We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Sunrise Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincolnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Sunrise Point
Save
You added Inn at Sunrise Point to your Saves list
55 Sunrise Point Road, P.O. Box 1344, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We started out an anniversary trip at the Inn at Sunrise Point in the Winslow Homer Cottage. What a great way to spend an anniversary. The room was small - but nicely appointed. We loved having a fridge in our room to keep picnic supplies chilled. The bed was so comfy and the fireplace would have been perfect if the temps were only cool enough. Patty was so helpful and always gave us great advice. Breakfast was great if you want to call it gourmet or not. The 3 mornings we were there we had fabulous french toast, ham and asparagus crustless quiche, and eggs scrambled with crab. You can decide for yourself if you want to call if gourmet or not. Call it whatever you want - it was great. And there was always a selection of cheeses, breakfast breads, meats, cereals and fruits out in the morning. And cookies and other treats with tea and coffee in the afternoon. And we were greated with sparkling wine in our room wishing us a happy anniversary. The common areas were warm and inviting and the chairs and hammock overlooking the ocean were fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    6
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
104
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

My wife and I just back from Inn at Sunrise Point.

This is a very nice, newer type property. If you are looking for a nice view, quiet, modern rooms then give it a try.

This property is a couple of miles from Camden and does not serve lunch or dinner. You will need to drive to dinner, either in Camden, or another town nearby.

Breakfast was very good, but not what we would call gormet as others have noted.

The staff is excellent and we found Steven to be very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

Having stayed in many B&Bs over the years, my wife and I were expecting a truly luxurious and near-perfect experience since this B&B was more expensive than any we have stayed in before at over $330 a night.

First, we were disappointed in the breakfast. They describe the breakfast as "gourmet" but we were served standard, one-course breakfast fare that can hardly be considered gourmet. Many other, less expensive B&Bs offer multi-course breakfasts and we were expecting more from this B&B.

Second, the room and service lacked finishing touches to describe as "luxurious". The plumbing was exposed in the bathroom, the furniture did not seem refined, and certain parts of the room were not cleaned properly.

Lastly, when my wife was working with the B&B to make preparations for my birthday, the innkeepers seemed to lack experience in making guests feel pampered for special occasions and did not seem as helpful as other B&Bs.

I know some of these things may seem picky but I guess for the price, we were expecting more and overall were disappointed with our stay.

The bottom line... yes, the views are amazing and it's great to have a wood fireplace in the room. But, if you are looking for a truly luxurious and pampering experience, I think this B&B falls short... especially for the value.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrisepoint, Owner at Inn at Sunrise Point, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
As the new owner of the Inn 3 years after this review was written, I found the details in this very negative review extremely helpful--as a guide for what needed to be fixed. We didn't change the amazing views, but we did resolve the other problems cited by Kevin in 2005. Hopefully he will return to the Inn someday so that we can thank him personally for his constructive comments--and wow him with our delicious breakfasts and immaculate housekeeping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2005

What a wonderful find! We kicked off our first Maine trip with 2 nights in the E.B. White room of the Main House. What a great way to begin! The hospitality was unmatched anywhere, the breakfasts were fabulous, the view spectacular. Our stay there turned in to the best part of our trip, along with Camden being our favorite town.

Stephen's attention to detail was phenomenal, and the innkeepers were all very gracious and helpful. Next time we will stay at the Inn and do day trips from there.

An experience we will always remember!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

We stayed in the Edward Hopper cottage. Very nice and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was amazing. Probably the best place I've stayed in my life.

The price was the highest I've ever paid for a hotel. Astronomical, actually.

I won't stay there again, but I'm glad my wife and I spent the two nights there that we did.

Try the Grey Havens Inn near Bath for a cheaper place with a better view. It's an old historic inn with few modern amenities and small rooms, but lots of charm and wonderful grounds.

  • Stayed July 1999
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

As soon as I came to the end of the driveway and saw the conservatory/breakfast room with the sunlit water off to the side I knew I was in for a treat. It only got better when I saw our light filled room done in a blue and white decor (the May Sarton room) and the spectacular view from the balcony. And it just kept coming...excellent helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts, soft music and the quiet calm atmosphere of a true casual elegance. We spent 5 nights there and it was such fun to meet the other guests and listen to their reactions to the this fabulous place. I would recommend this inn highly and look forward to another trip. Do trust the staff's recommendations for dining and entertainment, but mostly DO GO!

PS: If for are a cat lover don't miss the wonderful little book by May Sarton called The Fur Person. It's in the room and a short read.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2005

My wife and I came to Inn at Sunrise Point not really knowing what to expect...What we wanted was a charming cottage on the water where the waves would lull us to sleep, some quiet relaxation to help us recover from the stress of our everyday lives, with enough activity nearby to avoid the frustrating boredom that usually goes with the first two requirements.

The Inn at Sunrise Point met those challenges and more. We stayed in two different cottages while we were there...the Levitan, a three room apartment with a full kitchen, front porch, and a lovely living room to stare at the water. We then moved to the Winslow Homer cottage with more privacy, though smaller than we expected. This cottage had a wall of windows (and french doors) facing the water, a jacuzzi bath and a romantic feel we truly enjoyed.

Our surprise was Steven T. the owner, who helped us plan, literally, the perfect day of our trip...he suggested where he thought we should begin, recommended and made reservations for a great sailing cruise from the harbor as well as dinner arrangements. He was fun, attentive and genuine. His innkeepers Patty and Joerge Ross served a wonderful breakfast in a sunlit conservatory and went out of their way to help us in anyway they could. While the Inn did not have many of the amenities of a "luxury" hotel, that wasn't what we were looking for. We recommend the Inn at Sunrise Point to anyone looking for beauty, relaxation and intimacy on the Maine coast and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Sunrise Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sunrise Point

Address: 55 Sunrise Point Road, P.O. Box 1344, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our romantic mid-coast Maine lodging offering a secluded waterfront hideaway with breathtaking waterviews, minutes from nearby Camden. Relax in comfortable rooms and romantic cottages at our Camden bed & breakfast, with private decks, fireplaces,AC, flat-screen TVs & Wi-Fi. Enjoy the delicious gourmet breakfast, book a soothing in-room or spa massage, or relax by the water with the best view of any Camden, ME hotel. Experience the Inn at Sunrise Point, a Select Registry and 4-Diamond luxury Maine bed and breakfast with unforgettable service and a beautiful natural setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Sunrise Point Hotel Lincolnville
Inn At Sunrise Point Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Sunrise Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.