We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave-like rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Enchanted Nights B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Enchanted Nights B&B to your Saves list
Enchanted Nights B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Wentworth Street, Scenic Costal Route 103, Kittery, ME 03904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Kittery B&B and Inns
Kittery, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cave-like rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can be happy with "casual" but our stay (3 women staying in a "suite") (basement) at this B&B was only just tolerable. It was NOT charming, it was dank, dark, and we worried about getting sick from the odor of the rooms. For this kind of setting, the rates ought to have been cheap- they were not.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    1
    7
    28
See reviews for
10
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my first time at a b&b and what a wonderful experience! We landed in Portsmouth area and were looking for a place to stay, the hotel chains were upwards of $140/night and we came across this at only $70/night. Keep in mind this isn't the same as your hotel chains, this place had incredible character and charm. A variety of rooms were available in different sizes. All of them were nicely decorated with a touch of nostalgic class. The downstairs tea dining area displayed a vast collection of vintage tea setups. The hosts were incredibly kind and helpful. There was even a couple of house cats that just soaked in the sun on the deck. Downtown Portsmouth is just a short drive over the bridge. Everything about this place was fantastic, the rooms, the service, the deck. If I had to give constructive advice on anything at all, perhaps the bed should have some memory foam to be a little more firm. But incredible, very very fond memories here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic! You can't go in expecting a modern hotel chain setup. This place had character! Several rooms with a variety of options. The hosts were extremely accommodating, kind, and helpful. Great price and location! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Once again, our stay at Enchanted Nights BnB was wonderful. The Victorian decoration reminded me of my grandmother's home...lace curtains, rose china, claw foot bathtubs. The innkeepers, Peter and Nancy and their animal companions, go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The innkeepers are knowledgeable about local places, whether you are heading to the beach, shopping, or a day trip, Peter will be able to guide you in the right direction.

The rooms are clean and tidy, the hot vegetarian breakfast is delicious and filling ...usually scrambled eggs with veggies like tomatoes or veggie sausage. It comes with fruit and a pastry, like blueberry turnovers, or potatoes cooked a variety of ways and of course your choice of coffee or tea.

We have been staying at Enchanted Nights BnB for over ten years. It is still an excellent value and a wonderful overall experience. We will be back! Thank you Nancy and Peter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Enchanted Nights B&B after a long day at the beach, super cozy plave, we had the sweet dreams room, in room jacuzzi. The reason we liked staying here so much was the helpful owner, told us of a great place for dinner and gave us a coupon. The owner gave us great driving directions, had the AC in our room turned on long before we arrived, gave us a great tour of the whole place. Great location for a B&B, just far enough away from all the hotels and businesses for peace and quiet. Really clean, good AC, very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When I booked the Bella suite at Enchanted Nights for a romantic weekend for my sweetheart’s birthday, I did so with a degree of concern – as you can see by my reviewer status, I’ve been in a lot of B&Bs and hotels in a lot of cities around the world. I’ve never booked a night at any B&B with the disparity of reviews recorded by those who’ve stayed at Enchanted Nights. The name of the place didn’t excite me, either - it had a sort of Vegas strip sound. I dawdled for days before finally booking it. My decision to book it was clinched by a reviewer who admonished the naysayers to go book a room at a Howard Johnson’s.

And we had an absolutely fabulous stay! It you're incurable romantics, this is THE place for you!

Yes, the absentee owners of the B&B are hoarders of every conceivable kind of antique memorabilia, from massive oak furniture to antique gas stoves to teacups to collections of prints and serving pieces and glassware and… And it’s everywhere. The high oak Ardmore in our suite had a small rocking chair perched on top. A pair of pilsner glasses on a tray beside the bed, and a pair of antique champagne glasses on a desk by the fireplace. A small microwave and a small fridge. Strange and wonderful.

The Bella suite is located in a modern building next to the main 1890s house. It has large, cathedral-ceilinged room dominated by a huge king size bed, very comfy, with featherbed covers and gossamer tenting. On one wall, among the many antiques and bric-a-brac, a electrically controlled gas fireplace placed into an old fireplace – and along the other, a marvelous Jacuzzi for two. In the bathroom, a modern stall shower for two, with two showerheads.

The room was, despite what many would call clutter – I prefer to call fascinating articles of charm – immaculately clean.

The B&B is managed by Beth, an absolutely charming young woman who works her heart out to keep what is clearly a challenging edifice clean and well run. The Bella is the best room in the facility, but several of the other rooms in the main house, though smaller, have their own variant of charm. The owners of the Enchanted Nights are fortunate to have such a caring, cheery person who cooks a great vegetarian breakfast, touches up the paintings on the walls, makes the beds – in short, does everything she can to keep the guests happy.

While there's a TV in the room, we decided to use the B&B's truly excellent wi-fi (11+mBps) to play the XM radio app on my iPad, tuned to the love channel.

We had a wonderful, romantic time at this B&B. We’ve been at a few similar antique-packed B&Bs – Victorian Ladies in Newport, RI, for example, and Ravenswood Castle in Ohio. We had a wonderful time in each, although our home looks nothing like any of them.

I’d suggest that if you’re prepared for a special evening or two, and can put away your Marriott and Holiday Inn idea of a place to stay and enjoy, try the Enchanted Nights. It’s quirky, comfortable and fun. Check my photos!

Room Tip: Don't skimp on room prices - pay the extra few dollars and book the Bella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had my daughter's bachelorette party at Enchanted Nights. It was such a fun and unique setting. The hosts were wonderful about giving us space. We had a blast. It couldn't have been more fun. Thanks Enchanted Nights!!

Room Tip: Each room is over-the-top with French decor. It's entertaining just to sit on the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchanted Nights B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchanted Nights B&B

Address: 29 Wentworth Street, Scenic Costal Route 103, Kittery, ME 03904
Location: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Enchanted Nights B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Enchanted Nights B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchanted Nights Hotel Kittery
Enchanted Nights Bed And Breakfast
Enchanted Nights B&B Kittery, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchanted Nights B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.