We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Peace and Love"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Lord Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain Lord Mansion to your Saves list
Captain Lord Mansion
6 Pleasant Street, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-0800   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Weekender Package
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Peace and Love"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Generally speaking, I am not a fan of B&Bs; honest austerity of a hotel, or even a motel, gives me comfort and peace of mind. However, our kids sent us this gift certificate, and we decided to give it a shot. One night stay in Captain Lord Mansion dramatically changed my perception. Granted, there was nothing dramatic about that night, or the day before, or the morning after (no pun intended), but this warm and fuzzy feeling that took over me when we stepped into the reception area, and then continued to our room, never dissipated, and, in a way, it's still here. Of course, I should mention excellent service, fabulous location (the ocean is just a short drive, or a long a pleasant walk away), great sheets (!), very inviting room, decorated with a great deal of taste, unbelievably therapeutic jetted tub, cute little shops in the area (again, not a fan, but most people are), wonderful, unpretentious food... But, first and foremost, it was a great escape: we visited a different time, not just a different place... Strongly recommend for those who's in a dire need of change of pace and peace of mind.

Sarah A.

Room Tip: The stairs might be a challenge for some folks; if you have a choice, try a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Massachusetts, Wow, we are thrilled that you found such peace and relaxation here at the Captain Lord Mansion. Bev and I have tried to create such an atmosphere, but one never fully knows if you are successful until a review like this. The time of year from late October to late May is what we call our "Serenity Season" which is much less crowded at the inn, as well as with reduced rates and many attractive packages. So, we hope guests will experience the kind of peace about which you write as well as dicovering a good value. Thank you again for this wonderful review. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    37
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
531
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked a quick two-day stay, in late October. The weather forecast was some light snow flurries. The first night, the forecast changed and we were looking at "flurries" about 1 - 2 feet deep (we actually had two feet in southern New England the next day). So, not wanting to get stuck in a major snow storm when we did not yet have our snow tires on, we canceled our second night. The staff understood and -- amazing as it may seem -- we only had to pay for the one night stay. Not even a cancellation fee. You don't find people like this very often. They understood the problem and helped us out.

So, we had a wonderful evening in a warm and cozy room in a lovely town and a lovely hotel, with a good breakfast the next morning. . . and we found out just how nice the people at Captain Lord Mansion can be. We would have loved to stay longer. I guess we'll just have to go back. . . although we'll watch the weather a bit more carefully.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear California, Yes, you experienced the only snow storm to hit Southern Maine this year (today is Jan 3)! Bev and I try to understand the needs of our guests concerning cancellations. Rarely do we keep a deposit. If we do, we most often give a credit for a future stay at the inn. Since you live so far away, it seemed the best to do was to allow you a non-confrontational departure while wishing you safe traveling. Thank you for this review and we look forward to another visit some time in the future. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion as an overnight getaway last week. Having high expectations, it was amazing how quickly we were completely swept away. Every whim, every idea of a perfect stay and how to be catered to became a reality. From perfect rooms with comfortable beds to Coffee and Hot Chocolate at 1am, for a stressed out couple in need of R&R it was so completely perfect that we cannot wait to go back. Bravo to the Inn Keepers and Staff, they do an incredible job not only preserving the mansion, but in making it home to the guests that stay there.

Room Tip: Any room there would be amazing, but if you have a floor or preference you can look online at all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mainiac, We are delighted that you and your husband found peace and relaxation during your brief getaway to the Captain Lord Mansion. We sincerely believe that our most important job as innkeepers is to try to adequately meet guest expectations. Every guest room has been decorated and furnished with that goal in mind. We are delighted that so many guests compliment us on the many little touches in each room. Yet, we have been alert to minimize the "clutter". Our motto is "We Make Enduring Memories" and we're glad we achieved that with you and your husband! Sincerely, your innkeeepr, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I always try to out-do each other every year for our anniversary. Last year, It was my turn to surprise him, and this year, he topped the charts with a 2 night stay at CLM. It was so wonderful and relaxing. The room, which was GORGEOUS, was the Merchant suite, and the bed was high, soft, and very comfortable. 2 Fireplaces adorn the room, one in the bedroom, and one in the jacuzzi room, where a generous 2 person jacuzzi will have anyone relaxing in minutes!! The heated marble floors in the bathroom, with a massage jet dual head shower is the PERFECT wake up call to get your morning started. After reading the paper that was slid discreetly under our door, it was time for breakfast. Each morning begins with a healthy multigrain cereal, and organic, fat free yogurt, and fresh fruit. Our entree one morning was mini belgian waffles, and the next it was the mansion stacker, consisting of a seasoned potato pancake, with smoked ham, and scrambled eggs, and a white cheddar cheese sauce. DELICIOUS!!

