We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spouter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincolnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spouter Inn
Save
You added The Spouter Inn to your Saves list
2506 Atlantic Hwy., Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place was a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were driving down the coast and planning to stop in Camden, but when we saw The Spouter Inn we pulled over and were instantly sold on the place. The young couple who were 'inn sitting' for the summer were friendly, informative and fun, and even let us take our time checking out in the morning. (They recommended the Whale's Tooth Pub for dinner and we had a great meal there.) The bed was incredibly comfortable, lovely view of the water, and lots of character overall. I had the crustless quiche for breakfast and my husband had blueberry pancakes, both of which were great. If you're looking to get in a workout while you're in the area, we love the Pen Bay YMCA. It's $10 for a day pass and has a gorgeous pool and plenty of cardio equipment and weights. We love this area and had been hoping to stay at the Hartstone Inn in Camden; I feel lucky that it was booked up, because the Spouter Inn and Lincolnville Beach itself were both terrific.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great. We looked at all the rooms and it doesn't seem worth it to pay m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Starting to type this review, I immediately start to drool like Pavlov's dogs, thinking of the wonderful breakfast we had at the Spouter Inn. Paul and Catherine do a great breakfast job and I would have stayed to see what they would do for lunch and dinner, would they have been a restaurant. But unfortunately it's breakfast only!

The building is really lovingly restored and authenticity in my title is as such used in a positive way. Heaps of it, and character - and Paul and Catherine are always happy to talk about the restoration they did so lovingly. The room was cute and my wife slept wonderful - I had problems with the mattress and the room could perhaps have done with some more ventilation.
Having said that; I'm spoiled. Coming from Europe and growing up in an old mansion I do not really understand why people pay more to sleep in a nicely restored old room, opposed to a nice modern room. I'm too much used to old stuff to call it antique or authentic I guess.

But a place worth to visit for sure! And do go and eat at Chez Michel down the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stopped here with my husband for one night while passing through the area and we felt so lucky to have stumbled on such a gem! The inn and grounds are immaculate and the hosts were so welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Captain's room, which was extremely spacious and clean. We lit the fireplace and enjoyed the quiet & cozy room in the rain and then walked to a pub for dinner which was delightful. The homemade breakfast was fantastic and we wish we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Spouter Inn in October as part of a week long jaunt up the coast of Maine. The inn is gorgeous; lovingly restored and maintained. It's location, right on busy Route 1, wasn't much of an issue this late in the season. It was nice to be able to walk to two local restaurants in the evening.
The room rate was higher than any of the other places we stayed on our trip; I guess they don't believe in lowering the rates for "shoulder" or off-season. Our room was very nice, but it backed up to or was just above family living quarters where their socializing went on for some time. There is no television in the room, nor is there one in either of the common rooms. We didn't use the guest common areas, nor did anyone else who was staying there. I think a television in one of those rooms would have enhanced the stay by giving guests an opportunity to come together in a more sociable setting. BTW, you can request a tv in your room and they will provide one, but sitting on the edge of the bed to watch a show is not very comfortable.
Breakfast was just OK. Other reviewers raved about the selections, a prime reason we chose the Spouter Inn. I would rate it just OK. Here's how it works: you are given a menu sheet and asked to make your selections for breakfast by 5pm the night before. I found this a little off-putting. My selection for day one was not very good. The omelet was overcooked and positively dripping with cheese. The second day's French toast choice was much better. Getting a cup of coffee before breakfast was a challenge.
The innkeepers were gracious even though distracted with house guests. On the warm and friendly scale I would have to give them a "C". All that said, now that I know what to expect, I would certainly consider staying at the Spouter Inn in the future.

Room Tip: Most rooms that we saw were very small. We had booked one of the larger rooms and were glad we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrapin32, Manager at The Spouter Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with The Spouter Inn! We try to encourage an atmosphere of relaxation and escape from your every day life, which is why we do not provide televisions in our rooms or common spaces. We are glad that you enjoyed the french toast! Next time you come please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable - we aim to please! Thank you for the feedback!
-The Spouter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful few days here in October. Amazing views from the front porch, sitting room and our bedroom. Very comfortable bed and pillows so an excellent night's sleep.The inn has been lovingly restored by the owners to a very high standard, yet they still make you feel that yhou are staying in a family home. Tea and coffee on tap all day, wonderful breakfasts[pre-booked the night before so less hassle in the morning]. Yummy fresh muffins every morning[although we saved ours for afternoon tea, as we were too full after breakfast].
We had some very interesting conversations with other guests each morning which made our stay even more enjoyable.
Several good places to eat in walking distance, and only one hour drive to Acadia National Park.
Our hosts could not be more helpful with directions, maps, local area information.
We could not fault the Spouter Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second stay at the Inn. The Inn is beautiful and the breakfasts delicious. We find the location to be great for exploring the coast of Maine. There are several good restaurants within walking distance as well as an easy drive. Even though the Inn is located across US 1 from the Bay, the traffic is light and at night we had virtually no street noise even though our room was in the front. The hosts Catherine and Paul are great and we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sometimes one is fortunate enough to get the "whole package", just north of Camden, ME (another little WOW! hamlet) there is Lincolnville, directly on the Atlantic. The Spouter Inn, a B&B of
a gone by era. Very charming hosts who care so much about your well being and then the breakfast....! OUTSTANDING! The rooms are super clean very comfortable and so authentic in all aspects. What an experience, to be repeated for sure, to be recommended - highly, and it does not break the bank either.

Room Tip: The mattress creaked (the only flaw if you are a light sleeper) Perfect place to explore from and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spouter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spouter Inn

Address: 2506 Atlantic Hwy., Lincolnville, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest accommodations are spacious and elegantly decorated. All of our rooms have private baths, ocean views and some include fireplaces and jacuzzis. We have an extensive breakfast menu to choose from which is homemade everyday using organic ingredients and herbs grown in our garden.(Our signature dish is German puffed pancakes topped with our homemade caramel sauce, yum!)We are located right across from a sandy beach and within walking distance of the ferry terminal to Islesboro Island & several delicious locally owned restaurants! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Spouter Inn Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spouter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.