We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our one day stay at Maine Stay turned into four when we discovered how wonderful it was and that it would be a good center to travel from for our excursions up and down the Maine Coast. The cottages give you the feeling of privacy at the same time you can enjoy the ambiance of a beautiful old home renovated as a B &B, meeting and sharing stories with other guests.

And Judi and Walter revel in the attention. They are wonderful hosts and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The home cooked extraordinary breakfasts were a treat. Judi even asked everyone's opinions as she continues to add her own decorative touches to the Inn. What a great surprise to find such a delightful place to stay. Thank you Judi, Walter and our greeter, Brian.

Especially loved that amazing French Toast Judi........ Patty and Pete

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't find a pool, but couldn't undo that section. We loved staying in the cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    61
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
83
342
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay with Judy and Wal. We were in cottage number 9, which has a lovely
large room and a kitchenette. The bathroom is a bit small but fine for our needs. The bed was wonderful. I had the best nights sleep of our trip. The breakfasts were all different and we were introduced to food we hadn't tasted before. All were delicious. Judy and Wal were very welcoming and they run a great b& b. We would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone visiting Kennebunkport. The Inn is ideally located, just a short walk from the town centre and all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here over the Columbus Day weekend and were treated like royalty. The cottage was fantastic, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Judi and Walter made us feel like we had been guests forever. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've been here many times before and each visit confirms the reputation for unsurpassed hospitality and for providing a lovely, spotless, comfortable environment that our hosts, Judi and Walter Hauer, have earned. The breakfasts continue to amaze and satisfy. One can tell by the breakfast table conviviality that everyone is having a grand time. The amenities are first rate.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
How wonderful to have repeat guests compliment us like this. We will continue to work hard to improve the property and to cook interesting and different entrees. Thanks so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The inn was charming, the location is perfect for exploring Kennebunkport. Judi and Walter were gracious hosts and went out of their way to recommend places to visit and help us find them. We would never have seen Porpoise Cove or Ogunquit without their advice. They made us feel welcome and seemed to genuinely enjoy having us. It was fun lingering over breakfast, talking to guests from across the US and overseas. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and efficient. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neptune beach, fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely stay. Nice touches. Excellent breakfast. Owners/staff very efficient and helpful. Location great, in residential area, short walk to small downtown area. My only negative is that our room had no end tables as the bed was in the middle of two doors--one to a small closet and the other to the bath (and the shower was very tiny). This room, although I don't recall the number, is okay for an overnight stay, but definitely not for anything longer. Most of the other guests were repeat customers, which says a lot about this place. In fact, it was referred to us by someone who was a previous guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
The guest is correct, room #15 is our tiniest room on the property with a very small bath. This is my least expensive room and there is no room for bedside tables. We have only larger rooms and no other rooms without bedside tables and lamps. We hope these guests will return and try one of our larger upgraded rooms. So glad they enjoyed the rest of their experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had initially booked 2 nights in room 18. Not only was the room very homey and comfortable but so was the main house. Loved the fact that home made cookies were fresh out of the oven as we were checking in. We got great advice about places to eat and things to do. The location from town is easy walking distance. The other guests at breakfast each morning were such a pleasure to talk too. We were enjoying our stay and the local area so much we decided to inquire about staying another night. We then stayed in renovated cottage #5. It was so perfect that once we came back from our day's activities, we elected to stay in for the evening and just enjoy the space. The bed couldn't be more comfortable and the fireplace was awesome. We would love to come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.