We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennebunkport getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
GreenLeadersGold level
Swampscott, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Kennebunkport getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Decided last minute to get away and Kennebunkport is only a little over an hour from the north shore area of Boston. Called the day before and got one of the last rooms. Surprised to find out they were having a kayak and paddle board race on the canal and a live band and BBQ on the lawn.. Great day. Restaurants and shops are just a short walk down the street from the hotel. Nice place and very friendly people..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hello Massachusetts Visitor:
Wasn't the Paddle Battle a ton of fun? It was the ideal weather (I was in charge of weather that day!) for a day on the water and many of our guests enjoyed jumping in to this event that raises money for our local fire department water evacuation team. Many tried stand up paddle boarding or kayaking for the first time and all had a great time enjoying the casual BBQ lunch on the lawn as well as the awesome band! Keep an eye on our website for an announcement on the date for next years Paddle Battle in Kennebunkport! We would love to have you visit it again! (tides and already scheduled weddings help us make this decision!)
Happy September!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    269
    84
    34
    20
See reviews for
241
400
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

stayed in carriage house part. it was lovely, beautifully decorated and comfortable. the breakfast buffet was delicious , .the staff helpful and all quiet after 11. the only advice is to pack extra hangers, the room did not have a chest of drawers. we had to put our clothes on the top shelf of the closet. no real biggie but we hung up more than usual.
also, the bathroom had an automatic light so those 3 am bathroom breaks had a rude awakening. we taped a piece of Kleenex over the sensor so we could { go in peace}

Room Tip: only stayed in original part, don't know if newer part has a difference, our room had all modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hello Louise!
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We are very strict about our quiet hours that begin at 11pm. Everyone needs their sleep after a busy day of outdoor activities in Kennebunkport!
I am sorry you did not like our motion detector lights. We installed them this past winter as part of our commitment to conserving energy and frankly things have not gone as we would have hoped. It is a much harder thing to undo than you would think but rest assured this winter they will be redone with a motion detector than can be over ridden. We have this system in other rooms and why they were not used during this years renovation, I have no idea! We are currently pulling together our list of renovations for this winter (we are closed from Mid December to Mid April) so we always have a long list of items for our winter workers!
Hope to see you again next year if not soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This place is beautiful and wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone, and am eager for my return stay. The location is lovely, but the thing we commented about most during our stay was how NICE everyone is who works there--they could not possibly have been more warm and friendly. Our every need was attended to. I cannot say enough good things about the Nonantum!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Karen:
Thank you so much for your very kind words! I really appreciate them and I know the rest of the staff does as well. I do not know if you had time to read the brochure that tells about our resort, but the bottom line is that you must be nice to work at The Nonantum. When hiring one of our 200 workers I always say that I do not care if they have hospitality experience - we can teach them the nuts and bolts. What we cannot teach is being nice.
I certainly agree with your assessment that the staff at The Nonantum couldn't be any nicer. I am so very proud of their hard work, and grateful each day to be part of their team.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Warmly,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I have spent a week at the Nonantum every summer for over 20 years. Many of the employees have worked there for a long time and it is nice to be recognized each year. The facilities are clean and kept in good shape. Dinners at Ocean 95 are great, with a nice selection, making it easy to eat there most evenings. The breakfast offers a wide variety of food. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable, with refrigerators and coffee makers. There are plenty of things to do right from the resort, including sail boat trips and lobster boating, plus plenty of activities for kids. I look forward to my week in Kennebunkport every year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a deck overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Jane!
Well we look forward to your week long visit each year too! Thanks very much for the kind remarks. It is so nice that we have many people like yourself who come back year after year and just kick back and enjoy life in the slow lane in Kennebunkport!
We look forward to seeing you again next year! Maybe you should come up for a nice fall weekend. The leaves are spectacular!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This resort is so beautiful and situated on such a gorgeous property - TONS for kids to do including ping pong, kayaking, arts & crafts, crabbing,etc. They had a marshmallow roast while we were there. The food is really good - lobster and avocado salad was amazing. The dining room and attire is nice casual, and so the great food surprised us. Dinner for four was $180. Do not rent bikes from Nonantum - way to expensive: call Kennebunkport Bike Company directly. Breakfast spread is amazing - they offer everything you can think of. My kids are 11 and 8 and we could have enjoyed ourselves here for days.

