We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn in a beautiful area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Lord Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain Lord Mansion to your Saves list
Captain Lord Mansion
6 Pleasant Street, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-0800   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Weekender Package
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
North Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lovely Inn in a beautiful area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the CLM! The room was very clean, well-appointed and quiet. Breakfast was delicious, and the lively conversations with other guests at breakfast was a fun way to start the day. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. Our only concern was the very high bed in our room. It was a little too high for us seniors, but the staff did the best they could with trying to find an alternative. From now on, I will remember to ask about the bed. We loved this wonderful spot and will return sometime soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer, Thank you for your supportive review. Yes, many of our beds are original four-poster ones that are quite high. Although we provide step stools, some folks do find it difficult getting in and out of those beds. However, we also have many rooms which have lower beds; so, if a high bed is an issue, please be sure to inquire at the time of making your reservation. Bev and I work very hard to accommodate guest needs. Your innkeeepr, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    37
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
531
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at CLM. The B&B is centrally located near the center of town. We stayed in the Mousmam room and it was more than adequate in size and had a lovely bathroom. The staff were great. I would recommend CLM for a romantic relaxing weekend. The bed was comfortable, but maybe the best part of the CLM was the breakfast. My boyfriend and I haven't had a breakfast like that in a long time! Yogurt and granola, raspberry pancakes, lemon poppyseed muffins, maple sausage, cheese potatoes, and an assortment of pastries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Chicago, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleaesed that you found our breakfasts to be satisfying. Additionally, you mentioned the comfortable beds! Bev and I take great pride in the comfort of our beds! We purchase only the top-of-the-line mattresses and then add a 2" memory foam topper for extra comfort. We then use the most delicious sheets and pillow cases. We hope to see you again next year. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One stay after playing golf, very nice Inn, very clean and the breakfast the following morning was outstanding !
very short walk to Kennebunkport, shops and dining ! The staff is great,enjoyed the people we met during our short time there !

Room Tip: rooms facing the front entrance are quieter !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Beverly, MA, Thank you for your positive review. For golfers, we have 3 excellent courses nearby, including the famous Cape Arundel course which was George H.W. Bush's favorite. We hope to see you on a return visit to play golf at one of our courses. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When iy comes to B&B's Captain Lord's is at the top! Just a beautiful B&B, everything from the grounds, the rooms and every nook and cranny.
The staff was so very friendly. Our first trip to Kennebunkport but not our last for there or Captain Lord's.

The DeRenzo's

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room, we stayed in the Catcus Room, top floor but very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Elmira, Thank you for making a 7 hour drive to visit our B&B. We are ever so grateful that our inn met your expectations and "Thank you" for your positive review. We especially like your mention of our friendly staff! Your innkeeepr, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When I had made the booking on internet, I had seen the rooms and
I had choosen the one
I thought we would like best my husband and myself! It was even more than that. The room and bathroom were perfect, the staff so friendly, and the breakfast quite an unexpected but very enjoyable experience, sharing with other guests, meeting people from all other the world.
And we loved
Kennebunkport. Thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear France, Thank you for your positive review. We love it when we have international travelers who do a review. We are grateful you ended your trip with us. We hope we'll see you again. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful B&B, staff very friendly, treat you like you've been friends for many many years!!! Rooms beautifully appointed, antiques throughout building- most available for purchase...... Afternoon spirit with snack, afternoon cool drinks as well!!!!! Breakfasts family style are great to meet people from all over the world:) if you so desire, there are also tables for two, but I suggest be sociable. Staff very helpful with dinner spot choices, there are also discount vouchers and passes through the inn..... Bottom line, this place is unbelieveable!!!!! Rooms all have journal books so you can read past guests remarks and they all agree that the CLM is the one in Kennebunkport!! Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Massachusetts, Thank you for your wonderful review of our B&B. You covered the many aspects of why a visit to our inn is so relaxing, rewarding and overall enjoyable. We and our staff strive to offer that genuine hospitality which hopefully makes you want to return. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

23 years ago, my husband and I honeymooned at the Captain Lord Mansion. Returning after so long had us wondering if the Inn would live up to our memories of the place. I am happy to say it far exceeded our memories! Rick and Bev have continually improved the inn over the years they have owned it. It is pure luxury and comfort. We stayed in the Oriental Room and it featured a queen canopy bed, antique furniture, fireplace, whirlpool tub and a comfy seating area. Everywhere there are little touches that set the Captain Lord head and shoulders above other inns. From upscale amenities in the bathrooms (that have heated floors) to the chocolate wine and cookies set out for guests after dinner. The towles are huge and fluffy and the sheets are nice and soft. Breakfasts are wonderful here and regardless of what is being served, you have the option of soft boiled eggs, served in their own little egg cups. They did a wonderful job of accomodating my food allergies. The Inn is located a couple of blocks away from downtown Kennebunkport. Close enough to walk to everything, but far enough to be on a quiet street. On a pretty day there are several chairs in the garden where you can enjoy the weather, read a book or take a nap. This inn is very romantic and perfect for a couples get-away and worth the price.

Room Tip: We love the Oriental room on the ground floor. It is a corner room and quite large and well appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Kentucky, There are few inns or B&Bs in the United States where the innkeepers have such longevity as Bev and I. Therefore, when someone returns after so many years, it is especially meaningful to us when guests comment on the upgrades and fine-tuning we've made. We know that it is often disheartening to return to a place that hasn't kept pace with guest expectations. Thank you for mentioning all the little touches that you found on your recent visit and thank you for this nice review. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant Street, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-0800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Lord Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.