We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dog was treated even better than us in this upscale inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jefferds Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Jefferds Inn to your Saves list
Captain Jefferds Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Pearl Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct, Best Rate
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our dog was treated even better than us in this upscale inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Absolutely perfectly appointed inn circa early 1800's. Big comfy beds, delicious 3 course breakfast, walk to shops, water. And this dog friendly place had bowls & towels & a personalized dog biscuit. It is impossible to improve. We are definitely coming back this summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Aileyfan hi!

Yeah we can get a bit obsessive with the dogs, but when you have your own it becomes more than an accommodation to make to our guest. More and more people are traveling with their four legged friends as companions, for them we have pet-friendly rooms each with separate private entrances. Dogs are rewarded with their own personalized cookie, towels, sheets and dog bowls during their stay and although they cannot let their owners wander about Kennebunkport unattended while they cat-lounging in their room they're a very welcomed guest here at the Inn.

See you on your return trip this summer,

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    41
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
402
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived on New Year's Eve. The service was exceptional, very personal and friendly. The room was cozy, but we also spent a lot of time in the public spaces, on the porch and in the living room with a roaring fire in the fireplace. Breakfast was outstanding. The Inn is within walking distance of some great restaurants, and during a snowstorm one night we had the town all to ourselves.

Room Tip: We saw most rooms and liked them all. The pictures on the web give a representative impression of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
309Gert38 hi!

I really love the fresh fallen snow as the town turns to into a "post card perfect" image, happy that you chose us for a getaway. We find ourselves frequently sending extra pictures of rooms to guests before they have reserved, a picture gallery is a great idea. Thanks!

Hope you return to us soon,

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

From the moment I walked in the immaculate mansion I was downright impressed. Everything in this lovely appointed inn has been meticulously thought out through and through by the owners. The guest rooms and public rooms are beautifully furnished. The walls throughout have been painted with subtle faux finishes in a very tasteful and classic manner. I visited the inn with my small dog and checked into the New Hampshire suite located in the carriage house (which is at the rear of the mansion). I was able to park my car right in front of the carriage house for easy access. To reach the suite, I climbed a small exterior staircase and entered a lovely screened in summer porch. The New Hampshire and Vermont suite entrances open from inside the porch. (The porch has a seating area and a refrigerator). Upon opening my door, I stepped into a sitting room with a flat screen TV on left, reading chair on right and a twin bed for lounging or to use if you have an extra person. On the bed was a a homemade locally baked dog biscuit and a stack if towels specifically for Fido (excellent idea...towels for the dog...I haven't seen this anywhere else). There was a Kuerig machine and small cocktail bar/buffet. I stepped from the sitting room into a little hallway where I discovered two dog bowls to the right and to the left wad the bathroom with a corner shower (good size) plush, high quality bath towels, fine soap and gel. Stepping into the bedroom, the canopy bed is the focal point, and lovely. The bed was outfitted in high thread count linens, down comforter, coordinating extra blanket, and high quality pillows. I immediately went back to the towels provided for Fido and spread them across the duvet. I did the same with the loveseat since my small dog does like to rest on furniture.

The grounds are equally as beautiful with an English-style garden near the patio, and blooming flowers along the front and side entrances to the inn as well as on the green.

Breakfast was delicious. Two seating times were offered. (you might want to walk done 10 minutes before to choose where you would like to sit) We walked in 3 minutes before and everyone was already seated. I felt like we were late even though we weren't. I guess guests like to score their seats well before. It worked out for us anyway, because we like to be private and the only seats left that were available was a cozy table just for two by the window, and that is what we would have chosen anyway. In the middle of the dining room is a long dining table accommodating 10 people. And this is where everyone planted themselves well in advance. So if you want to chit chat with the other guests this is where you will want to sit. There is another table that seats four people. There was a mix of guests at the dining table: retired English couple, two retired American couples, a southern couple around 50, etc. The abundant breakfast was delicious: homemade scones, frittatas, freshly squeezed juice, full-bodied coffee, etc.

