We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant

Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant
2531 Atlantic Highway, Lincolnville, ME 04849
207-789-5200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Lincolnville
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceanfront dining at its best! Next door to the Beach Cottage Inn.Prime Rib, Lobsters, Seafood, Vegetarian, Chicken and Stewaks. We have it all. Nicely located in the Heart of Lincolnville B each in Mid-Coats Maine.
Berwick, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Bucket of mussels - wonderful! Wings were great! Baker's chips also good. Great place to go for lunch at Lincolnville Maine

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    82
    49
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy and Friendly!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I have vacationed in Lincolnville several times before, but have never eaten here until now. The view is lovely and the food delicious! I had sirloin steak cooked to perfection and my husband had the fish and chips and we split a yummy dessert. All was well until my husband realized that is bottle of hard cider had a chip at the top of the bottle on the mouthpiece. My husband had only drank about a 1/4 of the bottle. We informed our young waitress who immediate removed the bottle but did not offer to replace it. So my husband just drank his water instead. When the waitress returned with our bill I asked if we could get a small amount taken off because my husband did not get to finish his hard cider and was not offered a replacement. The waitress disappeared for a few minutes and another woman returned, who I believe was the owner or manager. She apologized profusely and offer a compensation. She took off the price of the hard cider AND our dessert. Total of about $10. We thanked her and told her that was actually more than we really needed to have taken off and that we would be satisfied if just the hard cider was taken off the bill. She insisted we take the full comp offered! It is evident that they take pride in their business and in pleasing customers. We will certainly make sure that we eat there from now on.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Good Stop Along the Way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stopped off at The Whale's Tooth when returning to our cabin from Portland. The restaurant offered a fantastic view of the harbor, and we were thrilled to watch the ferry travel in and out of Lincolnville Beach. The food was good, though when we attempted to use Visa gift cards to pay, we were told that we could not because the card reader brought to our table would not accept them (why not use the register at the bar?). Like other reviews, we were also pressured to add a tip while the woman stood at our table.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“SCENIC VALUE & HUGE FIREPLACE - ON THE WATER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This year round special place deserves a stop over for lunch or dinner. My favorite is dinner outside at sunset - you can spit in the ocean (please don't because they swim nearby!)

The owners work hard to make you feel welcome - However, just sit near the fireplace that takes FOUR FOOT logs, order a local microbrew called ANDREWS PALE ALE and order anything on the menu. You can't lose. Say hello to Rob & Dorothy - owners who actually work there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Local's Perspective!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Where you go when you want a GREAT meal! Mine is there Sirloin Steak!!! Minimum 2" thick and cooked to your liking! Mine, Medium Rare!

Have been coming here for close to 20 years and we're never disappointed! Open year round too!

For the husband, he had his favorite "Fish & Chips"! They also serve lunch too. All the more reason to return again! Keep up the great work and I can't not mention that they also have live music! When it isn't live, the background music is ever so eclectic & toe tapping as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.