We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Spirit lives at Captain Jefferds Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jefferds Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Pearl Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct, Best Rate
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Aloha Spirit lives at Captain Jefferds Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a wonderful experience to return to Kennebunkport after a 24 year absence and stay at this jewel of a bed and breakfast! The accommodations were wonderful and the ambience was palpable! Loved sitting by the fire on a chilly evening sipping hot mulled cider. Enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and chatting with the other guests at the large dining room table. And an assortment of fresh baked cookies which presented themselves each afternoon in the lovely sun room were a non-dieter's dream! I've carried these fond memories back to Hawaii and shared them with my friends, many of whom have never experienced the beauty of a New England fall.Thanks so much for making this part of our trip so memorable.

Aloha,

Marilyn S.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so pleased that you had wonderful, memorable experience with us. It is so nice to hear that the fireplace, the food, and the friendly conversations worked in tandem to create a relaxed and enjoyable ambiance. Our hope is that guests will find the inn to be an ideal place to unwind by offering them comfortable spaces and little touches to make them feel appreciated. Thank you so much for your lovely review and for sharing your experience! We are always so grateful when guests love their stay enough to want to spread the word. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kennebunkport!

Warm regards, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    41
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
402
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Recently in Kennebunkport to see old friends, we stayed at the Captain Jefferds Inn for one night with another couple. The inn, situated on a lovely park, is so pleasant, with very large, quiet rooms and lovely furnishings. The three course seated breakfast was delicious and, while bountiful, did not leave you feeling overly fed because everything was so light and "fluffy." Am not sure if this is pricey for the area as our friends were returning guests, but well worth the treat of staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it is wonderful to know that you had a delightful stay! We are quite fortunate to abut the beautiful village green and are surrounded by lovely historic homes, which creates a picturesque, peaceful setting. It is nice to hear that you found breakfast to be delicious and comfortably filling. We certainly aim to provide interesting meals that strike the right balance between tasty and hearty. We appreciate that your friends encouraged you to give us a try. The highest compliments we can receive are to have guests return or to recommend us to others. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again sometime. Perhaps the joint visit will become a tradition!

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived early for our stay at Captain Jefferds. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomidating. They suggested a restaurant for lunch and, also, bicycles to ride to see the sights. The home and gardens are meticulously cared for. The bedding is amazing! The baked goods, tea and warm cider in the sunroom were wonderful. The breakfast was not only delicious but so nice to sit at the dining room table meet some of the other guests. We wish we could have stayed for a longer time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is truly gratifying to have guests state that they wish they could have stayed longer! We are so happy that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed so many elements of the experience. We are always excited to share tips about all of the wonderful things to see and do in the area as we hope that our guests grow to love the area as much as we do. Thank you so much for your kind words, it is lovely to know that you appreciated the inn inside and out. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay the next time your travels bring you to Kennebunkport!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A beautiful property near local events. The bed was a little high but expected in old houses. Breakfast was divine! Nice to eat with other guests at the same table. Afternoon cookies were a hit! Wish we had a little more time to spend.

Room Tip: We found the bed in the Conn. room a little small being use to a king bed at home. The decore was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found breakfast to be a divine experience! It is such a compliment to have guests say that they wish they could have stayed longer. It makes us feel like our efforts to create a relaxing setting are successful. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope the next time you visit you have more time to linger.

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Capt. Jefferds Inn was THE definition of a 5+star B&B. Access to the property was so convenient, room appointments were finely detailed, food was wonderful & service hosts & especially Steve) was great. We've stayed in multiple B&B's but this was the absolute best!!

Room Tip: 1st floor Chatham was ideal for we "mature" travelers that don't do stairs well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
High praise indeed! It is wonderfully gratifying to have guests come away so excited by their stay. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and your enthusiastic review. We are thrilled that you appreciated so many aspects of your stay and that you had an enjoyable visit. We hope we have the opportunity to make your next visit to Kennebunkport just a special!

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved our stay at the Captain Jefferds - what a very special place! We stayed in the Arundel room, in which we were very comfortable. We loved the readily available refreshments, the delicious breakfasts, and meeting our fellow guests, a friendly and informative multi-national group, different every day. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this lovely accommodation and are so happy to have discovered it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendation! We are so pleased that you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed your room, the breakfasts, the afternoon treats, and mingling with the other guests. We are fortunate to have wonderfully interesting guests who come to us from all over the world. It is certainly one of the most exciting aspects of innkeeping. We are happy you discovered us too and hope to welcome you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Kennebunkport!

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Location is great !!! The staff was very friendly!!! The food is very Good but we are not A M people like to sleep in a little more.The Rooms are very nice. Lovely home!!!!! The only one thing I can say bad is please dont have your workers to start blowing the Yard at 7;50 in the A M.But Overall It was Lovely.

Room Tip: Cant say anything about the swimming Pool for I did not see one and there was not a fitness Center t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are happy to hear that you found the location ideal, the staff friendly, and the food enjoyable. Our goal is to create an atmosphere where guests feel right at home. We are glad that was your experience overall. We are sorry to hear that your morning was disturbed by workers on a neighboring property. Because we do not want to wake our guests, our policy is to never begin yard work before 9:00 AM. Thank you for sharing your experience and review. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jefferds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.