We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Romantic Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Chef of the Year Award
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kennebunkport
Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Romantic Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I selected the Nonantum for our 20th anniversary. It was absolutely the best choice we could have made. The reservations person booked us in a top floor room facing the river. The view of the river was spectacular. The room was large and had a jacuzzi. The room was very well-appointed, and had a great coffee maker and fridge. One of the things I loved about the furniture was the bed had very fluffy comforters. It seems most places have very thin blankets - the loft of the comforter is so much more pleasant to me. The staff was professional, friendly, and efficient. The breakfasts were delicious and extensive, including hot items like eggs/sausage/etc. You cannot beat the fact that the resort is on the river, while still being so close to town. One note: I believe this resort does a lot of weddings, which is understandable because of the view and lovely facilities. There was a wedding on the SAT night of our FRI-SAT night stay. It did go until about 11 and it was possible to hear the music playing across the property. While this did not bother us in the least, it might bother some folks. The reservations person had been clear about the fact that there was a wedding going on that weekend, and that the attendees would be in residence there. She was also careful book us far away from it, in the most lovely room, and I think one of the only rooms in the second building with a jacuzzi. If someone had a problem staying in a place where a wedding was going on, it would be a good idea to find out if one was happening or not. A wedding can also mean lots of commotion and families/kids running around at breakfast; again, this did not bother us, but it is not for everyone. We will be returning to the Nonantum and have referred it to several friends. It is lovely, has a great staff, and is an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks for your kind review of The Nonantum! I am happy to hear our reservationists are sharing the information with folks that we do host a number of weddings. Your experience clearly demonstrates that The Nonantum can host a wedding as well as other guests with both groups co existing peacefully!
I share your enthusiasm for our bedding. While occasionally we have someone who wants your standards hotel blanket (and with a call to the desk this request can be quickly accomodated!) our change to Cuddledown Bedding has been met with much enthusiasm! In fact, we now offer it for sale in our gift shop because people love it. Cuddledown is a small Maine owned company and we are delighted to be able to support them. I have it on my bed at home and recently splurged and bought some for the bed at our ski condo. In my opinion, bedding can make a huge difference in what kind of nights sleep you have! Hope to see you again at The Nonantum soon!
Happy New Year!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    222
    66
    32
    16
See reviews for
183
308
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Drewsville, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second Christmas Prelude weekend. Having attended the first "Fire & Ice" in 2010 we were excited to see what changes they had in store. We are happy to say that the improvements to the adventure left us wanting to return soon. The staff was upbeat and capable. The setting and the food delightful. Nonantum Resort and Kennebunkport will be on our wish list for years to come. Joe & Linda

Room Tip: Portside Lodge 3rd floor w/ Gas Fireplce. Cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi Joe and Linda:
Fire and Ice was an awesome way to end our season and it is great you were among the many happy folks we had celebrating with us that weekend! Our ice sculptures were really quite amazing and everyone seemed to love the food and the bonfires. It is fun for our staff to see so many people having such a great time. Were you able to join us for breakfast with Santa as well?Santa and Mrs Claus host breakfast on the Sunday after Fire and Ice and it is included with your room rate. This breakfast also includes a complimentary photo with the jolly old man himself and many couples and families use these photos for their Christmas cards!
If you are planning on coming next year you may want to consider making your reservations soon. Many folks have already reserved for next year and our "Ice Man" has promised Fire and Ice at The Nonantum in 2013 will be bigger and better than ever!
Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potlatch, Idaho, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice, clean hotel although the restaurant and pub were never open when we wanted to visit although I understand we visited during the slow season (November). Complimentary breakfast was very nice, excellent view and pleasant staff. One complaint I have is that they do require prepayment of the first night and my sister who was set to arrive on the same day as we were, had flight delays and couldn't get there until the following day (we live on the West coast). This was completely out of her control and the hotel manager still refused to credit the night's stay (he even said the hotel was full that night). There was also no exercise facility but lovely areas to walk given the weather cooperates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts. I am wondering if perhaps a mistake was made when you filled out the form as you gave us 3 5's, 2 4's and 1 3, and titled your entry as "Nice Place" yet gave us two stars over all. If this is a mistake, could you please let the good folks at Trip Advisor know as I am sure they would be willing to make this change!
As for your issue with your sister, I am very curious as to who she might have chatted with. Our General Manager is a woman, as am I, and we would be the two folks who would typically make this sort of decision. I also looked through our November arrivals from the West Coast and was unable to trace it back that way. If you or your sister want to contact me directly at jean@nonantumresort.com, I would be happy to revisit the situation!
Thanks again for taking time to write!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went for the Thanksgiving weekend to unwind a bit and get away from the big city mayhem. The room was exactly as described and the view was worth every penny with the gas fireplace to create a cozy atmosphere. The room was clean, and looked recently updated with hardwood floors and tile in the bathroom and entrance. We stayed in a queen/twin room with a water view and for a family of three it was perfect! The town of Kennebunkport was just as we remembered it, with the cute New England charm and friendly townsfolk.

