We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$149 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Tired but in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. We booked a four person room that had two rooms. The first room had a king bed and a beat up sleep sofa that was not even as large as a queen bed and was painful to lie on. We called the front desk and they moved us that night. Our next room was on the top floor and seemed to have just been renovated. It was a little cramped but acceptable for 4 people two separate rooms separated by a bathroom. The hotel is old but still has the old charm, especially in the bar. It does however need some TLC. Housekeeping throws sheets in the hall when they are cleaning rooms so the hallway is full of sheets until they are completed with all the rooms. I find to be an unnecessary eye sore during the day. We were never told that our stay included breakfast (hence my review of “all day breakfast”). We found out our last day. This really irritated me. We checked in at night and never got an orientation of the place from the nigh person. The hotel has adirondack chairs with views of the harbor and is within walking distance of both downtown and the beach. If they fix up the place it would be 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Scott:
I am happy to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our newly renovated rooms! They are very pretty and my daughters favorite place to stay when we spend the night!
It is really surprising to me that you did not know that breakfast is included with your room. This is something our reservationists love to talk to customers about as it is value added to your reservation. In addition it is clearly stated in your reservation confirmation that breakfast is included. It is a shame you missed it as many repeat guests contact me asking that their favorite breakfast treat be included on the buffet during their next stay. I will contact all the folks who work at check in and remind them of the importance of emphasizing the complimentary breakfast at check in. Who doesn't love a free breakfast?
Enjoy this lovely summer weather!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    253
    75
    34
    18
See reviews for
227
357
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from out first trip to Kennebunkport celebrating our 25th anniversary. Very impressed with the Nonantum. Old hotel that with updated romantic rooms. Staff was friendliest I have ever dealt with! Met so many great people we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Kerrie:
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your 25th with us! I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time here! There are many folks who make an annual trek here for their anniversary and I hope you will become one of them! We cannot wait to see you again! Thanks for the wonderful review!
Happy Summer,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an awesome stay at the Nonantum Resort during the first week of July. The hotel has a great location on the water and is close to town. We stayed in one of the suites since there were 3 adults and 2 children in our party. The room was beautiful and gave us a lot of room to spread out and relax. The morning breakfast service was awesome - a ton of food and great views out over the water. Tim and the staff were gracious hosts - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Floridian Friends:
Thank you so much for your very kind words! As you observed our family suites are perfect for families on the go! Many of our guests have commented to me recently that they love being able to park their car and walk all over town as well as hang out at our get away from it all resort! The best of both worlds!
Tim is an amazing individual and we are honored to have had him as a staff member for nearly 25 years! Both of his sons work here as well!
Hope you can come and see us again soon!
Happy Summer!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This Resort was awesome, and I'd recommend it to anyone, couples and families alike. The room was clean an cute great view of the water, nice we had our own patio. All the staff was very accommadating to us especially because we brought our boat along to cruise the river during the stay. Tina was very pleasant and showed us around the grounds and was extreemly helpful. The location was near to everything. Full breakfast every day was also awesome. We would not hestiate to make a return trip it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We cannot wait to have you back here! Having our very own marina is such a special treat and touring the property with Tina is always fun! Tina has been here over 20 years and her energy and enthusiasm for the property is very contagious!
There are always lots of tasty new treats on our breakfast buffet so we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Nonatum is located on the river and in the heart on Kennebunkport. The wait staff and front desk staff go above and beyond to be pleasant. The pillows are the best I have ever slept on and actually went to the hotel's store and ordered them. I was so happy they were locally made and came in 1 day. I would have given it 5 stars except the floors are so creaky above us and I was on the first floor. The folks on the second floor were very early risers and woke and kept me up. The complimentary breakfast was a full buffet and the wait staff incredible! Thanks again. Hopefully next time I am there the weather will be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Those Cuddledown Pillows really are amazing aren't they? I have them at my home and my ski condo now and when I travel, I sneak one in to my suitcase. They really are that comfortable!
We are working on the squeaky floor issue. Last year we took up the carpets and put down hard wood floors. They are much more sanitary than carpet, but as we have learned the hard way, sound travels in funny directions with them. We do have white noise machines available, which many of our customers love, and running the air conditioners also helps with noise issues.
I have ordered up lots of sunshine for the rest of the summer, so hopefully we will see you back here soon!
Thank you for sharing your thoughts,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just returned from our third vacation trip to the Nonantum Resort. We had a wonderful time. The 4th of July Lobster Bake, musical performance and fireworks display was a highlight of our trip. The weather was magnificent. The food offerings were plentiful and delicious. With the patriotic music from the band playing in the background, the families singing, kids joyously dancing and playing, then topping off the event with a fireworks display was a wonderful way to spend the 4th.
The staff is so friendly and hard working!! From our conscientious housekeeper, who has cleaned our room for the last 3 years, to the college staff who bustled and cheerfully kept everyone in the pool and lawn area in food and beverage, to Jean the Innkeeper, whom we chatted with at the meet and greet and saw throughout our stay.
This staff and others we met throughout our visit could not have been more accommodating.
We look forward to returning!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Pam:
Thank you so very much for your lovely review! That 4th of July experience is pretty hard to top! Lobsters and Chef True's Famous BBQ Blueberry Ribs, A full concert band of Patriotic Music, Red White and Blue a plenty - how much more Americana can you get? Such a fun, fun night!
As you noted, most of our Housekeepers have been here for years and years (Our Executive Housekeeper Sandra has been here 31 years and her Mom had the job before she did!) and their extreme commitment to cleanliness makes the Nonantum the kind of place people love to visit again and again!
Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My sister and I traveled here for a week during the 4th of July. We will definitely return next summer. We selected Kennebunkport because it was a quick drive from Boston and we wanted a place where we could run, bike and swim in preparation for a triathlon. We also wanted a pool and to be ocean front, or walking distance to the water.

The Nonantum met and exceeded our expectations. Our room had been recently renovated and it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was exceptional, offering everything from the indulgent (banana pancakes and bacon) to the healthy (yogurt, fruit, cereal).

The hotel allowed us to store our bikes in their bike racks in the activity tent which we appreciated. We also got to try out stand up paddle boarding for the first time, courtesy of the Nonantum.

Barbara Lisa was the person we interacted with the most as she noticed us struggling with our bikes. She was helpful and kind and gave us good suggestions for bike routes.

I think overall, what stood out to me, was that people seemed genuinely happy to be working there. The staff were all approachable and happy to help in any way. The young workers at the activity tent were excellent with all the visiting children. The front desk were smiley and warm. There was a positive vibe throughout the hotel and you couldn't help but feel happy being there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Boston Friends:
Thank you for your nice review! I wish I had had the opportunity to meet you as our General Manager Tina and I are also training for a Triathlon! (The Tri For A Cure) We do it together each summer to raise money for Maine Cancer and it is a highlight of our summer! We would have loved to train with you! When you come back please let me know you are coming at jean@nonantumresort.com and we will plan a bike ride or a swim (or both!)
Barbara is a wonderful Activities Director and she has helped Tina and I a lot in getting prepared for our Tri. She runs a tight ship down in activities and the guests children always have a blast!
Thanks again for sharing your thoughts! Looking forward to training with you soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.