We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treat by the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Michel Restaurant

Chez Michel Restaurant
2530 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849
207-789-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Lincolnville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Nashua,N.H.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Treat by the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Across from the ocean we found dinner at this restaurant to be very special treat. The simple decor was bright and clean--and they really save the best for the food and service. I had the best salmon with Hollandaise sauce that I have ever eaten.The salmon cooked was cooked to perfection and I wished I could have taken some of the homemade sauce home with me. My two friends had an equally good meal-- the steak was flavorful and tender and the chowder--Great!! not filled with
"filler" potatoes !!!
The service was excellent and the waitress very accommodating. We will be back!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Six happy customers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Three couples ate at Chez Michel in May, 2014. We had an excellent waitress who answered our questions knowledgeably and enthusiastically. She helped us to order a variety of appetizers and entrees and we all ordered different things. Every single one of us thought we had an extraordinary meal and we shared two desserts at the end. We give it an enthusiastic thumbs up and recommend it to others. Do not judge the restaurant by its unassuming outside or by its inside decor. They mask a truly gourmet restaurant with a creative chef.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Equally outstanding the second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

After a wonderful culinary experience a year ago I looked forward to returning and I was not disappointed. The service is reliably attentive and welcoming. I am a lover of pate and their rabbit pate is just delicious; their potato croquettes are perfect. But, it was the duck breast in peppercorn cream sauce that won my full admiration. In true French fashion, Chez Michel's sauces are superb and they have achieved that delicate balance of flavors that fully compliment each other. If I lived here I would be a regular. I will be back on my return visit next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Chez Michel does the one thing most restaurants strive in vain for; consistent excellence. We have eaten there since Michel opened the doors, and an excellent meal is a given, period.
Seafood is always fresh, sauces are exceptional, and the traditional rabbit pate is unlike any other offered in the area. Trust me, I have tried many.
Local staff are well trained, knowledgeable and very efficient.
Tastes differ and expectations can disappoint. However, you will only have a bad dining experience here if you try. There is no better variety or quality food and atmosphere for your dining dollar in mid - coast Maine than Chez Michel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Familiar & Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Closed in November so we didn't eat here this time but it's reliable fare and not too costly. It's close to the Inn so if you're lazy why not?

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Michel Restaurant also viewed

Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Chez Michel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Michel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.