We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed, only 1 negative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maine Stay Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #6 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
neptune beach, fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not disappointed, only 1 negative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely stay. Nice touches. Excellent breakfast. Owners/staff very efficient and helpful. Location great, in residential area, short walk to small downtown area. My only negative is that our room had no end tables as the bed was in the middle of two doors--one to a small closet and the other to the bath (and the shower was very tiny). This room, although I don't recall the number, is okay for an overnight stay, but definitely not for anything longer. Most of the other guests were repeat customers, which says a lot about this place. In fact, it was referred to us by someone who was a previous guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
The guest is correct, room #15 is our tiniest room on the property with a very small bath. This is my least expensive room and there is no room for bedside tables. We have only larger rooms and no other rooms without bedside tables and lamps. We hope these guests will return and try one of our larger upgraded rooms. So glad they enjoyed the rest of their experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    63
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
357
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had initially booked 2 nights in room 18. Not only was the room very homey and comfortable but so was the main house. Loved the fact that home made cookies were fresh out of the oven as we were checking in. We got great advice about places to eat and things to do. The location from town is easy walking distance. The other guests at breakfast each morning were such a pleasure to talk too. We were enjoying our stay and the local area so much we decided to inquire about staying another night. We then stayed in renovated cottage #5. It was so perfect that once we came back from our day's activities, we elected to stay in for the evening and just enjoy the space. The bed couldn't be more comfortable and the fireplace was awesome. We would love to come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Only stayed here for 1 night- should have stayed for more! We had the Garden Room with our own decking and the weather was suitable to sit on the loungers Walt brought out for us!The bedroom was exactly as shown in the picture and very comfortable. The breakfast was great - we enjoyed sitting with the other guests and chatting with them and Judi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here over Columbus Day weekend, in family cottage #6, which was perfect. It’s two bedrooms plus a small living room and kitchen – it gave everyone the privacy while still allowing us to enjoy a family holiday together.

The owners are very nice and helpful. Actually, they’re much more than nice and helpful – they’re very warm and accommodating. We’ve been to Kennebunkport before so we knew our way around but they were still very helpful and provided us with a lot of good information without hovering. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, so much so that I asked for two recipes.

We left with a very contented feeling about a nice weekend together, which is really all one could ask for and more.

I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Family cottage #6 was perfect if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Our accommodations were lovely in the main building, very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding. The innkeepers, Judi and Walt, were friendly and accommodating.
We would definitely come back and would highly recommend it to our friends. Pete and Joan

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have to agree with the review further down. I was so disappointed. On entering the room, there was a terrible musty smell and everything felt damp, even the bedding. The owner's social skills left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was just plain odd. Couldn't wait to leave the place. This was the worst hotel of our whole New England trip.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere - really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kportinnkeepers, Owner at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
One of the things guests really look forward to when visiting Kennebunkport is opening all the windows and breathing in the fresh, ocean air. That works wonderfully, until they leave for the day and unexpected showers roll in. Under all the wrong conditions, you've got rain and mist blowing directly into a room with wool carpets and 100% cotton bedding. Left all day with a "Do not disturb" sign on the door so we can't remedy the issue, it is possible to return to a cold, damp room (and what is worse than a wet wool rug?). We do our very best to be accommodating and available, with long office hours and ways to reach us by phone and text anytime, we hope that a guest would let us know if they experience some kind of issue. If we couldn't remedy it quickly, we would have moved them. However, if we aren't aware of the issue until after they leave, we can't really fix it. Unfortunately, that is exactly what happened here.

We also take great pride in providing inventive, gourmet breakfasts. The goal is to serve something you won't get at home, but because some folks like to stick with more standard fare, we always have homemade granola, a selection of cold cereals, and fresh fruit available. Furthermore, we give visitors six or more opportunities to let us know if they have any special dietary needs that we should work around (which we are more than happy to accommodate), but if they don't tell us, we can't prepare for it. Sometimes we come off as unaccommodating when people ask for "just some toast", but since we bake all of our breads, if it wasn't already on the menu for that morning, we really don't have any. Let us know in advance that you like toast, and we'll happily oblige!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I don't know what else a B&B could offer over what the Maine Stay Inn provides. It is in a great location within walking distance to the town. The husband & wife owners could not be more accomodating and professional. The rooms are romantic with bedding and linens fit to be featured in Better Homes & Garden. First class breakfast on top of everything else. Only regret is that we did not stay longer. Compliments from Gary & Janice

Room Tip: The Captain Walker suite was romantic and flawless. From what we could see the cottages may be a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maine Stay Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Stay Inn and Cottages

Address: 34 Maine St, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maine Stay Inn and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Kennebunkport bed and breakfast inn offering a variety of luxurious accommodations within the quiet Historic District, just steps from the Maine Coast. Choose a meticulously restored room or suite in the Victorian Main House, or a spacious cottage suite, each beautifully appointed for discerning travelers. Romantic Cottage Suites offer plush beds, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, and many accommodations offer flexible floor plans for larger parties and girlfriends getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Maine Stay Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Hotel Kennebunkport
Maine Stay Inn And Cottages Kennebunkport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.