We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and reasonable priced hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$149 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
tampa, fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful and reasonable priced hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rooms are very comfortable.
Service second to none.
Courteous and friendly staff.
Amazing breakfast buffet.
Excellent dinner menu and food.
Wonderful backyard.
Very impressed with this hotel.
Will recommend to everybody.

Room Tip: The waterfront of this hotel will leave you speechless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Gus:
What lovely remarks! I really appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts!
Our staff really is awesome and amazing! They all work so hard to make sure all of our guests share your opinions!
I know Tampa is a long way away, but I do hope you can come back and see us soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    253
    76
    34
    18
See reviews for
228
358
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The service everywhere in the Resort is wonderful. The room was tiny and only one chair which was very uncomfortable. The restaurant was exceptional. Many thanks to Pamala and to the host Ken for looking out for us every nite of our stay. Make sure you ask for river view. It's worth it.!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, 103 and 104 very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Dorice:
Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay at The Nonantum Resort! We are honored you would choose to spend your 57th Anniversary with us! Congratulations!
I am so glad you enjoyed meeting and working with Pam and Kenny! They both are super hospitable and many of our guests ask for them by name during repeat visits!
We look forward to seeing you on your 58th Anniversary!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our room was quite small and we had to shuffle around each other and our luggage to get to the bathroom. The room could also do with a bit of updating. The public rooms very very well kept and all the staff very helpful and pleasant. The shops/restaurants are within walking distance. Whilst wandering around the town we stopped outside the church to take pictures and a very helpful lady came along and said that we were welcome to go in and have a look. The hotel was very busy with coach parties so we were a little worried about eating in the hotel but as they were eating in the hotel's main restaurant we decided to eat in Heckman's pub just off the lobby. They had their own menu but you could also choose from the restaurant menu if you wanted too. The food was delicious as was the beer. The breakfast buffet was not that special as all the hot food was kept in warmers and unless you were there when it was first set out the food was luke warm and unappetising. It was also a bit of a struggle to get a cup of tea. Unlike Americans I do not drink coffee and have found it very difficult to get a cup of tea throughout my tour of America.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Sue:
Thank you for coming all the way from the UK to see us! We get many visitors from your area of the world and enjoy hearing about life on the other side of the pond!
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening in Heckman's Pub. Henry Heckman built the Nonantum Resort in 1883 and it is a pleasure to share some of our history with our visitors.
Thanks again for the visit and I hope you can come and see us again soon!
Cheerio!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful location! Close to the Cliff Walk and within walking distance of the shopping/restaurants in town. The staff were great and everyone we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The grounds were beautifully kept! The hotel was very clean. The only negative is the rooms in the older part of the hotel. The rooms are very small and old and could use a little updating. The walls and doors are thin and do not allow for much privacy. Overall, a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Greetings Dallas Visitor!
Isn't the walk along Ocean Avenue the best way ever to start a day? The views are spectacular and just wandering along is so relaxing! It sounds like you are a walker and this location is perfect for that. It is such a nice walk downtown (and makes you feel like you have earned that ice cream doesn't it?!)
Please come back and see us again soon. Fall walks are wonderful! Sunrise is at 7 and even more beautiful than you can imagine!
Kind Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely setting with great Halloween decor! Surprises all over the front yard!

Room was small and the wedding proved to be "loud' - shaking our room right across from the elevator - however, desk said that it would cease at 10:30 pm - and it did! - glad, for we had spent a day of traveling......this resort "grows on you" and becomes HOME! Staff was extremely accomodating and Capt. Bob for the lobster boat was charming.....we did not go "out" with him due to overbooking with a bus tour - but would HIGHLY recommend - he is knowledgable, kind, and warm! I'm confident his tour is well worth your time!

Room Tip: book in "out lying" units if there is a wedding and you would like quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Cleveland Visitor:
How swell to hear that you enjoyed our Halloween decorations as well as your time spent with Captain Bob of Rugosa fame! Bob is a great member of Team Nonantum and never fails to impress our guests with his enormous knowledge of boating and the sea around us.
I think you hit the nail right on the head when you said that The Nonantum "grows on you". We are different than most places in that we are a family that takes care of each other through good times and bad. Many of us have been on staff for many years and thrive on the controlled chaos that seems to go with the territory around here. Your example about wedding music is a good one. Yes we have weddings. But we also have quiet hours and we enforce them. It works for everyone because the rules are made clear going in and they are taken very seriously.
Hopefully you will be able to make it back to see Captain Bob and have a trip out on the ocean. Trust me, you will love the Rugosa!
Thanks for taking time to write!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here while visiting family in the area and it was the perfect place to eat, sleep and get to all the local sights. We were able to visit other wonderful towns in the area but loved Kennebunkport and Kennebunk. The hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful and the food was delicious, thanks to their executive chef Steve True.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear California Nana:
I really appreciate your marvelous review of The Nonantum Resort! Steve True is an amazing chef and an all around nice guy. This weekend I had the opportunity to run a 5K with him (OK he was pushing his grandson in a stroller - that was the only reason I could keep up with him!) and I had such a nice time chatting with him about life in general. Truely a prince of a guy!
Come back soon to see your family again. And know that we have a room (upper floor, per your request!) with the light on!
Warmly,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The most helpful staff we have encountered. Everyone was helpful. Dining room was excellent.
The views from our room was awesome, the grounds very nicely done with a fairy garden, a light house, and a number of humerous, straw stuffed, seasonal mannequins stationed around the grounds.

The only negative was sound of folks walking in the room above.

Overall, it's hard to beat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Ray:
So glad to hear you had a fantastic stay here at The Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport! As you can tell, our Head Gardiner loves Fall. We have a ton of autumn decorations!
Did you happen to see the very large pumpkin on our lawn? People have been guessing the weight to win things from our gift shop. Always a popular fall activity!
Please come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.