We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luiggi's Pizzeria

Luiggi's Pizzeria
63 Sabattus St, Lewiston, ME 04240-6836
207-782-0701
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 98 Restaurants in Lewiston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Clayton, NC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wow, I bet it has been 20 years since I've been to Luiggi's (I'm one of those Mainers living in Exile in NC). It hasn't changed much in that time. When I was younger and lived in Maine, Luiggi's was the go to stop for Fergys to take fishing. My father and I went for lunch yesterday a enjoyed it.

The Fergy hasn't changed much. A basic ham sandwich with tomato cheese, and lettuce on killer italian bread from the Italian Bakery in Lewiston. Nothing fancy, just plain good food.

My dad had the spaghetti and meatballs and raved about the sauce. I have to say, the sauce was pretty good for dipping the italian bread in!

The staff was young but, friendly and efficient. I'd happy we went back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ucckk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

horrible seating, very dirty place. Order takers could care less. Asked for marinara sauce, repeated that needed meatless sauce for my granddaughters spaghetti. one of them took a forkfull and asked what was in it? meat. Regret that I was ever there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallowell, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“January 1978”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was a student and Bates and went to Luigi's after drinking cheap beer next door at the Goose. Experienced the Fergie for the first time. I have been eating them ever since about every few years (I live in a nearby town). Pizza and pasta is family style, no fancy chefs or spices, but fresh and filling. But the Fergie, oh my. All I will tell you is that it is a simple sandwich that somehow transcends its contents. Very nice staff, clean and neat facility.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and a great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had my very first Fergy, the italian sandwich Luiggi's is famous for. So yummy! The ingredients are your traditional italian, but instead of being on a big old sub roll it's made on two slices of FRESH italian bread. My regular sandwich was just plenty for lunch (and I'm a pretty hardy eater!), and you can't beat the less than $3.00 price. If you are REALLLY hungry though, you can order a double which is more like an italian style club sandwich (slice of bread, fillings, slice of bread, more fillings and another slice of bread -- you end up getting more sandwich than bread!!) is under $6.00. I'm hooked on the Fergy!! (P.S. space is at a premimum for sit down lunches, there are a couple of tables with chairs and a few booths but the booths are very tight seating)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“taste like someone stole my money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I moved up here to Maine more than 5 years ago and it is the first place I ate in Lewiston...save your money, unless your idea of a Pizza is a 2 dollar frozen supermarket cheapo pizza with toppings thrown on it and cardbaord taste...keep your money in your wallet...go to Lewiston House of Pizza instead!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luiggi's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Luiggi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luiggi's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.