We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of When Pigs Fly Pizzeria

When Pigs Fly Pizzeria
460 U.S Rte. One, Kittery, ME 03904
(207) 438-7036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 60 Restaurants in Kittery
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
South Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“More Than Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great experience and a great chance to try foods that we might not get in other restaurants epecially in the Kittery area. Industrial feel. Fun to watch the pizzas being made. Over 20 craft beers from all over the world. Love the beer classes and wine classes they have once a month. Where else can you go to class, sample beer or wine and get fed for just $10! Chef Hasty thinks outside the box so we never know what specials he might have when we visit. We have never had anything there we didn't like. Check out their desserts...awesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    72
    26
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friday night out . . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beer and pizza. Sausage with red pepper pizza was excellent! House salad was yummy. Beer samples were great and just the right size. Stay away from the fish stew it was ok for a Friday night Lenten dinner. Lots of fish but not great. Stay with the Pizza it is outstanding! The fried dough with three dipping sauces were supper good. The Berry and Chocolate were our favorites! Waitstaff was outstanding and helpful. We shall return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“12 bucks for a sandwich and a pickle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice looking metal and wood interior design with an open kitchen. The restaurant has high ceilings and the noise level is high. The wait staff was casual and were observed chatting and having a good time amongst themselves when their assistance was needed.

The menu is limited appetizers, sandwich selections on their own baked artesan breads and hand crafted pizzas. The sandwiches were large and tasty - but no side dish such as chips to even off the plate, just a pickle and served on a piece of slate. The slate was very creative but try moving a hunk of stone around on a table - not as easy as you think.

It's different and creative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I think the best part is the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's a really nice new building that really tries with its menu. My favorite thing is how great the bar staff is. There is no other place I'd rather sit after work and have a really good cold one.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Was it ever good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

When you go to Pigs Fly be ready for the best quality food, fabulous adult beverages, and a caring staff. We started with the exceptional Brussels sprouts, then moved on to a fantastic anti-pasta which had lovely in house cured meats. The ginger martini was tremendous and the Scotch McFindley was "wicked" good. Our waiter Ken was superior just like the duck confit pizza. The ice cream cookie trio pushed us all happily over the edge. Go, enjoy, you will love it ! It's worth the noisy atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When Pigs Fly Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to When Pigs Fly Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage When Pigs Fly Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.