We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in the St. John Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Acadia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madawaska
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn of Acadia
Save
You added Inn of Acadia to your Saves list
384 St Thomas Street, Madawaska, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madawaska
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in the St. John Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We did not stay in the Inn, as we have a lake "camp" nearby, but ate at the restuarant . Before dinner we were served some freshly made hummus with homemade toasted pita bread. A great little treat to start off our dinner.

My Sicilian pizza was the best in Maine (move over Otto and Portland Pie) . My husband's lobster roll came on a freshly baked roll. The bacon and cheese were a little too much, but once that was removed the lobster roll was perfect. The chocolate mocha mousse cake was delicious, and since we were splitting dessert the kitchen thoughtfully added an extra dollop of whipped cream.

The service, by Danielle, was excellent. Hope to come back frequently this summer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brewer, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hot fresh muffins for breakfast were a real hit. Thanks for a very pleasant visit, We will be back. The desk clerks were very friendly. The flowers at the main entrance were beautiful. We were able to sleep well on the comfortable beds.

Room Tip: I accedentally checked off the pool. There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Went to stay at the Inn of Acadia for business and the rooms are spectacular. What a gem to have in such a small town! The staff is extremely helpful and made the stay like a home away from home. Lana and Tiffani were amazing and made me feel just like family. A must see! Highly recommended!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great hotel with reasonable rates. We stayed in the Acadia King suite which was two rooms, the suite opens into the King bedroom and bathroom access and there is a door that can be closed to the other room with the kitchen and sofabed. There are 2 TV s. The bathroom was very large and had a handheld showerhead. Beds (including sofabed) were very comfortable. Room was overall very well appointed. Staff was friendly. Only complaint is that they use regular keys on the rooms and the locks were a little stiff / hard to open.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were absolutely delighted with this lovely new inn and a town we had never been to. We stayed on a Tuesday evening and they were sold out but had remembered we wanted a king and had moved us to a king based on a prior cancellation. Lovely. Supposed to happen that way but almost never does. The bed and surroundings were very comfortable and it is well off the Main Street so it is quiet. The view from the in house restaurant is outstanding, with the town of Edmonston, Canada and the St. John's river at your doorstep. We ate dinner and were very pleased with my wife's fish and chips and my excellent chicken pesto pizza. The best part was our delightful waitperson, Danielle, a senior at Fort Kent High School. She will dispell any concerns you might have with how the younger generation will handle life.
Breakfast is not to be missed and you must have the Ployes, a local favorite, but made by Grace, a Madawaska raised chef. She can give you the entire history and the variation of Ployes. Not a crepe and not a pancake, but somewhat a look-alike. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited Inn of Acadia on a driving trip with my elderly Mom. What beautiful accommodations--a real find in northern Maine. My Mom's handicap unit was spacious--and very easy for her to maneuver around with her walker. We had a one bedroom unit with kitchen and living room which gave us all room to spend time together comfortably. The décor was beautiful--and units were very clean. Peggy at the front desk was delightful--and gave us many pointers on the area. Grace made breakfast a real treat every morning with her delicious ploye and friendly conversation. She gave me pointers on cooking the ploye--which I will do once home with the mix picked up at Bouchard's family farm. JJ, the owner, was so friendly and helpful--even retrieving an earring that found it's way down the bathroom sink drain! If traveling to the Madawaska area you will not find finer accommodations than those at the Inn of Acadia. They have now also begun lunch and dinner service--which will make the Inn a true destination--unexpected luxury for northern Maine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at the Inn of Acadia last night for the first time on a work-related trip to the St. John Valley. Now I'm trying to think of when I can go back for a leisure trip on my own schedule to take the time to enjoy the soon-to-open full service restaurant in the hotel. It isn't just that the hotel is lovely, well designed, that Grace's ployes are the best, that it is a quality experience. Or that the people who make this place what it is are some of the best I've met anywhere in the hospitality industry, anywhere in the world. All of these things are true. The entire region has a rich cultural history, the area is beautiful, and the hospitality among folks in the valley is second to none. Go in the winter or go in the summer. Just go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Acadia

Address: 384 St Thomas Street, Madawaska, ME
Location: United States > Maine > Madawaska
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madawaska
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Acadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.