I wish I could have stayed one more night. I would suggest 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you like privacy with your own private entrance, ask for the New Hampshire or Vermont suites. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
TrueReview10, thank you for taking the time to write such a meticulously detailed review. I expect that it will be of great assistance to other travelers who are considering a stay with us.

As you have written we do like to cater to our four legged friends as much as we do our guests. With the exception of the newly renovated Garden Room, the Carriage house rooms are designated as pet-friendly and have their own entrances. Towels for dogs? Of course! as they tend to get especially wet romping at the beach. Good advice on breakfast, we sit family style and sometimes the family gets large, but with two seatings there is ample opportunity to have a chair at the main table.

Reading through your travel itinerary I see that you are a frequent visitor to Maine and that this is not your first time to Kennebunkport, I hope you return and choose to stay with us again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived at the Inn with our Havanese Paco - there was a dog cookie waiting with his name on it and dog bowls at the ready. The room, however, compared unfavorably with those of the previous two Inns where we had stayed prior to our arrival at the Jefferds. The decor was dated and tired. The bed needs replacing and the bathroom is cramped.

We were asked about dietary restrictions when we reserved the room. I have celiac disease so cannot eat glutin. The glutin- free breakfast was disappointing - it was glutin free but only in as much as the glutin was eliminated from the breakfast served other guests with the addition of a commercial glutin free muffin.

The room was very expensive perhaps setting up higher expectations.

Room Tip: Our room was not in the main house - it had its own entrance. Rooms in the main house must be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Susannegt, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Captain Jefferds Inn. We are very sorry that your stay was not to your liking. The Baxter room, where you stayed does have a small bathroom, and was purposefully redecorated in a Maine “camp” style which includes a custom made bed, and hand painted mural. I have shared your review with the staff and we have made a plan to address your other concerns with the accommodations for future guests.

We've always believed that we were successfully meeting the special dietary requirements of our guests, which as you experienced begins with the identifying those with special requirements at reservation. We serve homemade gluten-free muffins at breakfast as well as specialty teas, coffees and desserts throughout the day. Because of your breakfast experience, we are reviewing how to best communicate the appropriate expectation when accommodating special diets.

We hope you return to our Inn and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations. As you had probably read from our past reviews, your experience is not indicative of what we usually achieve and would be appreciative to be given that second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

When we pulled up to the inn, both my husband and I are were in awe of the beauty! That awe continued as we walked in the front door, Steve cordially greeted us while giving us a quick tour of the downstairs before showing us our room. We were in the Assisi room which is on the third floor. Gorgeous bathroom, great king size bed, fluffy thick towels and linens. The breakfast is amazing. You will not be disappointed with your stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally tasteful and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
dream530 hi! Thanks for the glowing remarks and wonderful review. Steve is a integral part of the experience here at the Captain Jefferds and as you experienced, at the ready to assist. The front entrance with its turned staircase and Grandfather clock nestled in the round is always a great wow for our visitors.

We hope that you find the time to return to us again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was an amazing anniversary/veterans day getaway! Thank you to the owners and the staff for making it a great weekend of connecting with fellow Vets from multiple eras! The food was fantastic and the hospitality was better!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
jstro31 hi, Happy Anniversary! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We have a regular special available to all Veterans as small way of saying "thank you" for your service. You and all our Veterans have given us a priceless gift with your services to the country. Thank you and please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowell,ma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed one night at Capt Jefferd's.Beautifull place,nice clean room and great innkeepers. Also,the location is excellent being it's not a long walk to Dock Square. We'll be back..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
ken02driver hi! Thanks for returning to Maine and choosing the Captain Jefferds out of all the possibilities in Kennebunkport. While we generally enjoy the company of our guests for 2 nights or more, we are happy to have been able to accommodate your brief stay. Please return soon and stay a while longer. As you know we're only a short trip from Boston which makes us the perfect getaway for a weekend of romance, fun and relaxation.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jefferds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.