We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Chef of the Year Award
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Chatham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was our second visit to the Nonantum, and three years in between was too long! We realize we need to make this an annual visit. We stayed for three nights the first week in Sept. Everything was wonderful our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and dinner was absolutely delightful. We enjoy the walk to town. The pool was great and the evening campfire and music was enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Chatham Friends:
I have to agree! Every three years is not often enough to visit the Nonantum! Many of our guests come more than once a season as they love the different offerings between spring/summer/fall and winter!
One of my favorite things about the Nonantum is the great entertainment we have in the dining room. Different people different nights and each one a fantastic musician and a great human being! The music around the campfire is equally enjoyable where different staff members take turns leading the singing. It is amazing how many talented folks we have working here!
Thanks so much for the super remarks! We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    219
    64
    31
    16
See reviews for
181
302
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a weekend to attend a family wedding. Lovely New England charm. Our room looked out onto the water, creating a postcard view. Service was excellent, food top notch.Would gladly stay there again...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Greetings Staten Island Visitor!
How wonderful you could be here for a family wedding with a "picture postcard" background! One of my cousins has a wedding here this coming weekend and I cannot wait! I know everyone will have a wonderful time!
Wonderful food and service make it fun to visit a place and I am sure my family, just like yours will really enjoy themselves.
Next time perhaps you can come just for a vacation and try some of our many Activities like biking, boatrides and paddleboarding!
We look forward to seeing you then and thank you very much for sharing your opinion!
Happy Fall,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One night stay here , comfortable pretty room on third floor . Well maintained and clean . Hotel is in lovely location and 10 min walk into centre . Hotel was busy with large parties . Didn't eat in hotel as there was local choice . Only grumble was on our departure , lift has to be operated by staff and we asked for assistance with our luggage the member of staff operated the lift but chose not to help with our cases , suppose I expected a little more courtesy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Jane:
How lovely that you were able to come to the United States on vacation. I suspect you are like so many of our English guests who come and visit New Englad this time of year in that you visit lots of beautiful places in a very short time! I think you have chosen the perfect time to come! I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit as much as you enjoyed your stay at The Nonantum!
Please come back and see us again when you can stay a little longer. Part of the Nonantum Magic kicks in when you have the time to snooze in a chair on the lawn with the sun sparking off our beautiful marina!
Thanks so much for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family of 3 spent a few days at The Nonantum at the end of August 2013 and enjoyed every moment!.Our room was in the Portside building and contained a queen sized bed and a single bed, which was perfect for us and our 10 year old son. No balcony, but a stellar view out to the Kennebec River full of boats and action. The room was furnished with Cuddledown linens and contained a small refrigerator which we appreciated. Everything was immaculate and very comfortable. From our first welcome at the front desk to the last day's printing of airline boarding passes, everyone we encountered was friendly, helpful, and kind. Even though the resort was busy with a wedding and heavy summer dinner traffic, we felt at home. We recommend taking a sail on the Pineapple Ketch, which is docked at The Nonantum.

Only thing which needs improvement: Wi-Fi accessibility! We are a tech family, and when we check in to a hotel we connect to Wi-Fi with phone, tablets, computers, etc. The Wi-Fi signal in our room was pitiful, but that could easily be fixed. Also, we never ate at the resort, and were unaware that there was a breakfast buffet included.

Thank you, Nonantum! We will return!

Room Tip: Portside rooms have a modern elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello Texas Friend:
The end of August is such a special time at The Nonantum! The warm days are perfect for lots of family fun (and the Pineapple Ketch is one of my favorite ways to spend an afternoon!) and the cool nights make for wonderful restful sleeping in the cozy Cuddledown quilts!
I am so sorry you had problems with the Wi-Fi. We are a techie family too and that would make me totally crazy! What happened is that there was a lightening strike here mid August and it was nearly the end of the month before we realized damage had been done to one of our routers. It has been fixed so when you come back there should be no wi-fi problems!
Thanks for the lovely writeup and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Happy Fall!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family has visited the resort for multiple wedding events and each time the resort out does itself...constantly finding ways to make the experience that much easier, more comfortable, more fun!
From the kids camp to the updated rooms, to the spectacular lobster bake rehearsal dinners and magical weddings - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Chen:
I would like to take this oppotunity to thank you for your very extraordinary write up! I so appreciate that you noticed that we are working hard "constantly finding ways to make the experience that much easier, more comfortable, more fun!" because that is certainly what we are trying to do!
I must agree that weddings here are magical! This past weekend we had a former summer staffer come back to do her wedding at The Nonantum. It was so heartwarming to see one of our own share this special day with her former coworkers. (and you are correct - the day was totally magical!) Her mom (who also works here) just floated through my office and the smile on her face said it all! The mom said the most common comment was "It will be hard to top this wedding"! I couldn't agree more!
Thanks again for taking time to write and we hope to see you back at The Nonantum very soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely property and friendly staff, pleased with our visit there. The room was updated and the buffet breakfast which was included was above expectation. The grounds were well kept. We had a great time there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Janice:
I am so happy to hear you had such a outstanding time at The Nonantum Resort! It is wonderful that you noticed our lovely grounds. Our groundskeeping crew is nothing short of amazing! They are all the nicest folks you would want to meet and I think that is why our flowers are so beautiful! (that and lots of hard work!)
Have a great Fall, and I hope we see you here again!
Thanks,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed during the weekend of 30 August 2013 to 2 September 2013.
This is the second time was last year in the same period.
We love the warmth of the staff, the place is beautiful in a family style.
Breakfast is included and very good food as

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Raymond:
Isn't it nice to have a family tradition of going to the same place, the same time each year? It gives you something wonderful to look forward to all year long!
We hope that this tradition will continue and we look forward to seeing you again next Labor Day weekend!
Thank you so much for the very nice review!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.