We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McLaughlin's Lobster Shack

McLaughlin's Lobster Shack
US Route 1, Lincolnville Beach, Lincolnville, ME
(207)789-5205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Glens Falls, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Central to the area we were visiting, priced right, GREAT if you don't need the full service, AWESOME views while dining, better than alot of other places!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“they use the whole clam, you pay for the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very nice setting. My wife's clam chowder contained a few pieces of the steamers' "foot", my clam roll had the other parts, mainly batter, on a hamburger roll, and we shared a 20oz soda. $21.83. Maybe this is what they get from the tourist trade, but Tracy's seafood near Acadia sells packed lobster rolls 2 for $10, and is doing just fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
764 reviews 764 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 263 cities Reviews in 263 cities
2,204 helpful votes 2,204 helpful votes
“Casual Seafood Shack on the Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

McLaughlin's offers casual Downeast Maine dining at its best. No frills fried seafood, boiled lobster and steamed clams on paper plates eaten at picnic tables. How could you go wrong?

The place is simply decorated and most tables are within sight of the Islesboro Ferry. The sound of the gulls and the scent of the sea are intoxicating and add to the charm of the location.

I had lunch here three times last week. On one occasion, I ordered the seafood tacos. Delicately battered and fried white fish on soft tacos with lettuce, mango salsa, and chilies. Delicious!!! I had a burger and onion rings on another visit and fish and chips on a third. Batter is light and seafood is really fresh. My food was good every time.

Food is made to order and the place is busy, so there is generally a wait for your food. I heartily recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Easy, inexpensive food by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We came here after my son had been playing at the beach. We just had grilled cheese, fries & Gifford's ice cream, but it was yummy! The staff was so accommodating, and we had a very relaxed late lunch. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craftsbury Common, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood in an informal venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We usually get to the Maine coast at least once each summer, frequently to Lincolnville Beach. There are several eating establishments in the area that we have dined at, but McLaughlin's is my reliable fall-back choice when I want simple, fresh, inexpensive seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLaughlin's Lobster Shack also viewed

Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to McLaughlin's Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLaughlin's Lobster Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.