Had some drinks at the Nonantum's Hickmans Pub and ate some dinner there and we must say it was cooked to perfection and was one of our highlighted meals of the trip. We are real food lovers so this says something for their kitchen! They were even kind enough to make something special for our son that was not on the menu to take back to the room so he could eat something. Great service! We would definitely return and highly recommend to anyone looking for a year round resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about your Thanksgiving week visit with us! My family also enjoys staying in the Queen/Twin rooms when we are staying with just one of our children.
Heckman's is a great spot to enjoy drinks, apps and dinner and we are currently expanding it so next year there will be room for additional diners. Our kitchen staff is wonderful about creating something for everyone (especially kids - almost all of our staff has children of their own so we know what traveling with kids can be like!) if our extensive menu fails to please.
Please come back and see us in the summertime. While the Nonantum Resort is beautiful any time of year, it is hard to compete with lounging in an Adirondack chair with your favorite cold drink, watching the boats sail by on a beautiful summer night!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay and we were very impressed. The view from our room was fabulous and it looked from the layout of the hotel that there were great views from many of the rooms. Extremely soft and comfortable bed. Small gas stove came in handy and gave a nice warm glow to the room. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was a full buffet. Delicious food. The staff were friendly. We were really impressed with our entire stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your Fabulous Review! It sounds like you had a great stay and took advantage of all that The Nonantum Resort has to offer. When the cool fall winds blow, the rooms with the gas fireplaces are a particular favorite of our returning guests. There is something very cozy about going to sleep on our awesome Cuddledown bedding with the fire light softly glowing!
November is also a wonderful time to take advantage of the many stores, bars and restaurants downtown. The pace is relaxed and our very friendly town loves to welcome new friends!
Hope to see you again soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkson Valley, MO
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Had the Lobster dinner it was great. Would have stayed longer as the town is just a short walk away. Lots to do and see. The wife and I had a great time wandering around the port of Kennebunkport. Many small shops with lost of shopping available. And it is just a short drive from Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I am so happy to hear you had a great visit to Maine! As you correctly point out, we are just a short drive from Boston, and there is a lot to see and do! Lobster dinners at The Nonantum are a de regor part of any visit to The Pine Tree State! One of my personal favorites is the Lobster Quesadilla on our pub menu. So yummy!
Please come back and see us again soon and thanks for taking time to share your thoughts!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent two nights in a King Room and were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel is switching the rooms to hardwood floors. This is great. For people sensitive to carpet issues, my wife and I appreciate that the resort is making this change. The extra large room had a refrigerator and an excellent Keurig coffee maker. Now, that's a real benefit for early risers needing the first cup of good coffee.

An even better cup of coffee was in the dining room where a great buffet breakfast was served as part of the room charge. The scalloped potatoes, sausage and bacon, scones, fruit, were all wonderful. It was a buffet breakfast, but definitely a notch above what you might expect.

Kennebunkport is a great summer time destination, but don't overlook it in the fall. The downtown shops and restaurants were great. Everything is actually within walking distance of the resort, which makes it convenient. The Bush compound is only another half mile in the other direction from town and is a must-do photo-op. The resort has special events such as the Fire and Ice weekend in early December that have become annual favorites. Its really a year-round destination.

Room Tip: The Portside building are all waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Nonantum Resort! I think the secret is out that Kennebunkport isn't just for summer any more!
I absolutely agree with you that even though it is a bit noisier, the new hard wood floors have made our rooms much prettier, far more sanitary and much more pleasant for allergy sufferers (like me!) Our guests also love the new in room Keurig coffee makers. It is so peaceful to be able to slip out of bed and enjoy that first cup of coffee while relaxing in your pajamas!
Our breakfasts are becoming very popular with locals as well as guests. The Nonantum Breakfast Buffet is a great start to a busy day!
Come and see us again soon! We really appreciate your business!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.