We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamoine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
720 Lamoine Beach Road, Lamoine, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lamoine B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The absolute BEST B&B experience we have both ever had. We've been in the food & hospitality industry for a long time, and this place rivals even some of the best hotels and inns in NYC. A gem of an experience tucked away off the beaten path.

We actually genuinely missed Choc Chip the rest of our trip and even after arriving back home! Sue & Eric elevated our wonderful experience at Acadia and are actually glad we stayed here instead of Bar Harbor. Their professionalism, hospitality, and passion for what they do is so prevalent in all of the exceptional attention to detail down to the handmade bed quilts and endless supply of marvelous baked goodies. They go above and beyond the standard call of duty for an innkeeper. Beautifully designed, impeccably clean, and still filled with the warm, welcoming, comfortable feeling of curling up with a blanket, cup of tea, and reading in your own home. Superb people, superb food, superb place.

Room Tip: All equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Melissa, It was our pleasure having you and Brian stay with us!!! We love meeting people from all over and hearing each person's life story. Each person is so unique in their own way. We also feel at home with our guests since they feel like family that is just visiting. You both fit right in to our idea of having a fun visit with our kids!! Thank you for your glowing review and we hope to meet you again in your travels!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family of 4(with 2 active boys)loves not only the inn but also the host Sue and Eric because of their exceptional hospitality.We cannot see even a tiny bit of flaws of the inn with the price,comfort,service and especially cleanliness.Sue is an amazing cook,the breakfast and her all the time available pastries she made was a real treat on vacation. I `m a very meticulous person that if I noticed the place is not clean we won't stay the place.The place is not only very charming,very homey but also close (a few minutes drive) to necessities, stores,restaurants,and attractions.Their own pebble beach(very clean) is only 3-5 mins. drive and walkable from the inn,including a close beach named Marlboro beach @ 40 Racoon Dr. in Lamoine which is excellent for kayaking.Arcadia Park and Bar Harbor is about 25-30 mins.drive,but you won`t even notice the time because of the scenic views while driving. Don`t forget to ask Eric/Sue for the best seafood place to eat, we went to Union River lobster pot restaurant in Ellsworth(10 mins. from the inn)quick service, and foods are all delicious, in fact the best clam chowder I ever have.My family had a wonderful time in Acadia park after we enjoy the sand beach with in Acadia Park,we choses to walked with all the gigantic stones which is very walkable (stones has flat surfaces good for picnic)on the way to a scenic ocean views to Thunder Hole.Don`t miss Cadillac Mountain in Acadia Park, one of the best breathtaking views you will have in your life.

Room Tip: The Inn has a huge very comfortable bunk bed bedroom which is very good if you have children with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We very much enjoyed having you and your family visit our Bed and Breakfast. It was like having our extended family here with us on vacation! Thank you for choosing our B&B and we hope to see you again!! It was a pleasure being able to get to know each of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed only two nights but felt like home from the first minute on. Sue and Eric are so kind and open and do everything to make you feel like a welcomed guest. The story of the B&B and how they built it is so heartwarming.
The B&B has everything you need and is decorated with so much love for details. The breakfast is unbelievable and the cookies are just perfect :-)
We enjoyed to stay away from the bigger cities and tourist places, as the environment is just breathtaking and you are in the middle of nature when you stay at this B&B.

Sue and Eric,
thanks again, we still talk about your authentic hospitality and we already tried your cooking recipe =)

All the best for the future!
Simone&Andreas
Munich, Germany

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are so happy that you chose the Chocolate Chip B&B for your visit to the States!! We so much enjoyed your stories also and will always look forward to your next visit with us! It was a pleasure to have met you both and we love it when people can feel at home in our home. I will work on new chocolate recipes for when we meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon the Chocolate Chip Bed+Breakfast and stayed two nights after camping in Acadia and we still can't believe our good fortune. Sue and Eric were very sweet, generous, and thoughtful hosts. Every detail from the delicious breakfasts made every morning to the handmade quilts were perfect. We were especially entranced to hear how this bed and breakfast has been a dream and a labor of love for the both Sue and Eric. They've worked so hard to build their dream from scratch and every little bit shows. (I especially love the fact that the floors were made from the same wood as a barn that was originally on the property) Bar Harbor was only a 30 minute drive away and the Lamoine beach was within walking distance. We will definitely be back. This was the epitome of what every bed and breakfast should be: a home away from home.

Room Tip: The "Mrs. Muirs" room has an A/C unit (but wasn't needed; Maine summer night are cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our B&B. Our home is a work of love that has taken years of blood, sweat and tears!! We are very glad you stumbled upon our B&B and we love the many different people we get to meet. They all become a part of our family. It was our pleasure to have you visit us and we hope you will return someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this charming bed and breakfast and could not recommend it more. Sue and Eric are kind, welcoming, knowledgeable hosts who cheerfully greeted us each morning and provided excellent breakfasts and advice on what to do in the surrounding area. The house itself is beautifully decorated in a cosy, restful country style (and is spotless). You can imagine every item, from the quilt on our bed, to the wall hangings, to the small, decorative weather vanes on the breakfast tables, to the baskets hanging from the ceiling being chosen with a careful, thoughtful eye. Also, we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the house was. We never heard the other guests in their rooms, or any creaking beams or doors. The house is very sound. Just a note that it does take about 40 minutes to get to Bar Harbor and other destinations in Acadia National Park. For us it was well worth the daily drives, though, and it was nice when we got back to take a dip at the nearby beach (bring flip flops though because the beach is rocky!). A great getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our B&B. It was our pleasure to meet you and we were happy to accommodate you in any way we could. We try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable stay here with us. We hope to have you visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast

Address: 720 Lamoine Beach Road, Lamoine, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lamoine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lamoine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast in Lamoine, Maine is a Country Home away from home. We have 3 bedrooms with queen size beds and 1 bedroom with a full size bed all located on the 2nd floor. All bedrooms have their own private bathrooms with walk-in showers, wifi, cable TV, and hand made quilts on the beds. There is a library as well as an upstairs foyer with games and books for guests to enjoy. Wrap around porch with rockers are perfect for reading a good book and enjoying your morning coffee. Full breakfast is served each morning at 8:30 either in the breakfast room or the Library. Bottled water in a fridge for guests as well as coffee and tea is available at all times. Turn down service and cookies before bed complete your day. We are in walking distance from Lamoine Beach and Lamoine State Park and are located close to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Our neighboring town of Ellsworth has many quaint shops and restaurants as well as a Grand Theatre for your entertainment. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Chip Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.