We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nonantum Resort to your Saves list
Nonantum Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Meridian, ID
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Expensive but very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed in Kennebunkport heading up the Maine Coast and loved the town so much we wanted to stay on the way back down. We called Nonantum Resort and were lucky enough to get their last room...3 of us stayed in the room which had a WONDERFUL River view where we could watch the boats coming in and leaving the next morning to go out fishing. The trolley does stop in front for a ride to dock square, unfortunately it stops at 4 pm so we had to drive the mile plus back into town. The room was very nice and clean with a Keurig coffee machine and a little fireplace for the chillier months. The rate included breakfast which was very good. The ice machine did not work in our building so we did have to walk to the Main building for ice but that was no problem. We would probably stay here again if we could get the room a little cheaper. We understand there was a wedding taking place and wonder it that's why the rooms were almost $400 per night. Overall the place was nice but the rate was too high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    270
    85
    34
    20
See reviews for
244
412
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

What a dreadful place. We stayed in the main house in a "waterview" room on the 2nd floor. In reality for $400+ per night it's a tiny room (maybe 180 sq ft?) with a view of an expanse of asphalt roof with barely a glimpse of the water, and in dire need of renovation. The wallpaper appears to have gone up in 1984 with no thoughts of redecorating. The bed is just a mattress on a frame, no headboard or actual bed, plus it was poorly made when we first got to the room. The bathroom is so small it's
hard to maneuver inside of it. The trim around the tub is black with rot, and the fixtures are ancient.

The lobby of the hotel is nice enough, but the hallways to the room are reminiscent of the movie "The Shining" with the outdated busy carpeting and the neglected wallcoverings. Worst part is the stairwell to the 2nd floor which smells exactly like a barn on a warm day.

The location is very good with the town center just a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, in a double room with water view. The room had been renovated and was very nice, although the bathroom still looked a little tired. We loved the location and the old fashioned (but nice) feel to the place, for example the elevator is so old it needs a member of staff to operate it for you. I think it's a great place for older couples and families with younger children - they had activities such as Ice Cream making when we were there. It was relaxing to sit in the chairs by the river or by the pool, and its an easy walk into the village - the trolley bus also stops outside. Breakfast was not as good as some we encountered, but was fine with hot and cold selection, although we didn't eat in the restaurant for other meals so can't comment on them. We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Nonantum was such a lovely place to stay -- the view of the river was so peaceful. Everyone - wait staff, front desk clerks, hostesses, was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast served every day was the perfect start to the day. Next time we will remember to get a room in the Portside building OR bring less luggage!
Just love the location of this place -- !!

Room Tip: Very clean, and good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

As I picked the title for this review, I realized it how hard it will be to capture 'my perfect place' in words. I had never been to Maine before and decided on the Nonantum based on Trip Advisor reviews. Kennebunkport is God's country. The perfect balance of the sea and woods, in a quintessential New England Setting.

My husband and 2 young sons stayed in the Portside lodge on the ground level. We had a view of the water and a flat lawn in front of our sliding glass door. This was perfect for getting outside all day long, important when 2 boys need to run around. The Nonantum is not a fussy place, but it is classy. We have stayed in stuffy, fancy hotels with the boys and find ourselves hushing them all day. There was none of this stress at the Nonantum. The boys were able to run, kick a ball, play shuffleboard, swim and laugh like little boys do without issue. That being said, it a a great romantic getaway if that is what you are looking for. There were 2 weddings that took place during our stay. This didn't make the hotel feel overcrowded. But if romance is what you are looking for, you can find it here.

The staff is top notch. They had great recommendations and were very welcoming. The breakfast included in the hotel rate had something for everyone. 2 types of eggs (my husband has the italian eggs one morning and said they were the best he has ever had), pancakes, muffins, french toast, bacon and sausage, fruit, yogurt, cereal.... etc.

The room was clean and felt new. Very pretty. Although the resort is family friendly, we heard no loud noises from other people and slept well. The bathroom is small and perhaps the only downside to the Nonantum. But who spends that much time in the bathroom? With all the activity available, you won't even notice!

The hotel Dock is alive with waterfront activity, if you don't feel like participating pull up an adirondack chair and watch it unfold in front of you. Kayaks, paddle boards, fishing boat, kids activities, lawn games including croquet and shuffleboard, to name a few. We went on the Rugosa lobster boat tour. It was super! A great way to learn a little about the Maine Lobster industry and see the coastline from the water. It isn't to long, just the right amount of time. And it doesn't go very far from the Nonantum, so if you are worried about a rough ride, don't be!

The hotel is .7 miles from downtown Kennebunkport. A great way to get exercise in between lobster rolls. I walked every morning at 6am, perfectly safe and peaceful. If you choose to walk away from town, you can walk past Walker Point for a great view.

The Nonantum hosted the travel channel show 'food wars'. The famous 'Clam Shack faces off against Alison's in a lobster roll war. We tried both lobster rolls and had a ton of fun with it! Dinner at Alison's was well worth it. We took out from the Clam Shack (cash only) and ate back at the Nonantum picnic tables. Next time I go to the Clam Shack I am going to try the fried shrimp roll, looked amazing!!

On a recommendation from 2 staffers, we drove to cape porpoise to have dinner at The Ramp. The best meal we had! Get there early because the wait can be LONG.

We also made the trip to Orchard Beach, Do not go! It is touristy and expensive. You may even see Snooky from the jersey shore walk by. We left after an hour. I think it was the biggest vacation mistake I have ever made. Fortunately, we were back in Kennebunkport paradise in 35 minutes. 2 staffers tried to steer us away from Orchard Beach, but I was to stubborn to listen.

We LOVED Goose Rocks beach, cold water, but so fresh and clean. Neat sand bar. I caught 2 crabs bare handed and a few hermit crabs. I released them right away, but wanted the boys to see them. We also went to Kennebunk beach, great for small waves and a little boogie boarding, but don't expect big waves, we didn't see any.

In closing, The Nonantum is a spectacular place to vacation. Just perfect for me and my family. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in a number of places in New England in the summer and this was our least favourite. We stayed in the building which was separate from the main house. We had drab, tired rooms and bathrooms; lukewarm, unappetising breakfasts, and noise from adjoining rooms. The saving grace is location. It overlooks the river and there is a lovely beach within a few minutes walk. The town is bustling. We recommend The Hurricane restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just spent another week at the Nonantum. We love the family feel of this hotel. We have always stayed in the newer building. The staff is excellent. Breakfast is included and great. The children's activities are the best. Our daughter loves taking part in the crafts, nature walk, movie night and campfire. We will be back next year for number five.

Room Tip: We prefer the Portside building on the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kennebunkport
#1 Green Hotel in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Resort. The ambiance of a bygone era. Experience the Maine of yesterday on the picturesque shores of the Kennebunk River. Established in 1883, this enchanting Kennebunkport resort features elegantly appointed rooms, private baths, fine dining, heated pool, free WiFi, exceptional service. Scenic lobster boat and sailboat and sport fishing tours plus kayak rentals from our marina. On the trolley route. Victorian charm with contemporary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonantum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.