We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
The Edgewater Inn
126 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 2578, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046 (Formerly Green Heron Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Washington, D.C
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have to start by saying that the breakfast here was spectacular -- I heard that it was once a restaurant and that the breakfast was packed; the owners should return to that business.

The rooms and public space in this small inn were clean, but in desperate need of updating. Our room was the worst -- in the very front of the house, with the only window right out onto the front porch. From morning until night, we had absolutely no privacy from guests sitting on the small porch, who literally seemed like they were in our small room with us. While I like dogs and was not put off by the idea of dogs being welcome, a number of small dogs took over the place, constantly barking. We came to Kennebunkport to go to the beach -- but the innkeepers knew little about the beaches in the area, and did not have the necessary parking passes (which many other places provide to guests).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenheron2758, Owner at The Edgewater Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
We do have 3 rooms that are pet-friendly and we do not allow the pets in the public area. But we feel that the pets should at least be allowed to sit on the front porch with their owners. With the escalating prices of the beach passes, and in order to keep our prices competitive, we no longer offer free beach passes, nor do we advertise that we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saxtons River, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Hello,

We stayed this weekend with my in-laws who had never been to Maine. This inn is true Kennebunkport Maine. It is not overly romantic or Victorian which my husband was grateful for, while I still enjoyed the charm of a seaside cottage. Relaxed and friendly the Innkeepers were very accommodating and attentive. Being a dog-friendly property I will be the first to say these rooms are ultra clean and comfortably appointed. This is a wonderful choice for families and many rooms have walk in showers which worked out well for my in-laws who couldn't do stairs and big bathtubs. Over all I would rate this 4 stars and my family and I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We came for the first time during the hottest week of the summer. Everything was cool, calm, and collected at The Green Heron. Food, service, fellow travellers, everyone and everything was lovely. We are going back again this summer! It was really a great place to take our doxie for the first time. He was made to feel very welcome and the room we had went right out to the garden where he could do his business. All around it was perfect and located near everything we wanted to do or see. Only wish there were some restaurants and maybe a whale watch that Fenway could go to with us. I highly recommend Dan and Tony's place to everyone, with or without pets.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

My dad and I spent 2 nights in the little "Shannon" cottage.
It was just perfect.
Lots of space, comfortable beds, quiet little cottage and a wonderful host.
Dan was very helpful, and the food was a real gourmet treat. We kept forgetting to do it but could have come back in the afternoon for tea and fresh baked pastries.
The grounds were well kept, it was convenient to everywhere, but quiet to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Green Heron was a lovely surprise! We had a separate cottage on the property which was perfect for our family of 4, and our hosts were very welcoming and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were wonderful, and they have many, many, many return guests - always a good sign of great hospitality. The cozy, family atmosphere was wonderful and is so much more inviting than the 'grand' hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Overall had a great stay at this B&B. Nice and friendly innkeepers. The only downside for me (since I am a sensitive sleeper) was waking up every time anyone flushed the water in their room. It might be expected in older houses. Otherwise-highly recommended for friendliness, cleanliness, and good location!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Kennebunkport isn't huge, but it's very relaxing and certainly scenic .The Green Heron isn't right on the ocean, but it's only a 100 yard walk down the street to crashing waves and a piece of beach. And you do have a view of a small river and inlet right outside the Inn.

Breakfast was delicious each morning. Not award winning, but very solid and the owners are friendly. Seems to be a lot of return customers here, all of which love coming back. Rooms aren't luxurious but they are clean and comfortable, with a good sized shower and no drain problems like you sometimes run into at B&Bs.

One note - it is a bit noisy in the morning when people are waking up and breakfast is being prepared. Not unexpected in an older building.

All in all, a great place to visit and a place that we'd recommend! You won't be wowed, but you'll have a wonderful time. (Also, we ate at Allison's in Kennebunkport which was O.K., Federal Jack's which had a lively atmosphere and pretty decent food, and Pier 77 on Cape Porpoise which had nice views and good food. All recommended).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Address: 126 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 2578, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046 (Formerly Green Heron Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Inn, formerly known as The Green Heron Inn one of Kennebunkport's historic Inns, is located on Ocean Avenue, in one of the town's most charming neighborhoods. It sits adjacent to an estuarine cove, near the mouth of the Kennebunk river and just around the bend from President George Bush's vacation home on Walkers Point. Overnight stays include a 3-course breakfast in the "on the edge" restaurant from eight to noon. Homemade cookies, cake, infused water, coffee and tea from two to four. Ice, bottle water and truffles for turn-down service nightly.The Inn was built in the early 1900's as a boarding house that provided shelter and breakfast for weary travelers. Twelve guest rooms including a cove side cottage, thirty-two seat restaurant. Its location, which combines the beautiful surrounding of the Kennebunk River and the convenience of its proximity to all major Kennebunkport attractions, contributed to its popularity from its early days. That tradition continues today. While relaxation at The Edgewater Inn is an art in itself, activities abound in the surrounding area. Guests enjoy rejuvenating walks along the rocky shore, enjoy the sun on the sandy beach, explore the numerous galleries and shops in Dock Square, watch the wildlife and the birds as they gather near the water next to the inn, or spend a sunny day on one of the nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.