Room Tip: Elevator is tiny and slow (antique), so if you can not climb stairs request the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hi John:
I am so happy to hear your family had such a wonderful time at The Nonantum! There is a lot for families to do and August is the traditional vacation month for many of our annual guests. I hope you will become part of this fun group! It is really a joy to see the kids (and their parents) reconnecting with other families from across the globe!
As far as the bike rentals are concerned, we also rent our bikes from Kennebunkport Bike Company! We charge $20 for 2 hours and they charge $19 for 3 hours but they also charge a delivery fee so it comes out about the same. I will speak to Brandon (the owner of Kennebunkport Bike) and we will come up with a plan that is fair for all. Occasionally we need them to bring bikes for a family with many children or other special size requirements. I am sure we can work it out!
We will look forward to seeing you again next year!
Sincerely,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Nonantum for the end of summer. What a wonderful place. There were ample children's activities (even some childcare events--a two hour pirate and princess party my 5 year old loved, and they even give huge goody bags), arts and crafts, family movie nights, smokes and marshmallow roasting, etc... On top of which they had a pool with a lunch grill and bar, a beautiful view of the harbor, lots of places to relax and read and just be, fitness activities, kayaking, and we chartered a great lobster tour on the Rugosa (extra cost, but I recommend it). The breakfast was elaborate and great, and the hotel restaurant was wonderful food with live music in the evenings (one night was a guitar duo and one night we had piano). It is a 5 minute stroll to Colony Beach, which is a heavenly little stretch of shore and about 15 minute stroll to town which is filled with more wonderful Maine-liness. We will return next year!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms were recently renovated (in the new building) we had one of those, and it was real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello New Yorker!
August is certainly family month at The Nonantum! So many fun things for kids to do! The Pirate and Princess night is always a hit! I love watching the "Pirates" decorating bell carts (a/k/a Pirate Ships) so they can take a ride! The campfires are also a blast. It is pretty hard to beat a warm summer night, a beautiful campfire and a toasted marshmallow!
We will look forward to seeing you again next year! Have a wonderful winter!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Although I had the misfortune of severely spraining my ankle just before our arrival, our family still had a wonderful stay at The Nonantum!

The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly - they delivered ice to my room, were always waiting with the elevator before I made it down the hall, held doors, and offered book recommendations and many smiles.

My husband and 3 year old enjoyed a tandem bike ride, sailing, roasting marshmallows, stargazing, and singing along at the campfire, playing shuffle board, basketball, table tennis & swimming - all just steps from the room. It was really very easy to embark on adventures & spend wonderful, quality time together. Since I was relatively immobile, I very much enjoyed the gorgeous grounds - the river & gardens are so lovely!

The food was also really good! For breakfast, we enjoyed some combination of scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh tomatoes, watermelon, blueberry muffin, and oatmeal. A short walk away, Port Lobster Co served the most delicious clam chowder & $10 lobster rolls. For dinner, the hotel restaurant was really tasty too. The ribs took fall-off-the bone to another level. They accommodated my husband's gluten, dairy & garlic sensitivities without issue. We also tried Earth (15 min drive), which was pricy, but delicious.

Our room (in the main building) was beautifully decorated with a gorgeous river view. It had clearly been updated, and had a very efficient & quiet a/c unit. Considering the included breakfast & children's programming, I found the room rate to be extremely reasonable!

My heat warms thinking of our special memories in Kennebunkport. A HUGE thank you to the kind, thoughtful staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello Pappas Family!
I hope by now your ankle is feeling much, much better! It is such a bummer to have something like this happen just before vacation but you certainly made the best of things! Maybe having to take some down time reading and looking at our beautiful flowers was just what the doctor ordered for the mom of a busy three year old!
We will look forward to seeing you again soon! Insider tip - Breakfast with Santa in December is always a hit with the small fry!
Happy Fall!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Green Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.