We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn Keepers Clearly not in the right business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inn Keepers Clearly not in the right business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When we arrived after a long travel and day of skiing, we were greeted by someone who first looked at her watch and then asked if she could help us. This woman was polite and attempted to be helpful finding a place to eat, but seemed like it was her first day on the job, not knowing where keys were and seemed flustered that they were out of cookies and on how everything worked in our room (the little gas fireplace could only be plugged into a certain outlet or the fuse would blow). After being shown our room in this big empty house, we asked if we could have a room with a jacuzzi tub... the 2 innkeepers and the receptionist all looked at us as if we were crazy and then sarcastically said "well ya, but it will cost ya extra!" The next morning at breakfast the innkeeper told the group of us at breakfast on more than one occasion how much she disliked the "business" of b+b's. She complained about other guests who asked for special dishes due to allergies and complained about having to be there early to serve breakfast.
The Inn was beautiful and clean, the food was delicious, but the hospitality was less than pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
As an innkeeper, one of the best things about each day is getting to meet new people and have the opportunity to make them feel welcome, relaxed, and, yes, a little bit pampered. But occasionally we encounter people who are disgruntled before they even set foot in our door, which is unfortunately the case here. These instances leave us to wonder if the couple had an argument in the car or were simply overtired and due for a good dinner, but we always make a special attempt to brighten their spirits. Because Kennebunkport is a quaint village and not a city, options for dining late in the evening can be limited, so when these visitors arrived at 9 pm, our front desk staffer did indeed check her watch - in an attempt to determine where she could recommend that they dine. These visitors also made their reservation through a travel website, not with the Maine Stay directly, and had selected the least expensive room on the property, which does not have a gas fireplace like many of our rooms and suites. However, an electric fireplace was recently added (which does utilize a designated electrical circuit) to bring extra ambience to those traveling on a budget. When they enquired about jacuzzi tubs, it became clear that they did not understand that each room had unique amenities, and as a result, a different rate. So was there a difference in price between our most simple room and our most luxurious suite? Yes, and that can sometimes be a challenge for traditional hotel-goers to embrace.

Often during breakfasts guests express their curiosity about innkeeping and how reality might differ from sitcoms and novels, which is something we're always happy to talk about, because that's when we can share some of our funniest stories! Now, there certainly are aspects that each of us dislike (like Walter hating laundry!), but the best part is having a team that so beautifully complements one another, enjoying the parts that others find challenging. Getting up each morning and socializing with fun new people over breakfast is the best start to a day, and it is a shame that this reviewer only saw the negative in that day's conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    63
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
363
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from a one night "Groupon" getaway weekend and it was wonderful. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. We drove in during a winter storm and Judi made sure we were immediately comfortable and seated by a fire. She then presented us with homemade cookies, tea and coffee. Our room was clean, cozy and relaxing. We stayed in Abbie's Retreat. The whirlpool tub was so relaxing and we enjoyed our cheese platter with cheese, crackers, biscotti and fruit. We enjoyed a lovely dinner at Gressini's and loved the beautiful winter wonderland all around us! Shopping at the outlets in Kittery and poking in the little shops in Kennebunkport rounded out our stay. So happy to have discovered this Inn and we plan to be back with our family in tow next time. Special thanks to Judi for all of the parenting advice!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can't believe that it has been a week since we left the Maine Stay Inn. We were supposed to arrive by 3:00 on Tuesday afternoon, February 11, 2013, but were delayed due to a water leak in our basement. When I called the Maine Stay Inn to inform them that we would be arriving about 6 that was not an issue at all. When we arrived in Kennebunkport, it was dark out, but the B&B had sufficient lighting outside. I walked up onto the front porch to the original doors of this beautiful home, built about 1860 as a private residence by a merchant sea captain named Melville H. Walker. The doors have the original starburst crystal glass windows, just stunning. When I walked inside & observed the ornate carved mantles & molding in the rooms, I was awestruck. It was as if I had walked back in time. I can certainly understand why this home was added to the National Register of Historical Places. I met Brian at the front desk & he was so helpful in making us feel invited & welcomed. He told us that breakfast would be served about 9:00 in the dining room and he went over the local map and area restaurant locations of Federal Jacks, Allisons & Bandaloop. Complimentary coffee & tea was available at any time in the reading room & we could help ourselves. Also, homemade chocolate chip cookies were on the table & I readily ate the cookie with the cup of tea that Brian had made me. He gave us a code for the front door security lock so if we were out late we could let ourselves in. We were led to our room located at the top of the winding stairs, room 17, newly renovated was like a garden room, bright & cheery with flowered wall paper. A plate of cheese, fruit & crackers with a bottle of chilled sparkling cider was delivered to us in our room. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub which we so enjoyed. What a perfect two day getaway for us. My husband enjoyed watching the tv as he layed upon the king sized bed which was so comfortable. I called him the "princess & the pea", he was so relaxed. In the morning we went downstairs after a very restful night, to have breakfast. Judi the owner of the B&B was so attentive to us along with being full of life & information about the inn. Breakfast was indeed gourmet and delicious both mornings. If I understood the history & background of the B&B, Judi & her husband Walter, I believe, are the 12th owners of the property since it was built over 150 years ago. During our breakfast we met a couple from Massachusetts & a couple from Rhode Island and so enjoyed the conversations at the table. The weather was beautiful, in the 30's during the day, plenty of sunshine. Lots of areas we could walk to. I can't say enough positive things about the Maine Stay Inn & the owners. We really enjoyed our stay & look forward to going back in the near future. I recommend to anyone, it is worth the stay. Judi & Walter, thank you for sharing your home with us & we will be back. Try not to work so hard, but because of your dedication & hard work, you have a "jewel" that so many people can enjoy and & actually relax in.

