We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting cottage environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmoor by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenmoor by the Sea to your Saves list
Glenmoor by the Sea
2143 Atlantic Highway, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Inviting cottage environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were pleased with our stay at Glenmoor by the Sea. The staff was very friendly and helpful giving it that "mom and pop" feel we so love. The cottage we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The property is quite large with all types of activities -we enjoyed frisbee golf. The best though was the smores by the firepit in the evening. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Glenmoor by the Sea is a very nice property, located right on Penobscot Bay. We stayed in the St. Andrews Building in July 2012. The room was attractive and comfortable. The included breakfast tends toward muffins and Danish, with good coffee. The only downside was the loud air conditioner, which cycled on and off thunderously, but that should only be a problem in very warm weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I had read previous reviews and we were somewhat leary of what we would find upon our arrival. In short, we were pleasantly surprised in almost every facet of our stay.
There is WIFI available free of charge in the cabins.
The staff was great and very helpful.
The cabins were clean and well maintained.
The breakfast was as advertised. If you want more than that, nearby Camden has several three-meal option restaurants.
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed on the first floor of the St. Andrews House last week (July 2012) with my 80-ish mother, and we both found it to be a peaceful and pleasant place. Having two separate bedrooms and a sitting room made for a wonderful stay for two adults with very different sleep schedules. This is not a cookie cutter chain hotel room--we appreciated the space to spread out.

The continental breakfast (with terrific coffee) was a real treat with really spectacular pastries. Every staff person was friendly, and I appreciated the excellent service. We also enjoyed sitting at the deck right at the water's edge, although that was far down the steep hill from St. Andrew's House. I hope to book one of the cabins closer to the water on my next visit.

I look forwarding to booking here again for next year's visit to my daughter's summer camp.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent 4 days here in St Andrews House, 2nd floor with a spectacular ocean view and great deck to sit and have coffee or read or just watch the boats in the harbor. It is 2 seconds to Camden, and there is plenty of parking in the charming town with lots of restaurants and retail experiences you will love. The staff were wonderful. It is dog friendly but everyone is meticulous about picking up after their dogs. Tennis, lawn games for the hearty, and peaceful relaxation for the weary.

Room Tip: In St. Andrews, the downstairs suits are family oriented. Rooms 14 and 15 are rooms with king sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I travel to my camp in the western mountains of main quite frequently. Sometimes, I go directly to my camp, and other times, I take the scenic route along the coast. I have stayed in several of the chain motels on my coastal journies, and where they may have been acceptable, there was no comparison to my stay ay Glenmoor By The Sea. The atmoshere was more comfortable and casual, the staff treated me like family, and the rooms are clean like my Mom would have in her home. Spotless. You can see all the effort put forth from every member of the staff so clearly. It shows in every way from the warm smiles that greet you when you arrive, to the beautiful flowers that seem to be everywhere you look, and finally, the comfortable bed in a nice, clean room that provided me with a wonderful nights sleep. Don't look any further. Here, you will find everything you could possibly want. I'm looking forward to staying a little longer on my next stop here to enjoy some of the local recreation. I hear its great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed there with 20 family members aged 12-82 for a family reunion. The staff immediately felt like family too. Everyone was friendly and always working but not too busy to stop and say Hello. We especially enjoyed the evening campfires.The grounds were immaculate and had great plantings everywhere.

If you are interested, hike Mt Battie (a quick hike with beautiful views) and check out Whale's Tooth down near Linconville Beach for a great dinner.

Room Tip: Since our family was large, we rented a variety of rooms. Many of the cottages are nearer to the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmoor by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoor by the Sea

Address: 2143 Atlantic Highway, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenmoor by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoor By The Sea Hotel Lincolnville
Glenmoor By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmoor by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.