We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Chef of the Year Award
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent stay, the staff is very friendly and is available at all time for you. Food is great too .

Beautiful spot near the marina, excellent for late afternoon drinks and relax

It may need a little renovations , especially carpets.

Very close to downtown Kennebunkport , a 10min walk

Thank you again !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Montreal Friend:
I very much appreciate you taking time to write and share details about your recent visit to The Nonantum Resort. I coulnd't agree more, it is a "Beautiful spot near the marina, excellent for late afternoon drinks and relaxing"
Nearly everyone who comes here finds a slice of time to sit by the water and watch the boats go by. Add an adult beverage and I would daresay there is no more relaxing way to end your day!
Thanks very much for taking the time to write. Please come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    223
    66
    32
    16
See reviews for
184
308
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

recently stayed here for an extended weekend for a wedding. the staff we exceptional. the front desk was over the top friendly and helpful when i needed to find another night to stay. had some great beers at the bar watching baseball. would give it a five star except was hoping to get a massage and I didn't a spa presence. easy, actually perfect walk to town if you go out day or night. really beautiful.

Room Tip: we stayed on the floor which made sitting by the river in tthe adorondak chairs easy. on the other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Greg:
I very much appreciate your kind remarks about our staff! I must agree - our staff is over-the-top helpful and I am very proud to be part of this team!
The walk to town is lovely, the perfect way to spend time enjoying the fantastic Maine weather. You mentioned that we do not have a spa, which is true. However, there are many spas located within easy walking distance. We do have Reiki available in house.
Please come back and see us again soon. There is lots of great sports in the fall and Heckman's Pub is a great place to watch baseball and other favorites.
Thanks again for the marvelous review!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Nonantum Sep 4 - 7, 2013 and had a wonderful time. Well kept, updated and charming. Loved the original Otis elevator ride.

The room was clean and nicely decorated with a wonderful view of the river, large bath and walk-in closet. Only complaint is the noise from the building fans on the side of the room (if windows were closed you could not hear them) and the fact that I could hear the person upstairs (we were on the 3rd floor) when they dropped something and their snoring. We enjoyed the short walk into Kennebunkport and the easy ride to Goose Rocks Beach.

The staff was friendly, the included breakfast was delicious and had a great variety to choose from, the view of the river was beautiful and the includes activies were appreciated and a nice touch - each evening had something different; free cocktail hour, bon fire down by the river, and a marshmellow roast.

Room Tip: In the main building, the 4th floor would probably be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Laura:
Thank you very much for the great write up! You did an excellent job of summing up many of the great things about The Nonantum! I love that you enjoyed our Original Otis elevator. That is such a split decision among our customers. Many folks like yourself enjoy taking a ride with a charming Nonantum Bellman while others want to run the elevator themselves. The good news is the Portside Building has a modern do-it-yourself type of elevator so whatever your taste in elevators, we have an option for you!
The Fall Activities are a lot of fun. My personal favorite is the campfire with roast your own marshmellows. The perfect before bed treat!
Come see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the property in The Portside Lodge (a separate and more contemporary building than the main hotel) the attraction here being that it is a bit closer to and, provides better views of the Kennebunk River and, offers balconies with almost all rooms. However, the rooms are quite ordinary, furnished inexpensively - plastic, wicker-look chairs inside, cabinetry that is begrudgingly functional but, not terribly attractive. The bathrooms and particularly the tub/showers, are hardly abundant, size-wise. But, three items were a source of some greater annoyance: 1) the screen door going out to our patio (we were on the ground floor) practically had the be blasted open, the glide wheels were in such lousy repair; 2) for some absolutely idiotic reason, the hoteliers have installed cheap-grade simulated wood flooring instead of carpeting the floors. As such, we heard EVERY footstep of the people above us and, every movement of their wheeled luggage; 3) the hotel claims to provide free WiFi. However, the signal was so weak in the Portside Lodge that a connection could not be maintained in our room nor, even in the "lobby" area of the Portside Lodge (where, incidentally, the upholstered furniture sports some truly exotic aromas).

So, if you're really looking for mediocrity at a far-higher-than-is-justified-price, check the place out. If you're willing to pay for quality, try The Grand Hotel or, The Boatwatch. Both cost a bit more but, you'll likely be far more pleased with your surroundings. (You will however, have to forego the equally uninspiring Nonantum breakfast buffet...but, my guess is you'll survive without it.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Colorado Visitor:
Oh dear me! I am soooo sorry to hear you did not have an pleasant stay! Nothing is more annoying than to go on vacation and not enjoy yourself. It sounds like we just were not the right place for you and I really feel terrible about that!
Choosing a vacation spot is such a personal thing. I wish everyone liked the same thing but regretfully they don't. This means that occasionally we just do not live up to a guests expectations. Clearly we missed the mark in your case and for that I apologize.
I hope that the remainder of your trip was more enjoyable.
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was our second visit to the Nonantum, and three years in between was too long! We realize we need to make this an annual visit. We stayed for three nights the first week in Sept. Everything was wonderful our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and dinner was absolutely delightful. We enjoy the walk to town. The pool was great and the evening campfire and music was enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Chatham Friends:
I have to agree! Every three years is not often enough to visit the Nonantum! Many of our guests come more than once a season as they love the different offerings between spring/summer/fall and winter!
One of my favorite things about the Nonantum is the great entertainment we have in the dining room. Different people different nights and each one a fantastic musician and a great human being! The music around the campfire is equally enjoyable where different staff members take turns leading the singing. It is amazing how many talented folks we have working here!
Thanks so much for the super remarks! We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a weekend to attend a family wedding. Lovely New England charm. Our room looked out onto the water, creating a postcard view. Service was excellent, food top notch.Would gladly stay there again...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Greetings Staten Island Visitor!
How wonderful you could be here for a family wedding with a "picture postcard" background! One of my cousins has a wedding here this coming weekend and I cannot wait! I know everyone will have a wonderful time!
Wonderful food and service make it fun to visit a place and I am sure my family, just like yours will really enjoy themselves.
Next time perhaps you can come just for a vacation and try some of our many Activities like biking, boatrides and paddleboarding!
We look forward to seeing you then and thank you very much for sharing your opinion!
Happy Fall,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One night stay here , comfortable pretty room on third floor . Well maintained and clean . Hotel is in lovely location and 10 min walk into centre . Hotel was busy with large parties . Didn't eat in hotel as there was local choice . Only grumble was on our departure , lift has to be operated by staff and we asked for assistance with our luggage the member of staff operated the lift but chose not to help with our cases , suppose I expected a little more courtesy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Jane:
How lovely that you were able to come to the United States on vacation. I suspect you are like so many of our English guests who come and visit New Englad this time of year in that you visit lots of beautiful places in a very short time! I think you have chosen the perfect time to come! I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit as much as you enjoyed your stay at The Nonantum!
Please come back and see us again when you can stay a little longer. Part of the Nonantum Magic kicks in when you have the time to snooze in a chair on the lawn with the sun sparking off our beautiful marina!
Thanks so much for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.