We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$149 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed one night in Portside King on the first floor. Nice view of the river. Patio had2 chairs and a table - nice to be outside.
Liked the clean lines of our room - no heavy drapes so had a lovely view also loved that the flooring was very clean looking - maybe a pergo - much better than carpet.
However, the bathroom was SMALL! Also, need to put small fridge on a wider platform - every time we opened it - it teetered - made me think it would fall on my toe!
The staff are SUPER! Everyone we encounter was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Greetings Virginia Sunny:
Thank you for writing to tell of your adventures in Kennebunkport! It is indeed a fun place to be! It is wonderful that your visit was so enjoyable! It sounds like we have similar taste in decorating. I also really like the clean line and lack of heavy drapes. I think with the beautiful vistas here we need to enjoy Mother Nature's handiwork whenever we can! I also really like the lack of carpets. We use bamboo flooring as it is a renewable wood, so it is in keeping with our comittment to using environmentally friendly products. It is far more sanitary than carpets and I just like the look so much better.
It is rare that I get a letter that doesn't mention our very talented staff and yours is no exception. They truly are the best of the best and I am so proud to work with them each and every day!
Thanks again for the great writeup. I hope you can come see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    253
    76
    34
    18
See reviews for
228
358
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just finished 3 nights at the Nonantum and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Carriage house and our third floor room had a view of the river. The room was good size and the bed was comfortable. I did not find the lack of a "regular" elevator to be a problem. Staff was very friendly and helpful at the front desk and in the bar/dining rooms. The front porch is large and has a row of rocking chairs. It was very relaxing to have a glass of wine and sit in a rocker. Facing the river are adirondack chairs. Landscaping around the property is well maintained. The breakfast buffet was large and offered a bit of everything. If you stay for dinner or are looking for a break from seafood, the Chipotle Blueberry ribs were exceptional. You can easily walk downtown or to the beach. All in all, a very relaxing visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Tom:
Thank you so very much for the lovely compliments! You really summed up many of our different strengths! Great views, comfortable beds, friendly staff, beautiful landscaping, easy walk downtown, very relaxing, close to the beach and awesome Blueberry Ribs! Sounds like a pretty great place to vacation to me!
Please come back and see us again soon. All the seasons at the Nonantum are beautiful!
Thanks again for the terrific review!
Happy Fall,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent one rainy night in K-Town at Nonantum. A very nice private resort. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is the best I have had! Service certainly was a focus for Nonantum. It is close to the 'town', though there is not much there. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing time, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear LA Traveler:
There is nothing quite as nice a big breakfast on a rainy morning! Our breakfast crew does just an amazing job! This morning I saw that we had blueberry pancakes, apple spice muffins, sausage, bacon, 2 kinds of eggs, almond joy muffins, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, toast, yogurt, cereals, french toast, and potatoes. Something for everyone!
One night is just not enough at the Nonantum or in Kennebunkport. Come back soon so you can enjoy Kennebunkport in the sunshine!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent stay, the staff is very friendly and is available at all time for you. Food is great too .

Beautiful spot near the marina, excellent for late afternoon drinks and relax

It may need a little renovations , especially carpets.

Very close to downtown Kennebunkport , a 10min walk

Thank you again !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Montreal Friend:
I very much appreciate you taking time to write and share details about your recent visit to The Nonantum Resort. I coulnd't agree more, it is a "Beautiful spot near the marina, excellent for late afternoon drinks and relaxing"
Nearly everyone who comes here finds a slice of time to sit by the water and watch the boats go by. Add an adult beverage and I would daresay there is no more relaxing way to end your day!
Thanks very much for taking the time to write. Please come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

recently stayed here for an extended weekend for a wedding. the staff we exceptional. the front desk was over the top friendly and helpful when i needed to find another night to stay. had some great beers at the bar watching baseball. would give it a five star except was hoping to get a massage and I didn't a spa presence. easy, actually perfect walk to town if you go out day or night. really beautiful.

