We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service Under Stress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolly's Restaurant

Dolly's Restaurant
Frenchville Rd., Madawaska, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Madawaska
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Service Under Stress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Following a massive crowd from Madawaska during the Acadian Festival in August 2014 (Tintamarre) I stopped at Dolly's for supper. The place was overwhelmed with people. Considering the stress that certainly the staff was under to not only serve but cook and clean as well, they simply must be credited with an outstanding performance.

While it took a while to be served, the food was really very good. I had the two-piece "Broasted" chicken dinner. It's actually fried chicken and it rivals some of the better "southern fried chicken" I've had in the past. Served with choice of potato and coleslaw, not to mention homemade Ployes, the meal was very satisfying.

The restaurant itself isn't anything special if you're used to larger cities but it IS something special when you consider the service and food available.

Dolly's gets my vote - I'll go back for more.

The actual address is 17 Frenchville Rd (US 1 S) and the post office is actually Frenchville.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All of the best in home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dolly's restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel owner when we stayed in a Madawaska.
One gets a warm feeling upon entering this delightful little restaurant. It is cozy and quaint.
We chose to have a turkey dinner with all of the fixings and it was served just as we would have at home. Everything was scrumptious - roast turkey, REAL,mashed potatoes, perfectly seasoned stuffing and a choice of vegetable or coleslaw. Like Thanksgiving in July
Desserts are all made on the premises too and ranged from homemade pies to brownies and cake.
We were quite full but had to try the pie so we shared a piece of Apple pie with a wonderful flaky crust.
Our waitress was a friendly, accommodating young lady and met our every need.
If you are in the area of Madawaska you will feel welcome here and leave full but happy
Very reasonably priced too

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“PEA SOUP TO DIE FOR!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is not your regular green pea soup ... it is this tender barley, bean, yellow pea soup in a nice and flavorful broth. Forget the cup, just go for the bowl. Sop it up with some ployes. It's a MUST!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dolly's? - only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Portions were good. Food was average, at best. Highly recommended by locals. This town needs good food!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison GA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just plain good cooking and HUGE portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took the recommendation of the hotel clerk and my fellow Trip Advisor contributors. Decided to have the pork chop dinner with potato and slaw; we could have split one dinner and just added a side or two. I should have taken a picture because you probably won't believe that the TWO pork chops were 3/4 to 1 inch thick EACH and cooked perfectly. They were huge and beautiful. I couldn't even finish one of mine. The two types of potatoes we tried were perfectly cooked and the slaw was delicious. In addition to the two sides, the meal came with some lettuce, tomato, onion and dressing. The coffee was great. Staff was wonderful. Most everybody had enough to take home and the place was packed on a Wednesday night. Anywhere else, that much meat and food would have been well over $20; at Dolly's it is $9.75. Lots of menu choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolly's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dolly's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolly's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.