We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time can't wait to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Taste of Kennebunkport
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great time can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Nonantum! The breakfast was delicious and our dinner at 95 Ocean was wonderful. Location was a short walk to "downtown" and provided a great excuse to walk off all of the meals that we had. Before our trip was over we were already talking about our return visit for next summer! Thanks again Nonantum!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Melissa:
I am delighted to hear you and your husband had such a wonderful time here at The Nonantum Resort! The walk downtown is perfect for burning off dinner and the very unique boutiques are fun to wander through and explore!
We will look forward to your return visit! The autumn colors will be here before we know it so maybe a fall visit is in order?
Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review! I really appreciate it!
Kind Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    267
    84
    34
    20
See reviews for
238
391
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was the second long weekend that we spent at the Nonantum this year. Once again the staff and the accommodations were wonderful. The rates are reasonable especially when you take into consideration the breakfast buffet that comes with the stay. The setting is great, the grounds are kept up well and the activities for the kids is continuous. Thanks for the wonderful time one again and we look forward to the next time.

Reginald Moreau

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Reginald:
Welcome back! We are delighted you have so much fun when visiting us! The Activities Program is just so great for kids that many a parent has had to drag a crying child to the car for the long ride home!
We look forward to your next visit. There are some special fall yummies on the fall breakfast buffet! Please come check them out!
Thank you very much!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I loved the rooms. Great décor and cleanliness. I love the outdoor activities. there is something to do for each family member.
The view was spectacular. Service was great as well. The old elevator was fun to try. Lovely really!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Jade!
Maybe next time you can stay longer! Many guests share your opinion that there is something for each family member and that is why so many extended families love coming here together!
Thanks for your compliments on the décor. Every room is different and we have a lot of fun in the winter time choosing new colors and styles as every winter we redo a section of rooms.
Please come back and see us again soon! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for our 27th anniversary,it was not only relaxing but beautiful,quite and very enjoyable..... Parking was tuff sometimes but even as full as the place was it was still very peaceful.... The Breakfast Buffet was excellent and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: room 354 has the best view but expensive,but worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello Vermonter!
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing your big day with us! We hope it becomes an annual event!
As you noted, August is a busy and expensive time in Kennebunkport. It is our very busiest month and town is filled with lots of travelers but many of our guests say one of the things they love the most about The Nonantum is that they can go downtown and enjoy all the craziness and then wander back up Ocean Avenue to the relative sereneness of The Nonantum.
Thanks for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

GF and I were visiting Maine for the weekend and decided to try Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport for one night. Booked late and probably ended up with the last available room! It was a Queen bed on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot in front of the resort. Room was just what we needed. GF was satisfied with the room and is a stickler for cleanliness. Only complaint was hot water was occasionally in short supply, but there was a large wedding party at the resort and at peak times this was expected. Access to rooms on upper floors can be a challenge for older or less mobile people. There is an elevator, but it is definitely not ADA compatible. I believe the other building may have an ADA elevator??

Staff was wonderful, everyone was friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze. Concierge was helpful, even though we were looking else where to dine that night. Breakfast was very nice, the only comment would be there was only one toaster and it was slow, otherwise breakfast was wonderful and Richard made an excellent omelet!

When we left our previous evenings lodging I forgot to grab my GF's clothing that was in the closet. Fortunately Nonantum has a nice gift shop with some lovely dresses and wraps. The woman working that afternoon was most helpful with replenishing my GF's wardrobe (ouch)! Fortunately there was an end of season sale so the damage to my wallet wasn't too harsh!

After check in, we went for a stroll in the neighborhood and found a lovely restaurant Mabel's Lobster Claw, just down the street from Nonantum. Nice meal of Fried Clams and Chowder. Then we walked down to a beach off of Ocean Ave and enjoyed the late afternoon sun. Dinner was at The Village Tavern in West Kennebunk which was outstanding!


We would definitely book again without any hesitation. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was it was a bit pricey and not on the beach, otherwise it was a very well run property.

Enjoy,

VVHT

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi WHT:
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit! It sounds like you had an awesome time!
Those gift shop ladies are tricky. On a regular basis one of them will stick their head out as I walk by and say they have something I would really look great in and it is on sale! I always respond I have plenty of clothes and somehow they convince me that I should just try it on and the next thing I know there are a couple new things in my closet! However, as you point out, the clothes are beautiful, the prices are reasonable and a new look is always a nice lift!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was my husband's second stay (attended a conference), and my first. During his visit, he called me and said, "you would love this place." CORRECT. It was really lovely. The staff was unusually attentive, personable, helpful, and knowledgeable, from the people who serviced our room, to the front desk. Nice room with the perfect Maine view--lobster boats, sailing charters, and kayaks drifting by all day. The buffet breakfast was vast and of nice quality and variety. We walked to a couple of great outdoor restaurants for suppers. (Mabel's was my favorite), walked and jogged around the shore road, and LOVED being able to fall out of bed and rent a kayak for two hours to explore the harbor and upper river. I'd go back any time. It was a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: while there were very quiet times during our stay, we were in a corner room above the shuffleboard c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Beth:
Aren't you lucky to have a husband who knows exactly what you like! I am so happy he was right! It was a place you loved!
It really is a special treat to be able to watch the boats go by from bed, make a coffee in your in room keurig, and then head out on a kayak. It just doesn't get any better than that!
Please come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our son recently got married at the Nonantum. The venue is beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff was so accommodating. We had several small children with us and they can't wait to go back for vacation.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the south side bottom floor. Coffee on the deck with a beautiful view of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Catherine:
It is wonderful to hear that your sons wedding was such a spectacular event! We do many weddings in a season at The Nonantum and the one thing they all have in common is that it is an amazing event! Every wedding is different - as unique as the couples love!
Your remark about the children wanting to come back made me smile! As every parents knows, if the kids are happy on vacation, the adults are too! And what kid wouldn't be happy in the Nonantum Resort Activity program?
Thanks so much for sharing your joy with us! It really was a marvelous wedding!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Green Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.