We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Save Saved
You added The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Ranked #7 of 27 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Already planning to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place, and the innkeepers, were amazing. I don't know if the reviewer "thewearytravelers" misunderstood or if improvements have been made since (and I can't talk on staying with a child), but the innkeepers make it abundantly clear that if you needed anything extra (coffee, tea, movies, books, suggestions, reservations, etc.) you need only ask. I'm a small-town southerner that's recently moved up north, and I can honestly say that the level of hospitality and the personalities of all of the staff made me feel like I was back home. The rooms were great, the food was superb, and the people were amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    60
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
81
316
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here mid 2012 and because we were traveling with a child we had to stay in a cottage. Ok, no biggie as I knew that going in but we also had to eat our breakfast in our room while others were eating on the porch. I can get with not eating in the main house if you're worried kids will bother others, and we knew ahead we couldn't eat inside, but really, can't sit on the porch!??

Loved having the Keurig in the room but with a limited supply of KCups that means if we had a cup of coffee in the evening then we only could have 1 cup in the morning. But the people who were eating inside or on the porch were getting unlimited coffee....as well as unlimited juice. We felt a little put off by the whole breakfast experience

Can't remember which cottage we stayed in, but it was nice, not too many complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am in Los Vegas at an inn keeping conference, it is the end of January and I am reading this just posted review about a stay during last summer. While we have not been able to serve breakfast on the front porch for months, I do remember the warm days where our guests could enjoy breakfast outside. We have tables for 2 just outside our dining room on the porch and this is often a favorite dining spot. We have larger tables in the backyard for larger families and for guests with small children. Highchairs are provided as needed in cottages and in the backyard. The backyard is also a favorite choice during our warm season.

We do not offer the porch or the dining room to guests with small children, as these areas cannot accommodate highchairs safely. Our breakfast service is rather formal and we also think the atmosphere is not appropriate for most small children. My families traveling with small children usually are thrilled to have their breakfast delivered to their door and frequently choose to eat outdoors on our picnic tables. I am surprised that these guests did not recognize this as an option. We love seeing children in bathing suits ready to take off for a day at the beach once their breakfast is finished. We have a 24-hour coffee and tea bar set in the main house and all guests are free at any time to refresh their personal supplies. All guests are given a code to the front door during check- in so even late at night they have easy access to more coffees and teas. We replenish coffees during our daily housekeeping. A simple request for more coffees to our housekeepers or a quick call to the front desk would have remedied their coffee needs.

We love having families here, and try our best to provide a family friendly set up. Our family suites all have microwaves, refrigerators and a nice dining area. We make extra efforts to provide kid friendly breakfast options and try to create an atmosphere that is friendly to all. I am sorry that we not successful in making this family feel welcome and at home on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in cottage 6 which had 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen, living room and bathroom. It was clean and the perfect size for our family of four. The kids stayed in a room that had 2 twin beds and our room had a queen bed. The kitchen had everything we needed to stay in and eat dinner, saving some money. The staff also offers to steam lobsters for you and provide you with the crackers and anything else you need. Breakfast was delivered to our cottage. The first day we had spinach and cheese crepes with cranberry bread, homefries, fresh fruit and orange juice. Day 2 we had a baked apple with granola and cinnamon inside. It came with a sugar cinnamon biscuit, sausage and fresh fruit again! It was amazing and delicious. I would go back there if they had a breakfast restaurant just to eat. They treated us extremely well because we originally booked cottage 1 which is only for 2 people. They kindly moved us to cottage 6 where we had enough room for all of us. We would denifinitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this place for our first anniversary (2003) and headed back this year. We rented one of the cottages this time. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a gas fireplace and heated floor in the bathroom (which also had a jacuzzi). The folks who checked us in were very helpful and gave us a couple recommendations. They delivered breakfast to the door and both days were amazing. One morning was carrot cake pancakes with some sort of cream cheese on the side, so good! The next morning was asian egg scramble in a wonton wrapper which was just as good. Great amenities all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I just got home from a 2 night stay in cottage 3. When we first got there Duke helped us at check in. He gave us a map of the area and many helpful recommendations for dinner. The room was lovely and extremely clean, which is very very important to us when we go anywhere. There was a beautiful electric (or gas?) fireplace, huge whirlpool tub, and a king comfortable bed. They brought breakfast right to our room in the morning in a basket (how cute!) where we ate at the small bistro table in the room. The location is excellent- less than a mile to dock square with lots of shops and restaurants. Overall, we were very pleased and can't wait to go back. Many thanks to the owners and staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: Get breakfast delivered to your room...it feels like gourmet room service but it's already built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We try to make a visit to Maine Stay Inn an annual trip, but missed 2012, walking in the door this weekend and seeing Judy and Walter made me realize how much I enjoy this Inn. From Judy's sitting down with us and helping us decide on dinner reservations, and I will add we have never been steered wrong. I find this inn, warm and cozy and for us full of friendly faces that we have seen before. As always we stay in the cottages and they are again, warm inviting and most importantly, relaxing and romantic. The breakfasts are also just abolutely amazing, something I would expect in a high end resturant. I can't wait to return for yet another trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Maine Stay Inn. We stayed in Cottage #5 which was beautiful. Perfect for a winter weekend with a fireplace, large jacuzzi tub, heated floor in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and so nice to have it delivered to your cottage. The Inn is close enough to walk to shops and restaurants in Dock Square. Just overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of gracious accommodations within the quiet Historic District. Choose the romance of one of the Victorian Inn rooms or the spacious privacy of one of the cottage suites, beautifully appointed with a variety of discerning travelers in mind. Relax in a Romantic Cottage suite with fireplace and whirlpool spa tub, or a charming English Country Cottage suite, perfect for families traveling with children or girlfriend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
The Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.