We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always book here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ducktrap Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ducktrap Motel to your Saves list
Ducktrap Motel
12 Whitney Rd, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$107 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
2 reviews
“Always book here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been returning here for the last eight years. I love the motel the cottage, the nice lawns and friendly owners. It's just a great plae to stay and I've already book my stay for this season too! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
44
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Midcoast Maine and we were lucky enough to stay at the Ducktrap Motel. We were able to book cottage #11 for two nights. As others have said, the place is immaculate, I mean clean, clean, clean! The grounds are beautifully manicured. The cottage was so cute and cozy and nicely decorated. It had everything we needed, two burner stove, sink, fridge (with a small freezer area), microwave, wifi, coffee maker, cable tv,pots,pans, plates, glasses, towels...Let's just say it was fully stocked! It also had A/C and heat (which we did not have to use).The price was very reasonable compared to other places in the area. We stayed two nights Aug 12th and 13th and paid $115 a night. It is very convenient to Camden and Belfast, or a trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park . Rick and Elaine were very nice and helpful. This place is the BEST! We will absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Pros: Set well back from the main road ( route 1) so was quiet. This was the main reason why we chose this motel, as we'd previously stayed in one along the same road that had a lot of traffic noise. It was nice to relax on the porch outside our room and enjoy the well maintained green lawn. The room was clean and well aired, the carpet was clean and bathroom was small but spotless. There was free in-room wifi with very good download speeds.

Cons: One bedside lamp was unplugged from the wall socket and it was difficult to plug it back in as the socket was behind the bed and we have back and knee issues. The fridge was not turned on even though they knew we were checking in today. (The hotel has a 'green' policy but how much energy would be saved by not turning on the fridge or plugging in the lamp? Not worth the inconvenience!) . No ice machine on the premises, and since the fridge wasn't on, we couldn't make any ice for our drinks on a hot summer's day. The bathtub was slippery and the two thin antislip strips weren't effective. There was no handrail to grip on to. No tissues/Kleenex were provided, just toilet paper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights, it was perfect. The cleanliness was outstanding, and it passed the white sock test with flying colors. The property was so nicely manicured, it was a pleasure to just relax outside and enjoy the flowers and trees. Very convenient to Camden or Belfast, an easy day trip to Bar Harbor or the Bangor airport. Outstanding service as well, we wanted for absolutely nothing. It was the best, and we stay there again if traveling to Maine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stay here every year 6+ for the North Atlantic Blues Fest. Out of town where thousands are staying yet close to everything. Nice and quiet, clean rooms, and proprietors are so accommodating and nice. Thanks Elaine and Rick for another nice weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

All the major hotels were not available in coastal maine on July 4th long weekend. So I picked this one but I was pleasantly surprised with this motel. Very clean rooms and good high speed internet cable which you can connect to your laptop. Wifi would have been great but I was lucky to have laptop. There are chairs for coffee outside the motel with a great green view to relax. Motel owners are very friendly and informative. It is very nearby from Camden and very close to scenic highway one. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Take laptop for intenet access with cable. No Wifi here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montague
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stay at the Ducktrap every year (6+ and counting) coinciding with the annual Maine Antiques Festival in nearby Union, Maine. Rick and Elaine are gracious hosts and good people. We like to stay in the quirky little cottage, but are always happy in one of the rooms, too. The property is immaculate, exceptionally clean rooms, inviting grounds with sweeping views, and the location is perfect for a quick run to town for lobster dinner. We are grateful to have found the Ducktrap Motel, and would have no reason to stay anywhere else in that area. See you again in August!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
2.7 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#1 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
0.9 mi away
Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ducktrap Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducktrap Motel

Address: 12 Whitney Rd, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ducktrap Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducktrap Hotel Lincolnville
Ducktrap Motel Lincolnville
Ducktrap Motel Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducktrap Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.