We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean room but no early check in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ducktrap Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincolnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ducktrap Motel
12 Whitney Rd, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Lincolnville
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very clean room but no early check in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived at the motel at 11.30 am (as it was raining and we did not stop to view sites as planned) however we were told that
Our room would not be ready until 2.30 pm at the earliest! This was strange as we were also informed that the other guests had all checked out on Monday and our arrival was on Wednesday so the owners had one and a half days to prepare the room.
The room itself was beautifully clean and the small deck had nice views over the lawns. One draw back was that there were two armchairs and one wooden chair. It did not have a suitable table at which we could eat in comfort which again was strange as a microwave oven was provided. There was a large fridge. We did eat in for both nights of our stay as there was not a restaurant nearby.
The owners did provide an air conditioning unit without us having to request one, which was very welcome as the weather had turned very warm. We did not have enough towels only two bath towels and one face towel were provided also take your own toiletries.

Room Tip: We had room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
31
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We rented a deluxe room with two queen beds. It was nicely laid out and even had its own small deck. It had a fridge and a microwave but no where to prepare food or snacks. The beds were comfortable and the bedding of a good quality. Larger towels would have been good.

We arrived early and in the pouring rain and although we were the only guests , early check in was not possible. However on our last day when it was very hot we were kitted out with an Ac unit without having to ask. This was appreciated

The motel is a few miles from Lincolnville and there are no restaurants within walking distance.
Camden State hills park is only a few miles down the road and has many lovely walks around it. The ferry to Isleboro leaves from Lincolnville but unless you're intending a walk or take the car there is nothing to see at the other end.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is not adequate if you wish to eat in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beener
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Rick and Elains Duck trap motel for two nights,very nice people and clean rooms.The property is also well groomed,If you stay there stop by Shay michel across the street from the Whals tooth,Its has GREAT food.Both places are worth the trip.
Thanks for making you trip so pleasent.
joe from ct ( room 10)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Perfect location while we were on our way from Marshall point Lighthouse to Acadia National Park. The B&B and hotels in the area were very expensive and we were pleasantly surprised to find one that was affordable. Rooms are large, and very clean. The bathroom door didnt lock, but we were ok with just closing it.
Note that there is no breakfast included in the rate, they dont have a kitchen. But Rick did tell us where we could find really good food a few miles down the road. The breakfast was 30$ and compensated for the relatively cheap room. I may have booked elsewhere had I realized upfront that there was no breakfast at Duck Trap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife, mom, aunt, and I went on a trip to Maine at the 'wrong time of year' without reservations during the Columbus Day Weekend. We tried 40 or more motels, hotels, and B&B's with no luck until we came upon Ducktrap after a suggestion from a business owner in Belfast who said she sends everyone she knows there (including her family) and even called for us! I wish I could remember her name and that of name of her jewelry business, but she was fantastic.
We locked our keys in the trunk of our car during the stay and both the owners, Rick and Elaine, offered to loan us their car and/or take us 1 1/2 hours to Augusta to get a copy of the key from Nissan, but ended up taking us to meet a locksmith 13 miles down the road. They were wonderful the whole time and the room was beautiful and very, very clean. The property was exceptional and in a great location right on Route 1 with great scenery all around!!! We, highly, recommend the "Ducktrap Motel" for 'anyone' in Lincolnville, Maine...trust us when we tell you, you wiil not be disappointed!!! Tell them Troy & Sandi sent you.
Faith, Troy & Sandi of Delaware

Room Tip: *I visited and/or looked into several of their rooms and they were all well kept and very clean! Mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed here for the past three years and have had a wonderful time. It's a great place to stay and day trip in any direction. Rick and Elaine are extremely friendly and helpful. A definite place to stay if you are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poetry
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We neeed a stop for the night. I think $90 is a bit pricey for a quick stop. No ocean view, but the grounds were really pretty. Just off the Coast highway 1, so a bit of traffic. We were there in mid-September...I would think in "the season", the traffic would be a real concern...noise and for children. Room was clean an tidy...served our purpose well. Looks like they have some rooms rented out for the season, maybe they have more to offer. I give it a s0-so rating.

Room Tip: Close to several major harbors and beaches....so it is convenient for vacationers, which we were doi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ducktrap Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducktrap Motel

Address: 12 Whitney Rd, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Ducktrap Hotel Lincolnville
Ducktrap Motel Lincolnville
Ducktrap Motel Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducktrap Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ducktrap Motel to your Saves list