Room Tip: We were in Room 17, which is upstairs on the second floor at the back of the building on the left ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place, and the innkeepers, were amazing. I don't know if the reviewer "thewearytravelers" misunderstood or if improvements have been made since (and I can't talk on staying with a child), but the innkeepers make it abundantly clear that if you needed anything extra (coffee, tea, movies, books, suggestions, reservations, etc.) you need only ask. I'm a small-town southerner that's recently moved up north, and I can honestly say that the level of hospitality and the personalities of all of the staff made me feel like I was back home. The rooms were great, the food was superb, and the people were amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here mid 2012 and because we were traveling with a child we had to stay in a cottage. Ok, no biggie as I knew that going in but we also had to eat our breakfast in our room while others were eating on the porch. I can get with not eating in the main house if you're worried kids will bother others, and we knew ahead we couldn't eat inside, but really, can't sit on the porch!??

Loved having the Keurig in the room but with a limited supply of KCups that means if we had a cup of coffee in the evening then we only could have 1 cup in the morning. But the people who were eating inside or on the porch were getting unlimited coffee....as well as unlimited juice. We felt a little put off by the whole breakfast experience

Can't remember which cottage we stayed in, but it was nice, not too many complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am in Los Vegas at an inn keeping conference, it is the end of January and I am reading this just posted review about a stay during last summer. While we have not been able to serve breakfast on the front porch for months, I do remember the warm days where our guests could enjoy breakfast outside. We have tables for 2 just outside our dining room on the porch and this is often a favorite dining spot. We have larger tables in the backyard for larger families and for guests with small children. Highchairs are provided as needed in cottages and in the backyard. The backyard is also a favorite choice during our warm season.

We do not offer the porch or the dining room to guests with small children, as these areas cannot accommodate highchairs safely. Our breakfast service is rather formal and we also think the atmosphere is not appropriate for most small children. My families traveling with small children usually are thrilled to have their breakfast delivered to their door and frequently choose to eat outdoors on our picnic tables. I am surprised that these guests did not recognize this as an option. We love seeing children in bathing suits ready to take off for a day at the beach once their breakfast is finished. We have a 24-hour coffee and tea bar set in the main house and all guests are free at any time to refresh their personal supplies. All guests are given a code to the front door during check- in so even late at night they have easy access to more coffees and teas. We replenish coffees during our daily housekeeping. A simple request for more coffees to our housekeepers or a quick call to the front desk would have remedied their coffee needs.

We love having families here, and try our best to provide a family friendly set up. Our family suites all have microwaves, refrigerators and a nice dining area. We make extra efforts to provide kid friendly breakfast options and try to create an atmosphere that is friendly to all. I am sorry that we not successful in making this family feel welcome and at home on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in cottage 6 which had 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen, living room and bathroom. It was clean and the perfect size for our family of four. The kids stayed in a room that had 2 twin beds and our room had a queen bed. The kitchen had everything we needed to stay in and eat dinner, saving some money. The staff also offers to steam lobsters for you and provide you with the crackers and anything else you need. Breakfast was delivered to our cottage. The first day we had spinach and cheese crepes with cranberry bread, homefries, fresh fruit and orange juice. Day 2 we had a baked apple with granola and cinnamon inside. It came with a sugar cinnamon biscuit, sausage and fresh fruit again! It was amazing and delicious. I would go back there if they had a breakfast restaurant just to eat. They treated us extremely well because we originally booked cottage 1 which is only for 2 people. They kindly moved us to cottage 6 where we had enough room for all of us. We would denifinitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this place for our first anniversary (2003) and headed back this year. We rented one of the cottages this time. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a gas fireplace and heated floor in the bathroom (which also had a jacuzzi). The folks who checked us in were very helpful and gave us a couple recommendations. They delivered breakfast to the door and both days were amazing. One morning was carrot cake pancakes with some sort of cream cheese on the side, so good! The next morning was asian egg scramble in a wonton wrapper which was just as good. Great amenities all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.