We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit another wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Save Saved
You added The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 off a Two Night Stay
Ranked #7 of 27 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another visit another wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We try to make a visit to Maine Stay Inn an annual trip, but missed 2012, walking in the door this weekend and seeing Judy and Walter made me realize how much I enjoy this Inn. From Judy's sitting down with us and helping us decide on dinner reservations, and I will add we have never been steered wrong. I find this inn, warm and cozy and for us full of friendly faces that we have seen before. As always we stay in the cottages and they are again, warm inviting and most importantly, relaxing and romantic. The breakfasts are also just abolutely amazing, something I would expect in a high end resturant. I can't wait to return for yet another trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    55
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
75
302
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Maine Stay Inn. We stayed in Cottage #5 which was beautiful. Perfect for a winter weekend with a fireplace, large jacuzzi tub, heated floor in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and so nice to have it delivered to your cottage. The Inn is close enough to walk to shops and restaurants in Dock Square. Just overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice and clean room, mattress very uncomfortable, old foam pillows on the bed, breakfast was average. In overall could be a very nice place to stay, but there is a lack of attention in details to make this place special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
This review truly blindsided us, because these guests sought us out during their stay to compliment the quality of our accommodations. During our interactions, I learned that these guests worked for a luxury European hotel corporation, where they often stayed. These hotels staff bellhops, doormen, 24hr concierge, valet parking, and offer professional restaurant facilities. Guests receive daily fresh flowers, twice daily housekeeping services (and upon request), turndown, and full room service. As a bed and breakfast, this is not something we strive for. While we are extremely proud to offer luxurious accommodations, attention to detail, and the best customer service possible, we are not and will never be the full-service hotel these guests require.
The suite these guests chose is our most luxurious, and had just undergone a massive renovation. A comparable suite at any of the hotels these guests frequent often run more than four times the cost of ours, but we strive to provide affordable luxury. During the renovation, everything, including the mattress and pillows were replaced. We do not use foam pillows anywhere, but instead purchase StaminaFibre pillows, which are a washable, hypoallergenic down replacement. However, we keep feather pillows on hand, available upon request, which is indicated clearly in each guest room. Mattresses are a very personal preference, so we intentionally offer a variety of levels of firmness. Had they indicated a preference or expressed dissatisfaction earlier, we would have happily moved them to a different room.
In retrospect, we believe that part of their dissatisfaction stems from our breakfast service, because while it can be delivered to their door, they do not receive wait service inside their room. But while this review is saddening, we certainly recognize that these guests arrived with expectations that cannot be met by a bed and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I wanted to find a nice holiday retreat experiencing Maine for the first time. Upon doing considerable research, we were so fortunate to discover Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. Judi and Walter are wonderful innkeepers providing a variety of accommodations within walking distance to charming Kennebunkport. We elected to stay in one of the cozy cottages, although we will be tempted to try one of the lovely rooms in the main house next time. Either way, one thing we will definitely look forward to are the "to die for" breakfasts. It was great to have this time of the day to interact with other guests and share experiences and ideas. The accommodations, atmosphere, and overall hospitality were excellent and we greatly appreciate the effort Judi, Walter, and the entire Maine Stay staff provides at this Kennebunkport jewel. Thank you for adding wonderful memories to our first holiday visit to Maine!

Room Tip: The cottages are great for privacy, while the main house rooms are nice for the main house amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Maine Stay Inn was an excellent choice for our stay in Kennebunkport for the Christmas Prelude. You can't get a better place to stay with awesome food, hosts and ambiance. Their breakfasts are to die for delicious, rooms warm and inviting and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are repeat guests with Walter and Judi. This was our first year to come for Prelude. We have stayed in different rooms on the property this time we were in the newly remodeled #12! Two room suite with the best bathroom and shower you will find anywhere. The guests are a lot of fun! We spent 2 hours in a great conversation with several on Saturday night. We look forward to coming in the summer of 2013.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just left our stay at the inn - the place was very nice but don't stay cottage 10 - beds are as hard as rocks!!!! Other than that - very nice Inn. As for the Owner - she can use a little sweetness to her personality if you going to be in this line of business. Also - as a suggestion - I would display a menu of your typical breakfast - so people can say to you if this works or not. The breakfast did not work for me . A comment was made to our group - I wish people would have told them what like for breakfast - not very nice in her tone. So if you don't want devil foods pancakes .... email in. I was fine just having the coffee but could have live with out the comments. So the next day we made sure we left early - did not want a repeat performance. Can only speak for us - which we did leave saying - this was a lovely place but too bad the not so friendly inn keeper ways put the damper on our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
My daughter’s favorite book growing up was Alexander and the Terrible Horrible, no Good, very bad Day. Saturday I felt like Alexander. The inn was fuller than it had ever been. All sofa beds and aero beds were used. 47 guests for breakfast, the most ever. I planned a festive Christmas menu especially for the young at heart. Homemade devils food pancakes with hardly any sugar, topped with homemade raspberry sauce, mint leaves and a dab of whipped cream, scrambled eggs, sausage. The plates looked gorgeous and festive. As I was serving guests began announcing their food allergies and dietary issues to lactose, eggs, wheat, and meat. We request this information 7 times during the booking process and make it clear we need advance warning. I was very frustrated that I could not handle the last minute dietary issues. Apparently I was unable to hide the stress of the situation from my guests and did not appear like my normal warm self. I also apologize for not posting our menu in advance, we normally do this, but it simply got overlooked by my front desk staff with the overly busy weekend. Thanks for reminding us how important this is.

Your comment about our new mattresses being too hard is unfortunate. Mattresses are a very personal thing, some like them hard and some like them soft, but I can only say we do not ever have old and tired mattresses on this property.

It is too bad that I put a damper on your stay, as I had put tremendous effort into making Christmas Prelude special for you and all of our guests. A negative comment such as yours is taken seriously. Thank you for letting me know I did not fulfill your expectations. Constructive comments help me become a better innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of gracious accommodations within the quiet Historic District. Choose the romance of one of the Victorian Inn rooms or the spacious privacy of one of the cottage suites, beautifully appointed with a variety of discerning travelers in mind. Relax in a Romantic Cottage suite with fireplace and whirlpool spa tub, or a charming English Country Cottage suite, perfect for families traveling with children or girlfriend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
The Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.