We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentine's Day at the Green Heron!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
The Edgewater Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   126 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 2578, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046 (Formerly Green Heron Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine's Day at the Green Heron!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

My fiancee and I spent our Valentine's Day at the Green Heron. This is our second visit to the inn. After our visit, we didn't think the inn could get any better because it was already perfect. But Dan and Tony seem to have done the impossible, that is to improve on perfection.

I think what is different this time is the fact that they already knew us, and from the moment we stepped through the door, it was walking like into an old friend's home. They are just the best hosts one could expect to have, and they helped make our Valentine's Day the best ever. Of course the always wonderful gourmet breakfast and the afternoon cookies and sweets and the fantastic view from our room (we had the Portland Head room) helped somewhat, but it's really the warmth and graciousness of our hosts that make the stays at the Green Heron Inn such a treat! We can't wait for our next visit to the Green Heron!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Mass.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2005

My husband, myself, & our two daughters enjoyed our stay immensely. We were warmly welcomed & showed around the facility. Afternoon refreshments were available & very delicious. Other guests were friendly & talkative. The breakfast was so nicely presented, we almost did not want to eat it. Thankfully we ate a most tasty breakfast, & repeated same on the next morning. Dan & Tony were very pleasant & accomodating, Making us sure we will return next Dec. or maybee even sooner if schedules allow. A great start to the Holiday season.
Smith Family Brockton, Mass.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

We spent 4 lovely off season days at the Green Heron Inn, over the long Thanksgiving weekend, and were treated like royalty. Tony and Dan are excellent hosts, and Tony is quite a chef. The breakfasts were just amazing - always unique, homemade, fresh, and delicious. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. We stayed in the Shannon Cottage, which is perfect for the five of us; three silly humans, and two Golden Retrievers. The off season price was a great value, especially considering what you would pay for such a gourmet breakfast. I would recommend this Inn to anyone, and will return again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

We stayed at the Green Heron for three nights in their Shannon Cottage. A benefit of the cottage is that you can easily accommodate a family group, whilst still allowing some privacy, because there are separate ground and upper floor areas, each with beds, bath/shower, somewhere to sit, cable TV, etc. Downstairs there is also a little kitchen area.

The inn is located near a river inlet, offering good views and somewhere to relax. It's on Ocean Avenue, about a mile from Kennebunkport centre - easy walking distance with decent places to eat - e.g. the Arundel Wharf. I thought that being close to the road would cause noise problems, but it didn't and there is parking outside.

In the main building is a pleasant eating area, with views over the river. They also provide a sitting area with a good book and DVD library - good insurance for any days when the weather is delaying your plans.

What really distinguished this place were:
- Dan - the Proprieter. He could write the bestseller on how to make people feel welcome and looked after.
- The food, provided by Tony - especially the breakfasts - the best of the holiday. Not only is there a continental style arrangement of granola, flakes, etc, there is a daily changing menu of cooked-to-order food - you will not need lunch ! On top of that, if the offerings of the day don't suit, there are some default options such as bacon, egg, sausage, etc. Bottom-line - I am sure they will do all they reasonably can to accommodate you. And they didn't mind when, unable to eat our cakes and muffins at breakfast, we wrapped them up to eat later during our travels later in the day. If you are around in the afternoons, there is a plentiful provision of cookies, cakes, tea/coffee, etc.

We would happily have stayed here much longer. If we were to return, unusually for us who like to try new stuff, we'd probably stay here again. I might opt for one of the main rooms, rather than the cottage, but I'd be pretty confident of an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

Make yourself at home was the welcome from Tony and Dan and for once we felt they really meant it. It was all too easy to slip into a comfortable relaxed stay here. Great attention to detail, comfortable well-decorated rooms, home cooked refreshments and gorgeous breakfasts combine to make this a place to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Green Heron Inn. It definitely lives up to the great reviews it has received on Trip Advisor. Dan and Tony are great. The food is delicious. The Inn is charming and in a wonderful location. Walk a few steps out the door to the left and you are at a nice little sandy beach where we found sand dollars at low tide. A few steps further and you are on Parsons Way -a great oceanside walk that takes you to great views of Walker's Point. Walk a few steps out the door to the right and you are at a nice little restaurant where we enjoyed dining on the patio. We loved getting ice cream from their take out window during the day and eating it behind the Green Heron while sitting on chairs overlooking the cove. About a mile further down the road is Dock Square.

We visited the inn with our two children. We stayed in Room 42 which is great for small families. It had a queen and a daybed (which my daughter loved) and Dan gave us a rollaway we put out at night for our son. This room is kind of isolated from other guestrooms so we didn't have to worry too much about disturbing other guests. Shannon Cottage would be a great option for families needing more room.

The Green Heron Inn is a great place to stay. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

We found this little gem on TripAdvisor, and boy were we glad we relied on the other glowing reviews and came here! Everything the other reviews say is true, and Dan and Tony simply exceeded our expectations. From the warm greetings upon our arrival, the afternoon snacks (several different kinds of cookies, bars, etc., all homemade and all wonderful!) and tea and coffee and lemonade, to the comfortable and spotless rooms, we were made immediately feel at home. Then came breakfast time.... my husband had the crab benedict which was just out of this world, and Tony's cherry vanilla stuffed french toast was the best breakfast I've had in a long, long time! This was in addition to the banana foster crepe that they served as an opening dish, and the amazing cottage-cheese homemade biscuits fresh out of the oven.
The best that the Green Heron offers could be summarized in three simple words: comfort, hospitality, and breakfast! There is simply nothing else like this place in Maine!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Address: 126 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 2578, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046 (Formerly Green Heron Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Inn, formerly known as The Green Heron Inn one of Kennebunkport's historic Inns, is located on Ocean Avenue, in one of the town's most charming neighborhoods. It sits adjacent to an estuarine cove, near the mouth of the Kennebunk river and just around the bend from President George Bush's vacation home on Walkers Point. Overnight stays include a 3-course breakfast in the "on the edge" restaurant from eight to noon. Homemade cookies, cake, infused water, coffee and tea from two to four. Ice, bottle water and truffles for turn-down service nightly.The Inn was built in the early 1900's as a boarding house that provided shelter and breakfast for weary travelers. Twelve guest rooms including a cove side cottage, thirty-two seat restaurant. Its location, which combines the beautiful surrounding of the Kennebunk River and the convenience of its proximity to all major Kennebunkport attractions, contributed to its popularity from its early days. That tradition continues today. While relaxation at The Edgewater Inn is an art in itself, activities abound in the surrounding area. Guests enjoy rejuvenating walks along the rocky shore, enjoy the sun on the sandy beach, explore the numerous galleries and shops in Dock Square, watch the wildlife and the birds as they gather near the water next to the inn, or spend a sunny day on one of the nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.