Room Tip: we stayed on the floor which made sitting by the river in tthe adorondak chairs easy. on the other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Greg:
I very much appreciate your kind remarks about our staff! I must agree - our staff is over-the-top helpful and I am very proud to be part of this team!
The walk to town is lovely, the perfect way to spend time enjoying the fantastic Maine weather. You mentioned that we do not have a spa, which is true. However, there are many spas located within easy walking distance. We do have Reiki available in house.
Please come back and see us again soon. There is lots of great sports in the fall and Heckman's Pub is a great place to watch baseball and other favorites.
Thanks again for the marvelous review!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Nonantum Sep 4 - 7, 2013 and had a wonderful time. Well kept, updated and charming. Loved the original Otis elevator ride.

The room was clean and nicely decorated with a wonderful view of the river, large bath and walk-in closet. Only complaint is the noise from the building fans on the side of the room (if windows were closed you could not hear them) and the fact that I could hear the person upstairs (we were on the 3rd floor) when they dropped something and their snoring. We enjoyed the short walk into Kennebunkport and the easy ride to Goose Rocks Beach.

The staff was friendly, the included breakfast was delicious and had a great variety to choose from, the view of the river was beautiful and the includes activies were appreciated and a nice touch - each evening had something different; free cocktail hour, bon fire down by the river, and a marshmellow roast.

Room Tip: In the main building, the 4th floor would probably be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Laura:
Thank you very much for the great write up! You did an excellent job of summing up many of the great things about The Nonantum! I love that you enjoyed our Original Otis elevator. That is such a split decision among our customers. Many folks like yourself enjoy taking a ride with a charming Nonantum Bellman while others want to run the elevator themselves. The good news is the Portside Building has a modern do-it-yourself type of elevator so whatever your taste in elevators, we have an option for you!
The Fall Activities are a lot of fun. My personal favorite is the campfire with roast your own marshmellows. The perfect before bed treat!
Come see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the property in The Portside Lodge (a separate and more contemporary building than the main hotel) the attraction here being that it is a bit closer to and, provides better views of the Kennebunk River and, offers balconies with almost all rooms. However, the rooms are quite ordinary, furnished inexpensively - plastic, wicker-look chairs inside, cabinetry that is begrudgingly functional but, not terribly attractive. The bathrooms and particularly the tub/showers, are hardly abundant, size-wise. But, three items were a source of some greater annoyance: 1) the screen door going out to our patio (we were on the ground floor) practically had the be blasted open, the glide wheels were in such lousy repair; 2) for some absolutely idiotic reason, the hoteliers have installed cheap-grade simulated wood flooring instead of carpeting the floors. As such, we heard EVERY footstep of the people above us and, every movement of their wheeled luggage; 3) the hotel claims to provide free WiFi. However, the signal was so weak in the Portside Lodge that a connection could not be maintained in our room nor, even in the "lobby" area of the Portside Lodge (where, incidentally, the upholstered furniture sports some truly exotic aromas).

So, if you're really looking for mediocrity at a far-higher-than-is-justified-price, check the place out. If you're willing to pay for quality, try The Grand Hotel or, The Boatwatch. Both cost a bit more but, you'll likely be far more pleased with your surroundings. (You will however, have to forego the equally uninspiring Nonantum breakfast buffet...but, my guess is you'll survive without it.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Colorado Visitor:
Oh dear me! I am soooo sorry to hear you did not have an pleasant stay! Nothing is more annoying than to go on vacation and not enjoy yourself. It sounds like we just were not the right place for you and I really feel terrible about that!
Choosing a vacation spot is such a personal thing. I wish everyone liked the same thing but regretfully they don't. This means that occasionally we just do not live up to a guests expectations. Clearly we missed the mark in your case and for that I apologize.
I hope that the remainder of your trip was more enjoyable.
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.