We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just a Summertime Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Jefferson MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Just a Summertime Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent two nights in a King Room and were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel is switching the rooms to hardwood floors. This is great. For people sensitive to carpet issues, my wife and I appreciate that the resort is making this change. The extra large room had a refrigerator and an excellent Keurig coffee maker. Now, that's a real benefit for early risers needing the first cup of good coffee.

An even better cup of coffee was in the dining room where a great buffet breakfast was served as part of the room charge. The scalloped potatoes, sausage and bacon, scones, fruit, were all wonderful. It was a buffet breakfast, but definitely a notch above what you might expect.

Kennebunkport is a great summer time destination, but don't overlook it in the fall. The downtown shops and restaurants were great. Everything is actually within walking distance of the resort, which makes it convenient. The Bush compound is only another half mile in the other direction from town and is a must-do photo-op. The resort has special events such as the Fire and Ice weekend in early December that have become annual favorites. Its really a year-round destination.

Room Tip: The Portside building are all waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Nonantum Resort! I think the secret is out that Kennebunkport isn't just for summer any more!
I absolutely agree with you that even though it is a bit noisier, the new hard wood floors have made our rooms much prettier, far more sanitary and much more pleasant for allergy sufferers (like me!) Our guests also love the new in room Keurig coffee makers. It is so peaceful to be able to slip out of bed and enjoy that first cup of coffee while relaxing in your pajamas!
Our breakfasts are becoming very popular with locals as well as guests. The Nonantum Breakfast Buffet is a great start to a busy day!
Come and see us again soon! We really appreciate your business!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    258
    82
    34
    19
See reviews for
233
375
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent the weekend at the Nonantum Resort. It more than lived up to our expectations! Clean, well decorated room with a gas fireplace. Friendly and efficient service. Wonderful breakfast buffet included on the weekends. My husband and I are already planning next Fall's getaway and are inviting friends to join us.

Room Tip: Shop around for the best deal. Ask the front desk to help you out on this. Ask for a room in the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Rosie:
Thanks so much for your lovely response! I am thrilled to hear you are coming back next year and bringing friends! So many of our guests are friends of other guests, that it ends up being like one big family at The Nonantum! We like to call it the Nonantum Family and are proud that this family just continues to get larger each season!
Our buffet breakfasts are always a hit, especially in the fall. Who can resist pumpkin pancakes or gingerbread waffles?
Thanks again for sharing the details of your stay!
Happy Thanksgiving!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a great hotel if you have small children. The arts and craft activities after breakfast are great for the 7 and under crowd. The pool is not big but the little kids really enjoy it. The location is great because you can walk to town easily. We have been coming here for many years. Now that the children are older, however, we're relocating to Ogunquit, ME.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I appreciate very much your great comments! Little children do have a wonderful time here at The Nonantum! However, I want you to know that big kids so as well! We have many activities that tween and teens enjoy such as lawn games, pool games (lemonaid pong is a particular favorite!) walking to and from town for an ice cream, and movie night on the lawn. For many of our tween and teen guests, that walk downtown is the first time they have ever been out on their own and we observe (and offer reassurances!) to many a nervous parent!
I hope you will consider bringing your growing family back for a visit soon!
Happy Thanksgiving!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travelled here - on a last minute weekend away & we were lucky to get one of the last rooms. It is very well situated just a few minutes walk from the pretty village of Kennebunkport & being on Ocean Avenue is on a lovely scenic drive that takes you past - Walker's Point, Cape Porpoise & Goose Rocks Beach.

The hotel itself is on the river. The room was comfortable & nicely decorated. Wifi was included in the room rate. We travelled with a baby so were in bed early & my only complaint was in our ground floor room we could hear everything overhead - walking, chairs scraping etc.

The breakfast in the morning was also very good.

