We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25% on Your Stay
Ranked #6 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this place for our first anniversary (2003) and headed back this year. We rented one of the cottages this time. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a gas fireplace and heated floor in the bathroom (which also had a jacuzzi). The folks who checked us in were very helpful and gave us a couple recommendations. They delivered breakfast to the door and both days were amazing. One morning was carrot cake pancakes with some sort of cream cheese on the side, so good! The next morning was asian egg scramble in a wonton wrapper which was just as good. Great amenities all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    63
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
363
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I just got home from a 2 night stay in cottage 3. When we first got there Duke helped us at check in. He gave us a map of the area and many helpful recommendations for dinner. The room was lovely and extremely clean, which is very very important to us when we go anywhere. There was a beautiful electric (or gas?) fireplace, huge whirlpool tub, and a king comfortable bed. They brought breakfast right to our room in the morning in a basket (how cute!) where we ate at the small bistro table in the room. The location is excellent- less than a mile to dock square with lots of shops and restaurants. Overall, we were very pleased and can't wait to go back. Many thanks to the owners and staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: Get breakfast delivered to your room...it feels like gourmet room service but it's already built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We try to make a visit to Maine Stay Inn an annual trip, but missed 2012, walking in the door this weekend and seeing Judy and Walter made me realize how much I enjoy this Inn. From Judy's sitting down with us and helping us decide on dinner reservations, and I will add we have never been steered wrong. I find this inn, warm and cozy and for us full of friendly faces that we have seen before. As always we stay in the cottages and they are again, warm inviting and most importantly, relaxing and romantic. The breakfasts are also just abolutely amazing, something I would expect in a high end resturant. I can't wait to return for yet another trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Maine Stay Inn. We stayed in Cottage #5 which was beautiful. Perfect for a winter weekend with a fireplace, large jacuzzi tub, heated floor in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and so nice to have it delivered to your cottage. The Inn is close enough to walk to shops and restaurants in Dock Square. Just overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice and clean room, mattress very uncomfortable, old foam pillows on the bed, breakfast was average. In overall could be a very nice place to stay, but there is a lack of attention in details to make this place special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
This review truly blindsided us, because these guests sought us out during their stay to compliment the quality of our accommodations. During our interactions, I learned that these guests worked for a luxury European hotel corporation, where they often stayed. These hotels staff bellhops, doormen, 24hr concierge, valet parking, and offer professional restaurant facilities. Guests receive daily fresh flowers, twice daily housekeeping services (and upon request), turndown, and full room service. As a bed and breakfast, this is not something we strive for. While we are extremely proud to offer luxurious accommodations, attention to detail, and the best customer service possible, we are not and will never be the full-service hotel these guests require.
The suite these guests chose is our most luxurious, and had just undergone a massive renovation. A comparable suite at any of the hotels these guests frequent often run more than four times the cost of ours, but we strive to provide affordable luxury. During the renovation, everything, including the mattress and pillows were replaced. We do not use foam pillows anywhere, but instead purchase StaminaFibre pillows, which are a washable, hypoallergenic down replacement. However, we keep feather pillows on hand, available upon request, which is indicated clearly in each guest room. Mattresses are a very personal preference, so we intentionally offer a variety of levels of firmness. Had they indicated a preference or expressed dissatisfaction earlier, we would have happily moved them to a different room.
In retrospect, we believe that part of their dissatisfaction stems from our breakfast service, because while it can be delivered to their door, they do not receive wait service inside their room. But while this review is saddening, we certainly recognize that these guests arrived with expectations that cannot be met by a bed and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I wanted to find a nice holiday retreat experiencing Maine for the first time. Upon doing considerable research, we were so fortunate to discover Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. Judi and Walter are wonderful innkeepers providing a variety of accommodations within walking distance to charming Kennebunkport. We elected to stay in one of the cozy cottages, although we will be tempted to try one of the lovely rooms in the main house next time. Either way, one thing we will definitely look forward to are the "to die for" breakfasts. It was great to have this time of the day to interact with other guests and share experiences and ideas. The accommodations, atmosphere, and overall hospitality were excellent and we greatly appreciate the effort Judi, Walter, and the entire Maine Stay staff provides at this Kennebunkport jewel. Thank you for adding wonderful memories to our first holiday visit to Maine!

Room Tip: The cottages are great for privacy, while the main house rooms are nice for the main house amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Maine Stay Inn was an excellent choice for our stay in Kennebunkport for the Christmas Prelude. You can't get a better place to stay with awesome food, hosts and ambiance. Their breakfasts are to die for delicious, rooms warm and inviting and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.