We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Woods Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Woods Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Woods Resort
71 Dyke Road, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Tolland, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed for a short weekend in GRB. Very nice place for great value and location! It was quiet and had to pool to ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Traveled to this area to attend a wedding in Biddeford Pool area. Ocean Woods Resort is close to Kennebunkport, Kennebunk, Biddeford and other small communities. Resort is clean, comfortable and reasonable rates. The owner, Kathleen, is very welcoming and helpful. A good-sized continental breakfast is included, with restaurant fare in the summer (PJ's). Has Internet service at a common-use computer, but it's very slow and needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The resort itself needs some updating. The rooms were clean, comfortable and adequate for our purposes. We were there to enjoy Goose Rocks Beach, a .5 mile walk to the beach. The location was great. The owners were quite pleasant and friendly.

Included in the price of the room was a continental breakfast each morning which suited us. There is a game room which was well stocked, an outdoor pool that needed work. Poolside chairs were sorely in need of replacement . 2 of the plastic chairs were broken down and a bit hazardous.

On another note, I would suggest making reservations during the week, since the resort tends to host weddings on the weekend. We arrived on a weekend and were somewhat uncomfortable as it felt as though we were crashing someone's party .let alone the noise factor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just returned from a family vacation at Ocean Woods Resort where we stayed in the spacious upper four bedroom apartment overlooking the sparkling pool. There is also a two bedroom apartment downstairs, near the pool, where we have stayed for several years. If a family is looking for a 'home away from home', both of these apartments are very comfortable and convenient to all amenities offered . They are very clean and well equipped with beach towels, washer/dryer, televisions, large pots for family clam bakes, and grills. The lower apartment has a deck overlooking the nicely groomed grounds and the pond, which has been the setting for many lovely weddings. Upstairs we particularly enjoyed the screen porch for meals and just hanging out and relaxing.

On site is PJ's Pub, a cozy bar that has an expanded menu serving hamburgers to seafood dinners, while watching the latest game on television. There is also an attached deck where you can enjoy a beverage, a meal and quiet conversation.

Intimate weddings have been held on the deck, as well as much larger weddings are held under a tent on the grounds. We have observed several weddings of various sizes held at Ocean Woods over the years and they have been just lovely, and it is so convenient for the wedding party and guests to all be together in one area before and after the ceremony.

Kathleen and Peter and their friendly staff are most helpful and attentive to all their guests needs. They continue to make improvements constantly, and are very knowledgeable about the Maine area attractions, such as, restaurants, golf courses, riding stables, fishing and lobster boat tours, medical facilities, shopping outlets, and the best beaches.

The rooms are spacious, clean, bright and inviting with queen and king size beds, tastefully furnished and decorated, with romantic gas stoves in some rooms for those special occasions. Besides lovely weddings, Kathleen looks forward to hosting events for family/school reunions, group rallies, clubs, and business retreats. The off seasons are absolutely beautiful at Ocean Woods especially for couples looking for a place to relax after the rigors of summer, or to put away the winter clothes and enjoy a spring walk on Goose Rocks Beach! Give Kathleen and Peter a call soon. They look forward to meeting new friends and enjoy hearing from old friends who return frequently to Ocean Woods. We cannot to wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayer's Cliff, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

What a wonderful gem we found in Kennebunkport. 4 days of total bliss! What more could we ask for? Lovely clean (impeccable)rooms beautifully decorated,everything at our disposable..beach towels, beach chairs, 2 mins. from the beach. Our breakfasts were definitely worthy of mention...all the necessary food groups to get us started on our way. We can't say enough about the family atmosphere where were treated with the utmost care & respect in making our holiday a memorable one. Thanks to the staff for their professionalism, glad to see it still exists. The price was RIGHT too!! We shall return again & again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our room was quiet and clean, wonderful view onto a pond and garden. Access to the pool, spa. Towels and chairs available for the beach. 2 minutes drive to Goose rocks beach. Great continental breakfast, all together excellent service from staff. A relaxing, easy-going atmosphere. you could not ask for more..........!! ooops not to forget,speaking from experience, very reasonable price for the area....

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ground floor facing the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Ocean Woods in July and loved it. It is a very comfortable hotel with great service in a beautiful location near the beach. The room was well decorated, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were new. It was an extra large King sized room with plenty of space. One of the better rooms I have ever stayed in. Goose Rocks Beach is a fantantic sandy beach -- we enjoyed our strolls along the beach and the kids loved playing in the soft waves and tide pools. Breakfast was included and was very good. We also ate in the hotel our first night and enjoyed Maine lobster and cocktails on the deck. Very relaxing!

There was also a wedding there during our stay under a tent. It looked like a beautiful site for a wedding. We loved our whole expereience and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The King suites are very nice --lots of space and comforts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Woods Resort

Address: 71 Dyke Road, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Woods Hotel Kennebunkport
Goose Rocks
Ocean Woods Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.