We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but choose your room carefully” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Ocean's Edge

Save Saved
You added Inn at Ocean's Edge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn at Ocean's Edge
20 Stonecoast Road, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Two Nights, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lincolnville
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great but choose your room carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions recently, each for one night. the grounds are beautiful, the black infinity swimming pool is to be experienced and the outdoors jacuzzi acted as a great warmer upper after the pool ! Staff were very helpful and room and bed were very comfortable. The one comment we would make is to try and make sure you do not have a room under the kitchen and staff areas, with a first or second room floor definitely preferable ! The first night we stayed we we were in room A2 on the ground floor, which was super, and had an ocean view if the weather had been clearer. However on the second night we checked in we were in A4, this again had an ocean view, but was very noisy from about 530 in the morning from staff moving about above the room in the kitchen area. We would be happy to stay here again, but only if we could ensure we were on the first or second floor.

Room Tip: Read the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This inn is in a lovely location, the grounds are beautiful, and it is very clean.

Our disappointment lies in several areas. We stayed in the Hilltop, which was nice enough. We did not mind the walk to the main house. We could, however, hear the people in the room above us walking around and using their jacuzzi tub. The room itself needs to be modernized - especially the bathroom. For $300+ per night, it would have been nice to have a more spa-like bathroom with tile that was not cracked in the shower. The bed and pillows were nice and comfortable, and if it were not for the loud air conditioner we would have slept great. We found it strange that the front desk was rarely staffed, which created an empty, unwelcoming feel. The dining room staff was very nice and accommodating to special requests.

If we visit the area again, we would try another establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn. We had a room in the hilltop building with a private balcony and were glad we chose that over the main building. The room was very comfortable (including the pillows!). The breakfast selection was great-fresh fruit and pastries set out and also eggs or a breakfast special cooked to order. The grounds and view were spectacular. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wife and I got away again for a weekend once again at the inn at Oceans Edge in Lincolnville Beach. We cant say enough about the atmosphere, pool area and rooms. Really and truly a wonderful inn to stay at. Bring a book, relax at the pool ( vanishing edge design) grab a sandwich at Dot's down the street and RELAX...

Room Tip: Lower floors in main house are big and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay here in late July. Our room was great the only drawback being to get a good view with balcony we were in the Hilltop Building. There is a hike back up the hill from breakfast....get's you in shape. The breakfast is so good you don't mind knowing you are going to have to walk! Very quite and secluded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From making the reservation to leaving this place is top notch!!
Stayed on the hill second floor, rooms are huge, nice to have the deck to sit on while looking out at the ocean enjoying your morning coffee. The whirlpool tub was nice and plenty of room for two.
Serve a nice breakfast with baked goods, fruit and a hot entree. The "honor bar" was nice to have and had a decent selection.
Infinity pool, outside fireplaces, hot tub and chairs on the lawn area overlooking the ocean just add to this property.
A walk along the ocean shore where you are the only person just adds to this. There are stairs leading to the ocean and you can walk along the rocks..
A definite on the return list.
There is no restaurant on site but there are options a short distance away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbuff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first trip ever to Maine. I had researched a variety of hotels in the area, not knowing where we might end up on our driving journey up the coast of Maine. Often, internet pictures look better than the reality, but in this case, it was the opposite. Beautiful setting, gorgeous rooms, very friendly, helpful staff, spectacular pool area, excellent breakfast (and an unexpected bonus in the room price!) We were there one night in mid July, the only downside was the weather; it was cool, foggy, rainy, just after a week of what we heard had been unseasonably warm weather. Nevertheless, I would definitely return here when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ocean's Edge

Also Known As:
Inn At Ocean`s Edge Hotel
Inn At Ocean`s Edge Hotel Lincolnville
Hotel At Oceans Edge
At Oceans Edge Lincolnville
Inn At Ocean's Edge Maine/Lincolnville
Address: 20 Stonecoast Road, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Ocean's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.