We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Prelude at The Maine Stay Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Third night Free!
Ranked #4 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Christmas Prelude at The Maine Stay Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Maine Stay Inn was an excellent choice for our stay in Kennebunkport for the Christmas Prelude. You can't get a better place to stay with awesome food, hosts and ambiance. Their breakfasts are to die for delicious, rooms warm and inviting and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are repeat guests with Walter and Judi. This was our first year to come for Prelude. We have stayed in different rooms on the property this time we were in the newly remodeled #12! Two room suite with the best bathroom and shower you will find anywhere. The guests are a lot of fun! We spent 2 hours in a great conversation with several on Saturday night. We look forward to coming in the summer of 2013.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just left our stay at the inn - the place was very nice but don't stay cottage 10 - beds are as hard as rocks!!!! Other than that - very nice Inn. As for the Owner - she can use a little sweetness to her personality if you going to be in this line of business. Also - as a suggestion - I would display a menu of your typical breakfast - so people can say to you if this works or not. The breakfast did not work for me . A comment was made to our group - I wish people would have told them what like for breakfast - not very nice in her tone. So if you don't want devil foods pancakes .... email in. I was fine just having the coffee but could have live with out the comments. So the next day we made sure we left early - did not want a repeat performance. Can only speak for us - which we did leave saying - this was a lovely place but too bad the not so friendly inn keeper ways put the damper on our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Took430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

How refreshing it was to meet fellow travelers over a delicious (and may I add gluten free) breakfast at the Maine Stay Inn. The innkeepers were more than accommodating to the dietary needs of their guests. In today's hurried world there was no rush to leave the table as Judi and Walter attended to their guests - even sitting down for a bit to chat. You never know who you will meet or what you will learn and the conversation at the table was lively - everyone had a happy story to tell. Fall is a wonderful time to visit Kennebunkport - walks are quiet and brisk. I wish I had more time to spend at this happy place - I am enticed to return to have more Kennebunkport discoveries as there is so much to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riptide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weekend at the Main Stay Inn in Kennebunkport. We loved everything about the inn, from the warm, cozy atmosphere in the comfortable room to the old-word charm of the house itself. The innkeepers, Judi and Walter, were so accommodating and helpful with everything, including dinner suggestions, that they added greatly to that charm. The gourmet breakfasts were a delicious way to start our Saturday and Sunday. All of it, combined with great weather, made for a perfect weekend. We shall return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loneranger1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to Kennebunkport for over 10 years. We have tried many Inns....this year we fell in love with the Maine Stay. We stayed in both cottage 3 and 7. Cottage 7 was perfect, spacious, comfortable bed, fireplace, and large jacquizzi tub. Breakfast was delivered to our cottage each morning, how nice to wake up to breakfast being served. The food was original and delicious. Walt and staff did an amazing job, always warm, inviting, and helpful. They even helped my husband order gorgeous flowers. We will back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My cousin and I recently stayed in Cottage #10 at the Maine Stay Inn. Judi and Walter made our stay truly great. They are so very accommodating and informative about places to see and restaurants. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. The cottage we stayed in was clean and bright and fit our needs just right. The Inn is located in a great spot and close by to shops and restaurants. I have stayed in several bed and breakfast inns and I have to say it ranks at the top. Thanks to Judi and Walt for making us feel welcome, like we had known them for a long time rather than just meeting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulfcoastgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn
1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn
#1 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing