We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, relaxing and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Youngtown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Youngtown Inn to your Saves list
Youngtown Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rte. 52 & Youngtown Road, Lincolnville, ME 04849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxing and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Youngtown Inn is located on a beautiful country road just outside the charming town of Camden, Maine. The innkeepers have created a wonderful place to make your home base as you explore this gorgeous area. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and pampered in every way - from the delicious homemade cookies to the gourmet breakfast; who knew there was such a thing! Manuel is a French chef who also creates amazing dinners in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

As far as B&Bs go, MaryAnn is by far the hostess with the mostest. As Innkeeper, MaryAnn exudied the mi casa su casa feeling all around (including filling the ice buckets upon arrival to chill our wine and extending the "no worries" sentiment when left with a pile of wine soaked tablecloths - that's another story). She gave us tidbits about the 200 year house throughout our visit without making us feel we were on a formal tour of a historic home.
Our rooms were clean and homey (not luxurious), comfortable beds, loads of towels, and the usual amenities - A/C for our atypically warm summer, flat screen TV, gas fireplace - not used, wireless access everywhere. Our second floor expanse with balconies in two directions and sitting room for our party of six to gather suited us perfectly. Careful not to bother the other guests, one of our party inquired about an area for our group to retreat after dinner for wine and games (mexican dominoes) and MaryAnn offered us a separate room on the first floor - far away from the guestrooms and the innkeepers' residence. Again, perfect accommodations.

Manuel is the chef and does magic with sauces, freshness, taste, and presentation. Our first night we were all weary from driving and slipped lazily into the dining room for a fantastic "city quality" dining experience. The duck was delicious, but the roasted mussel appetizer special was even better. The other diners in our party will need to chime in on their meal (salmon, pork tenderloin, and a bluefin tuna special), but the plates were all licked clean. While the meal may be considered pricey, the convenience, quality, and ambiance made up for it.
The next day we explored the area (Camden, Lincolnville, and Islesboro - don't ask, that, too, is another story) and had spotted several possible dining spots in the area. We returned to the inn to shower and nibble on just baked cookies and brownies, bumped into Manuel who told us about the freshly caught halibut, and bagged the other area restaurants for another meal at Youngtown. While I thoroughly enjoyed my crabmeat/smoked salmon appetizer and lobster/pasta entree, the meal turned X-rated from the oohs and aahs of my halibut eating dining mates. Thumbs up on the dinners.

Breakfast each morning was wonderful - fresh fruit, juice, pastry, coffee, and hot breakfast entree (vegetable/sausage quiche day 1 and oh so maine blueberry pancakes day 2) - a leisurely way to start the day. That MaryAnn must sleep with smile on her face.

Youngtown Inn is just a wee bit off the beaten path, but it's a full service inn well worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I enjoyed a two day visit to this inn along with my wife and two couples. We are self-described "foodies", and found the restaurant to be especially rewarding (so much so that we decided to dine in both evenings). Our rooms were excellent as well, and the owners are among the most welcoming inn keepers I've ever met. I hope to return soon, probably to sample the area in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This was a wonderful weekend shared with great friends. The room we had (#6) was wonderfully tucked in the eaves of the attic. First night wonderful breeze; second night we used the ac. The food was exquisite. My husband had "caught that day" halibut that he said was the best seafood he has ever eaten. The food is as good as you can get and so expertly prepared and served. The rooms were warm, clean and very spacious. Mary Ann, our hostess, allowed us to use a separate dining room so we could play dominoes without disturbing other guests. That was great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Warm & welcoming describes this lovely inn located just a few minutes from Camden Harbor. As early risers we enjoyed coffee & homemade muffins on the veranda taking in the peaceful tranquility. This of course was followed by the full gourmet breakfast which was to die for. The room was immaculate as were the common areas . We've promised ourselves a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stopped for dinner and a night's sleep here en route to Canada the night before Thanksgiving. Even though the restaurant was fairly busy we received a gracious welcome. The food was beautifully prepared and very tasty indeed. I had the often-recommended rack of lamb - cooked exactly the way I asked - and my friend had the special - an ostrich steak that looked and tasted like filet mignon. He also had the crab cake appetizer - unbelievably light and fluffy. Shared a creme brulee that was just right. Really good quality food, prepared with thought and flare and a very pretty inn. Good wine list and very friendly, efficient service. The big surprise was breakfast the next morning - included - which consisted of juice, coffee, fresh croissants, butter, homemade jam, a half a pineapple (artistically cut, like a Japanese carving) and THEN - when I figured we had finished - the chef whipped up some pumpkin pancakes with hot syrup - (it WAS Thanksgiving by then, after all) that were as light and fluffy as the crab cakes the night before. And all of this as they prepared to feed a hundred people over lunch and dinner. Sure beat the heck out of our usual stopover at a motel somewhere between Portland and Bangor... We'll DEFINITELY go back. A terrific place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpuma1109
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We spent Columbus Day weekend at this charming Inn with friends. Our room had the most comfortable bed, and we loved lighting the fire place on the cool nights. The smells from the restaurant were too much to resist, both morning and night. Breakfast each day was a different gourmet selection, including the lightest and fluffiest blueberry pancakes I've ever tasted. The restaurant has an extensive wine list, and so many delicious sounding options on the menu I had trouble making a decision. My husband and I ended up splitting the lazy lobster and the lamb chops, followed by a chocolate souffle and creme brulee. It was truly a perfect meal. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We look forward to returning to The Youngtown Inn again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Youngtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youngtown Inn

Address: Rte. 52 & Youngtown Road, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Youngtown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Youngtown Inn is a classic 1810 farmhouse built proudly upon two centuries of New England heritage. This grand old house was the center of the Young family's poultry and dairy farm for more than seven generations. Our intimate Inn offers six comfortable and romantic guestrooms, each with a private en-suite bath. Some rooms offer queen canopy or sleigh beds, balconies and fireplaces. All rooms offer generous amenities and the convenience of free wireless internet. The tastefully decorated guest rooms, sunny verandas, broad pumpkin pine floors, and brick fireplaces capture the warm feel of beautiful rural Maine. Located along Route 52 near Lake Megunticook, it is the perfect vacationing spot for exploring the mid-coast of Maine, taking ferry rides to nearby islands, swimming, boating, visiting the area's quaint shops, the Nature Conservancy and concerts at the Opera House as well as the Lobster Festival in nearby Rockport. In winter, the Camden Snow Bowl is a major attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Youngtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youngtown Inn Maine/Lincolnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youngtown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.