secure another reservation, you will be held responsible for your reservation in its entirety.

I feel very badly that someone would say we are trying to "scam" them, but this is our policy. I will send the Morgans a gift certificate for a free night's stay to try to mend their opinion of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed at the Scandy with my family over the weekend of 07/30-8/1. We came into Manchester for an event and the staff/owners of the motel were extremely accomodating for a very late arrival Friday night. The rooms are cozy and quaint, very clean, the bathrooms are spotless and the beds are extremely comfortable.
The Axell family owns this property and the Fairway which is about a mile or so up the road. The pool is located at the Fairway but we had access to use it. Both properties are very nice and our hosts could not have been more welcoming or pleasant.
No complaints. Would definitely stay here again and recommend either property to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I have stayed in my fair share of hotels, and I have yet to find a single one that has as much attention to detail as Axell's Scandinavian Inn. Every singe room has it's own personal motif and character. If you factor that in with the very simple, personal, homey touches that many hotels nowadays seem to have forgotten about... you get treated to a very wonderful experience. The rooms are spotless, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. You almost forget that you're in a hotel. You almost feel as though you are a guest in their home. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great stay at a very reasonable hotel nestled in the heart of Maine. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Even with all the five-star ratings it received on this site, I was still blown away by how nice this hotel was. It was located conveniently close to I-95 and any place you might want to go in and around Augusta.I had a single king-size bed room that was as tastefully decorated and clean as I could have possibly imagined. The operators were friendly and helpful and the maid even went so far as to neatly align my flip flops which I had left strewn about the floor. I will definitely stay here again if I ever make my way back to Augusta.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I were traveling to Maine for a friend's wedding. We decided to stay at Axell's because we needed a pet friendly hotel/motel (we have 3 1/2 month old Sheltie), something close to the wedding and reception site (we are from WAY out of town), and couldn't afford to stay at the chain hotels. Axell's fit the bill and I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, cute, and accomodating it was.

Great stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Axell's Scandinavian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Address: 803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351
Location: United States > Maine > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just west of the Augusta line, we are two, small, locally owned and operated motels with all the amenities of a large one. Innkeepers, Sheila and Kent, have worked tirelessly to make each and every guestroom unique, comfortable and full of amenities that they themselves would like to find while they are traveling. You won't find "cookie cutter" guestrooms here, all guestrooms are decorated differently, so if you don't like the style of one, we are sure we'll find one you love! When you visit, you must take a dip in the new inground, salt water, heated pool, located at the Fairway, just one mile from the Scandinavian Inn ! It is fabulous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Axell's Scandinavian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axells Scandinavian Hotel
Axells Scandinavian Motel
Axell's Scandinavian Inn Manchester, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axell's Scandinavian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.