We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Save Saved
You added The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Ranked #7 of 27 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
united states
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

How refreshing it was to meet fellow travelers over a delicious (and may I add gluten free) breakfast at the Maine Stay Inn. The innkeepers were more than accommodating to the dietary needs of their guests. In today's hurried world there was no rush to leave the table as Judi and Walter attended to their guests - even sitting down for a bit to chat. You never know who you will meet or what you will learn and the conversation at the table was lively - everyone had a happy story to tell. Fall is a wonderful time to visit Kennebunkport - walks are quiet and brisk. I wish I had more time to spend at this happy place - I am enticed to return to have more Kennebunkport discoveries as there is so much to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    60
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
81
316
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weekend at the Main Stay Inn in Kennebunkport. We loved everything about the inn, from the warm, cozy atmosphere in the comfortable room to the old-word charm of the house itself. The innkeepers, Judi and Walter, were so accommodating and helpful with everything, including dinner suggestions, that they added greatly to that charm. The gourmet breakfasts were a delicious way to start our Saturday and Sunday. All of it, combined with great weather, made for a perfect weekend. We shall return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to Kennebunkport for over 10 years. We have tried many Inns....this year we fell in love with the Maine Stay. We stayed in both cottage 3 and 7. Cottage 7 was perfect, spacious, comfortable bed, fireplace, and large jacquizzi tub. Breakfast was delivered to our cottage each morning, how nice to wake up to breakfast being served. The food was original and delicious. Walt and staff did an amazing job, always warm, inviting, and helpful. They even helped my husband order gorgeous flowers. We will back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My cousin and I recently stayed in Cottage #10 at the Maine Stay Inn. Judi and Walter made our stay truly great. They are so very accommodating and informative about places to see and restaurants. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. The cottage we stayed in was clean and bright and fit our needs just right. The Inn is located in a great spot and close by to shops and restaurants. I have stayed in several bed and breakfast inns and I have to say it ranks at the top. Thanks to Judi and Walt for making us feel welcome, like we had known them for a long time rather than just meeting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our one day stay at Maine Stay turned into four when we discovered how wonderful it was and that it would be a good center to travel from for our excursions up and down the Maine Coast. The cottages give you the feeling of privacy at the same time you can enjoy the ambiance of a beautiful old home renovated as a B &B, meeting and sharing stories with other guests.

And Judi and Walter revel in the attention. They are wonderful hosts and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The home cooked extraordinary breakfasts were a treat. Judi even asked everyone's opinions as she continues to add her own decorative touches to the Inn. What a great surprise to find such a delightful place to stay. Thank you Judi, Walter and our greeter, Brian.

Especially loved that amazing French Toast Judi........ Patty and Pete

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't find a pool, but couldn't undo that section. We loved staying in the cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay with Judy and Wal. We were in cottage number 9, which has a lovely
large room and a kitchenette. The bathroom is a bit small but fine for our needs. The bed was wonderful. I had the best nights sleep of our trip. The breakfasts were all different and we were introduced to food we hadn't tasted before. All were delicious. Judy and Wal were very welcoming and they run a great b& b. We would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone visiting Kennebunkport. The Inn is ideally located, just a short walk from the town centre and all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here over the Columbus Day weekend and were treated like royalty. The cottage was fantastic, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Judi and Walter made us feel like we had been guests forever. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of gracious accommodations within the quiet Historic District. Choose the romance of one of the Victorian Inn rooms or the spacious privacy of one of the cottage suites, beautifully appointed with a variety of discerning travelers in mind. Relax in a Romantic Cottage suite with fireplace and whirlpool spa tub, or a charming English Country Cottage suite, perfect for families traveling with children or girlfriend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
The Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.