We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great moments spent before getting into cottage !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
GreenLeadersGold level
Westmount, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great moments spent before getting into cottage !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Everyone at N was fabulous. We got in late after spending day at the beach and a lobster dinner and were invited to join guests at the s'mores fire. Very comfortable bed and my Mom said same about her hide-a-bed in the suite. It was a bit noisy early with trash truck and delivery trucks but hey - no biggie !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Kimbo,

It sounds like you had a great trip! The s'mores night has been a huge hit. My daughter and I joined in on the fun last week and had a great time chatting with guests and listening to the music. I love that you have such an easy-going attitude! That definitely makes it easier to have an awesome vacation. I hope you join us again!

Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    269
    84
    34
    20
See reviews for
241
399
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This property is located in a stunning place: literally on the water's edge of beautiful Kennebunkport. We were allocated a room on the first floor overlooking the rear of the property and the river - we were very pleased.
The air conditioning unit was old and the noisiest I have ever encountered. It was impossible to sleep with it on. The windows open and are fitted with fly screens but the air outside was still very hot. As another reviewer has commented, the walls are very thin. A man coughing in the next room woke me up:convinced it was my husband coughing, I was very surprised to see him sleeping soundly while the coughing continued!
I realise that this is a family resort and not a luxury travel destination. We did not eat in the hotel which was a big mistake. Ocean 95 restaurant is well reviewed and would have been better than the option we ended up with in the town.
All in all, a fantastic location well suited to family escapes.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello!

I am glad you enjoyed your time here, but I am sorry that we could not meet all of your needs. Each winter we work to update a handful of rooms and replace AC units. I would love to know which room you were in so that we can look into the noise issue. If you should ever find yourself back in Maine we would love to have you join us for dinner! It certainly is delicious. Thanks for writing!

Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family of 4 just completed a few days at Nonatum in early August and had a terrific time. The location is ideal, with a lovely lawn leading down to the picturesque Kennebunk River, just a short walk from area beaches and from downtown shops. Our room, 306, was perfect, with two bedrooms (one queen, one twins) and a shared bath, all simply but tastefully decorated and with a pretty view of the river. The main resort buildings are from the 1880s and retain some original Old New England touches such as beadboard, but most of the resort is renovate and some is new construction. The overall feel is casual, and the young staff are friendly and competent. Our 13 yr old son enjoyed the kayaking, crabbing, and lawn games organized by the activities staff. Be aware that there are activities, but not a full day program for kids or babysitting. Buffet breakfast was plentiful; my only criticism was that it could be more tasty--was a bit like cafeteria food. Pancakes and French toast, for example, were bland.

Room Tip: Most rooms have river views; be sure to request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello there!

I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Our activities program is a huge hit, and while it is true that we don't offer a full day program for kids, we can easily set you up with a babysitter! We love to see families enjoying being outside together, especially playing lawn games. We hope to see you back again next summer!

Warmly,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Hi!
We recently visited the Kennebunkport area and stayed at the Nonantum. What a treat! The rooms were clean, comfortable (as was our bed!), pleasantly decorated with an awesome view of boats traveling past our balcony!

We had moved our luggage in and settling in when our phone rang with the staff inquiring/asking if our room was up to our expectations! We went to the desk to ask for information on some of the local dining recommendations-whatever seemed to be likely choices, the front desk person excused themselves for a minute bringing back menu's of these establishments.

The breakfast (included in our stay) was top notch with amazing offerings like coconut lime pancakes, blueberry oatmeal... Everything was delicious.

Dinner there was also wonderful. There were six of us and all enjoyed their meals.

All staff were accommodating, including the gift shop employees.

There were plenty of areas outside to enjoy the breathtaking views and fresh air! It is located within walking distance of the shopping and dining, marina's, ...

We will absolutely return!

H&J/MA

Room Tip: Definitely seek a room with a water view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Good afternoon Heidi!

It sounds like you had a marvelous trip! I am so glad everything was to your satisfaction. We strive to ensure that everyone is happy and comfortable, starting with the phone call inquiring about your room. Our concierges and front desk members are all local residents, which makes giving dinner suggestions a breeze for them! I am glad you chose to dine with us in addition to in town! Our restaurant has been busier than ever this year, and it is awesome to hear a positive review! While our breakfast selections are relatively constant, the flavors change daily. The chefs love to invent new muffin and pancake flavors, and they are always a hit! We are excited to have you back!

All the best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We so much enjoyed our getaway to Kennebunkport and the opportunity to visit the fabulous Nonantum Resort right on Ocean Drive. Our room overlooked the river with pleasure and fishing boats moored at the marina or beginning their journey to the open sea. Our room was spacious and very well appointed with expansive water views and a great bed!

We enjoyed dinner in the 95 Ocean dining room. Do try Chef True's Blueberry Ribs, simply fall off the bone awesome! The breakfast buffet the following morning was simply spectacular! almost everything you could desire was laid out for our enjoyment with great service.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Richard!
Thank you for the fabulous review! I agree that the waterview is worth the extra money. There is nothing I enjoy more than looking out the window to see the passing ships. I'm so glad you enjoyed both of your meals while staying with us! I hope you'll visit us again soon.
Smiles,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Room 301 was big but furniture very average and poor bathroom when the views were great.
Old fashioned property offering a lot for families with decent breakfast choices.
Pool great to have but a bit small, Better go early morning with a nice garden wi,th a lot to do for kids and adults.
Ocean 95 restaurant was a bit slow but very tasty food and good service.
Wifi was slow in the room but nice in the very trendy lobby.
Will recommend this place.

Room Tip: Close to lobby upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Marc:
Waking up to a spectacular river view is one way to ensure your day will be amazing. Unfortunately, we were struck by lightening so we were having some wifi and telephone issues last week, but those have been resolved, so there is speedy wifi throughout the property!
Families do have a blast here, and it is so much fun to watch them reconnecting and sharing a marshmallow at our campfires! The warm August nights are the perfect backdrop for all this fun!
I hope to see you again with your friends in tow!
Thanks,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staff very friendly & helpful. Room a little dated by very adequate. One minor problem was no TV line up card in the room. Ate only breakfasts and it is a very good buffet.

We stayed in the old building on the 3rd floor and will not do that again until they install modern elevators to replace the very small one necessitating summoning a staff operator.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old building until they modernize the elevator situation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Larry:
Our staff really does an amazing job! It can be kind of a madhouse here in the summer but they are always cheerful and friendly. Actually I think they thrive on multitasking
Each winter we update a handful of rooms, so we will certainly find your reservation and add your room to this year's list for a facelift! It really is no problem for our front desk staff to assist you with the elevator! As you walk past the desk, simply ask for a ride, and they will come help immediately. I hope you enjoyed your mini-vacation with us! We look forward to seeing you again.
Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.