All in all a nice hotel in a very nice area.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It has been an extremely busy fall here at The Nonantum! I am so happy we were able to squeeze you in when you wanted to visit!
I am sorry it was a bit noisy for your baby. We have pulled up rugs and put down hardwood floors which look nice and are far more sanitary - the bad news is that the sounds that used to be muffled by carpet and padding can now be bothersome. We do have white noise machines available to be delivered to your room and next season every room will have one! We did a little test marketing with them this year and found that people love them! They make many different sounds like the ocean, birds chirping, a foghorn etc! Something for every one!
Happy holidays and I hope you can come and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having read a number of reviews for this place on Trip Advisor my husband and I decided to stay at this resort (not my definition of a resort, more of a low grade boarding house)!We arrived in pouring rain and were kept waiting at reception while a complete mess up of another family's booking was resolved.We were asked not to use the lift without a member of staff and realised why when we saw it. It was something out of the arc and not fit for human consumption.Our room although clean enough was something out of the dark ages, the bathroom hideous and the so-called double bed barely big enough for 2 people.The carpets and rugs throughout the hotel were filthy and the smell of rotting fish (apparently dinner) permeated throughout.The staff although friendly enough, were indistinguishable from the guests in as much as they were all dressed casually, some in shorts!It was far too late for us to find another place to stay that evening so we did stay for the one night we were booked for but did not stay for either dinner or breakfast and made a very quick exit early the next morning, hopefully never to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear London Friend:
I am so very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us! It is always our goal to insure that all our guests have a wonderful time and I feel awful that your stay did not meet your expectations. We especially value our travelers from other countries and work extra hard to insure they receive a wonderful welcome.
Again my apologies that you had such an unhappy time in Kennebunkport.
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I recently travelled through New England visiting several places during the fall. We were enchanted with the scenery and the spectacular colors of the fall foliage. In Kennebunkport, on the Maine shore, we stayed at the Nonantum Resort Hotel, a lovely hotel, with gorgeous, spacious rooms. Our accommodation had a very New England style décor which I found charming and comfortable. We were welcomed with hot cider and freshly baked cookies and everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. In some ways it reminded me of Ireland with its warm welcoming in an old charming building and the mystic touch of fog hanging over the tranquil shore that made me feel so at home. Kennebunkport has a charm of its own with the quaint buildings in the village and its magnificent scenery. We walked from the hotel into the village in the late afternoon, it takes about 30 minutes, and the light was great for photography. Boats were being “winterized”, an expression we saw for the first time as it was written on several places offering their service to wrap small crafts to protect them from the severe cold of the coming winter. The shops were all decorated, as was the hotel, with the typical harvest time pumpkins and straw characters.
We had a lovely Maine lobster dinner at the hotel, the setting and the service were immaculate. We would love to go back to the Nonantum Resort Hotel and we highly recommend this beautiful hotel with its ever so charming staff.

Room Tip: The older building has only one very old and very small elevator operated by staff. Sometimes it tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Sylvia:
Thank you for making the long journey from Australia to visit us in Kennebunkport! Kennebunkport is beautiful all year round but I have to admit fall is special! It is so much fun to watch our little town kind of get tucked in for the winter. Maybe one day you can come back in the spring and watch us come out of hybernation! It is so exciting to see everyone after the long winter! Our little town is such a special place to visit and live!
Hopefully our paths will cross again!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I should start by saying that we were a family of 6 that did not have reservations until the last minute. They accommodated us on the 4th floor of the historic hotel. The room had a queen/and another room with 3 singles beds. They offered a roll-away at no charge to us. They also discounted the room rate as were were late and they were full. There was a wedding going on so, the bottom floors were filled with a band - fairly noisy. But, on the 4th floor we heard virtually nothing. The room was tastefully decorated in ocean motif which the kids loved. It's old but that added to the nostalgic feeling. The elevator is operated by staff and was something of interest. The buffet in the AM was very good... pumpkin french toast, muffins, eggs and bacon... fruit, yogurt - assortment of juices/coffee and milk. This was included in the stay. The location is along the main road into town and the property is a close walking distance to the beach. We were so grateful for their accommodations and felt the staff was pleasant and helpful. The evening bellman was very cordial as was the wait staff at breakfast. Thumbs up here... a nice place to stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.