We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro to your Saves list
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2372 Atlantic Hwy - RT. 1, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alright.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our second time here. Last year was better. Service was better I think. Same manager but her attitude was a little off. Good overall location, basically just a clean, safe place to stay. Our rate however was a hundred dollars more than the quoted price we were given at booking,but after questioning it and being given a rather abrupt excuse as to why we figured any further discussion would have escalated to an uncomfortable situation and we wanted to just enjoy our vacation. However you shouldn't have to feel this way when asking for explanation. We will not stay here again though. Nothing wrong with the hotel just the management. So if you want a nice,clean,safe place in a nice location I recommend it. Just ask for a detailed quote at booking in writing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayLeafCottages, Owner at Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Please let us know how there was a misunderstanding in room rates - call us. Our rates are posted online on our website and do not change once we set the rates for the year - there are seasonal rates and varying rates for each cottage on the property. At the time of making reservations we write down exactly what was discussed by phone or email onto the reservation slip so I am not sure how the difference came about. If length of stay changes or size/type of room changes there can be differences. If we calculated the bill improperly, please let us know. We do not wish to overcharge our guests in any way. We want all of our guests to be happy. You must have caught me on an "off" day because we try to be as helpful and cheery as is humanly possible while working 16+ hours a day. Having worked since May 1st without a day off, you can imagine that by August I might have a "moment" during our busiest time of the summer. Either way, our apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Let me start by saying I never ever ever take the time to give reviews. I'm a little bit ashamed to admit it, but it's true. But having stayed at the Bay Leaf Cottages, I feel compelled. This place is a real gem. It's very low key so if you are looking for fancy amenities, this ain't the place. It's a property with some attached motel-like rooms, but we stayed in one of the many very affordable cottages that are peppered around the property. Some have kitchenettes, some just a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker as ours did. All the cottages have porches where you can sit and laze around at the end of the day or leave your wet towels out to dry in the sun. Very cute, very cozy; these are older spruced up cottages that are very basic. Ours had a bunkbed that my boy loved and an air conditioner in the bedroom, although Maine summer nights are so cool, we didn't use it.

We only stayed one night here, but will definitely come back again. It is the hospitality of Jane and her daughter Emily (?)(the owners) that really make the place, along with their attention to little thoughtful touches. For instance, they are pet friendly and there is a dog walking trail in the back of the property. In the garage attached to the office, there's a foozball table and ping pong table and across the way, one of the cottages is dedicated to kids. It's a giant playroom with games, badminton set, books, blocks, monopoly...toys for all ages. How cool is that?

There is also a very lovely pond on the premises with a footbridge that you may cross over on the way to their Saturday evening lobster back in the Bistro (make sure you reserve a spot. We didn't and ended up getting some takeout pizza down the road (which was also pretty good).

There's a fantastic complementary continental breakfast spread in the mornings. I never expect much from a continental breakfast at a motel-type place, but this was a real surprise. I have never in my life seen a complementary breakfast offering with nutella! But there were also yogurts, soy and regular milk fruits, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs. It was terrific. And the coffee was great.

I wouldn't hesitate to return. My whole family loved it.

Room Tip: We loved our cottage but if we were to stay longer we would ask for one with a TV and bigger kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First off, what an awesome, friendly staff! On top of that, this place is beautifully clean and welcoming. We stayed in the cottages and they were lovely.

Cabin #6 (where we stayed) has a great little patio to enjoy and be in the shade OR sun--although if you are there after dark, be sure to bring plenty of bug spray! :-)Our cabin was comfortable enough considering we were there during an intensely hot weekend! Beds were not the greatest, but I slept through the night regardless.

Don't be hesitant to give this place a try.

Room Tip: Cabin #6 has a great patio and plenty of places to enjoy being outside in the shade or sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one day but we loved it. We have spent the week traveling through Maine but staying at hotels. This is much better than a hotel. Its a small cottage out of a postcard! There's only two of us so it was perfect. I dont know what the bigger family rooms look like but the whole placed seems nice. There is everything u need in the room. Even a small stove and fridge. They also have a nice breakfast. I highly recommend this cottage for couples looking for a romantic trip. No tv in the small cottage but it was fine with us. There was 4g cell phone service if u need to stay connected and also wifi but we didn't try it. Only negative was it started to rain in the middle of the night and since we're not used to this type of housing the sound of the rain on the roof woke us up. But we put ear plugs in and it was better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff was great. The cottage was very cute. Very clean. My only negative is that we checked in on a rare very hot day and thought maybe the ac could have been turned on to chill a little before we got there. Staff was very friendly. Lawn was kept I great. Would live to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Quaint, cute, and the cleanest room I've ever seen! Jane has the heart of a teacher and is quite knowledgeable of the area. She is a real foodie, so you can count on her to tell you where to go to eat! If you can attend her Thursday cooking class and Saturday lobster dinner, DO IT! We loved the cooking class and the dinner is very reasonable. Don't look for a full blown breakfast here. However, it is a VERY GOOD continental fare that they offer each morning. If you are staying in July, like we did, you probably need to make sure you ask for a room that has AC. They don't do daily room service, but just ask for clean towels whenever you need them. Jane and Emily will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable. This is a traditional Maine cottage/inn experience. This is not the Omni....We loved it! The only suggestions I would give, is that they line the curtains in the room, as the sun comes up very early, and find a way to have a portable AC unit for the room, maybe. We were in Motel #16, and it could be a little loud in the mornings. We didn't have AC and had to have the windows open (which was awesome, actually) But, we could hear every car leave and every person walking out of their rooms for breakfast. We had a TV but never turned it on the whole week we were there!

Room Tip: Cottages are probably quieter, roomier, and also a little pricier than the hotel rooms. If your gon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayLeafCottages, Owner at Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We have portable AC units but they are hard to put in the motel units due to the style of windows which open out versus slide. This has been an unusual summer in terms of heat. Normally, we'd only need AC or fans about 2 nights per summer. Coastal breeze are a help! People are often surprised to discover that the sun rises in Maine quite early - between 430-530 am! A trek to Acadia National Park for to catch the first sunrise in the USA daily is often on traveler's agendas as it's not far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had cabin #11. We expected a small simple place and that's what we got. No TV, but fortunately air conditioning. We are relatively small people, so we found the room ample in size. If you are tall or large, be sure to check with them. Breakfast was adequate, pretty basic. The facility is well kept and it seems that a lot of effort has been made to update the cabins. WiFi was often very slow and at times non existent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro

Address: 2372 Atlantic Hwy - RT. 1, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the charm and comfort of a B&B without the cost! Enjoy our designer cottages and motel rooms overlooking Penobscot Bay. We're .5 miles to Lincolnville Beach and the Islesboro Ferry. Close to Camden, Belfast, and an easy drive to Acadia National Park. Cottages are available with and without kitchens for nightly and discounted weekly rates. Motel rooms all include refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, TV and sofas. Daily continental breakfast is included. We offer free WIFI and a library with computer, books, games and information about Mid-coast Maine. Bring your friends and family or travel on your own or with your spouse/partner. We're pet friendly so bring your dog along too! Settle into our park-like surroundings, enjoy Mid-coast Maine! We welcome you to join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.