We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Lord Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain Lord Mansion to your Saves list
Captain Lord Mansion
6 Pleasant Street, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-0800   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Weekender Package
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We love our annual visit to The Captain Lord Mansion in Kennebunkport, Maine! Beautifully appointed rooms, an amazingly hospitable staff that treats you like family, delicious breakfasts prepared by Sue - all in the quaint town of Kennebunkport!!! This trip is always the highlight of our year (we've been making this pilgrimage for 20+ years). You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Trumbull, Thank you for your supportive review and your 20 plus years of visits! Bev and I are grateful for all our guests; however, some have become good friends over the years. That includes you! We know that your getaways to Kennebunkport are a very important part of your year. We are pelased to be a part of those escapes! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    37
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
531
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our first visit to Maine and a great place to start. The Inn was beautiful yet warm and inviting. The staff made us feel right at home. The accomodatioms made you want to spend the day at the inn after a delicious breakfast cooked by Holly rather than facing the hustle bustle of Kennebunkport. We did however, and fell inlove with the town and surrounding areas. It is beautiful and we could easily walk to town to shop and enjoy great food. Next time we'll stay longer than 2 nights.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Roanoke, Thank you for your very positive review of our inn and the village. It is a charming town and it is worth more than an overnight. There is much to do in the area. I hope that guests who read this review will consider longer stays and allow us to help them plan their daily activities.
Sincerely, Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our 1st time here but you can be sure it won't be our last. The rooms are large and so clean you feel like its your own home. The breakfasts were nothing short of scrumptious. You can easily walk to great restaurants and take bike rides to see the area. If you're ever in Kennebunkport, ME make sure to stay here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Pambaknj, Thank you for your glowing review. We sure appreciate your mentioning the inn's cleanliness and our tasty breakfasts. We have endeavored over the past year to tweak our breakfast offerings as well as the food presentation. The inn is always a work-in-progress! Sincerely, Rick Litchfield, your innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just spent a 4 night vacation at the Mansion. Last year did 3 nights (the more the better). Terrific attention to detail throughout the Mansion. Plus, they always arrange the weather to be perfect during our summer stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Baltimore, Thank you for your recent visit all the way from the mid-Atlantic area. Loyalty from such distances is especially meaningful to Bev and I. We know that you have many lodging choices along the way. Thanks for choosing us and we'll keep the inn in tip-top shape until your next visit. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 nite stay here for a wedding last year. It is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and accommodating to the guests. We definitely will go back. We stayed in the fall and plan on returning in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Haverhill, Thank you for your declaration of our standing among B&B's in Maine; we truly appreciate you effusive praise. We try hard to offer clean, comfortably decorated rooms that may be unmatched by many inns. Also, we hope that our friendly staff makes guest visits exceptional too! We do look forward to your next visit this fall. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It was our first visit to Captain Lord and Kennebunkport, and it won't be our last.
Everything about the inn is warm and inviting. The rooms are beautiful, the food great and you can't beat the warmth and hospitality of everyone involved with the place.
We definitely look forward to our next visit.

Linda Gordon and Bill Cattorini

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear South Carolina, We host many guests from the south and we love your accents and gentle ways. Thank you for your positive review. We try to offer inviting, warm and genuine hospitality. You Southerners really know about that kind of hospitality, so we are truly grateful to receive your encouraging comments! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just enjoyed our 15th stay at the Captain Lord Mansion; our first during the summertime. We have yet to find another B&B of its calibre from the attention to detail and quality throughout to the beauty and comfort of the inn and surroundings. It is a perfect location for exploring the town, the oceanfront and lovely drives to neighbouring areas. Bev and Rick ensure that continual updates keep the inn fresh and the staff all understand their philosophy of quality and make every effort to ensure a wonderful holiday. The linens seem new every time, the extras like having wine available at reasonable prices, the quiet atmosphere, well appointed rooms, homemade cookies for returning guests are all things we enjoyed. Kennebunkport is full of charm and there are so many excellent restaurants close by that it is difficult to make a choice on where to eat; needless to say, the desire to try them all will keep us coming back for future visits. I noted the comment below about the owners not being present during a visit. In our 15 stays, Bev and Rick were mostly very visible but on a few occasions were taking much needed R&R time. What we noticed though is how well the inn runs even when they are not there - a real tribute to their mangement style and excellent staff!

Room Tip: Every room is beautifully and uniquely decorated - you will want to keep coming back to try each one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Port Dover, Canada, Thank you for your glowing review. Your 15 visits have come over many years; thus, you have seen the many changes we've made to the inn over the past 34 years years. We truly appreciate your patronage and friendship. Thank you for pointing out the many things which we believe set us apart from the choices guests have among other B&B's when coming to Kennebunkport. We look forward to seeing you soon! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant Street, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-0800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Lord Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.