I invite anyone, and everyone to come and throw your troubles away at CLM. You won't regret it! The Staff pay particular attention to all of their guests, and it shows in the way the rooms are attended to. :-) We'll be back for sure!


K. Lambert

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mainer, Wow, what an enthusiastic and positive review. We are thankful for your review and so pleased that your escape was as fulfilling and romantic as you describe. It is hard to find a more romatic and luxurious room as the Captain's Merchant Suite. The king-size bed, heated marble floor, hydro-massage shower, double jetted tub in front of the gas fireplace, all make for one of the most remarkable rooms in any B&B in the area. Glad you were able to experience that room; it is usually booked many weeks in advance. Good planning on your husband's part! We look forward to your next getaway. Sincerely, Rick Litchfield, innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

2011 was the first trip to the CLM for my husband and I but it won't be the last. We enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendliness of the staff. Attention to detail was very apparent in our room from the extremely comfy sheets to the gas fireplace and exquisite bathroom. The breakfasts served at the CLM are exceptional. What a warm feeling to wake each morning to the smell of breakfast cooking downstairs. Not familiar with the area, my husband and I asked numerous questions of the staff on where to go, what to do and they were always happy to help us plan our activities. Our stay at the CLM was relaxing and enjoyable -- a REAL vacation. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Large corner rooms are roomy and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Florida, Thank you for your positive review and for mentioning all the aspects of service our staff provided. Also, we appreciate your mentioning the many other things which made your stay so enjoyable. We are grateful for so many discerning guests who clearly choose our inn after reading our TripAdvisor reviews. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I are huge kennebunkport fans! And if we need a getaway this is where we go! Sad and embarrassed to say that we always stayed next door! For our honeymoon we decided we wanted to try here! And thank god we did! Read reviews saw pictures and as pulling up as newly weds and walking in for the first time I couldn't believe it! If you think it looks great online you need to see it in real life! This place is gorgoues! Our room was amazing and I've never had better sleep in my life! The bed and huge jacuzzi tub is worth the stay alone! It was so clean and comfortable! The food was amazing! And Dave was not only kind and hallarious but again he makes an amazing breakfast! The afternoon treats and glog are another great add on! You don't even need to leave the mansion for a vacation! A spa. Amazing rooms.food.service.cute gift shop! I could go on and on! We were happy honeymooners! Can't wait to visit again! Will never make the mistake of staying anywhere else again! Worth every penny! Jamie LeBeau

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear "Happy Honeymooners" Well, we are thrilled that your decision to try us for your honeymoon was the right choice for you. Thanks for mentioning the many aspects of a stay at the Captain Lord Mansion which we believe clearly distiquish our B&B from other choices guests have. Glad you mentioned your comfortable night's sleep. We purchase top-of-the-line, extra-firm mattresses and add a 2" "memory foam" topper; that combination creates a soft-firm sensation. Also, we use top quality sheets that are so soft and comforting that many guests purchase them from our gift shop for home use. We look forward to hosting you on an anniversary or two! Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at CLM on a trip from Boston to Bar Harbor. There was no place on the trip that could equal CLM. The service was excellent. All needs met but no hovering. The rooms were very well appointed. Just wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Arkansas, Thanks for your positive review. Your comment about staying longer is one which we frequently hear. Hope potential guests reading these reviews make a decision to stay longer than one night. It is not enough to see Kennebunkport and to fully enjoy the Captain Lord Mansion. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant Street, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046-0800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Lord Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.