We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Save Saved
You added Captain Fairfield Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Fairfield Inn
8 Pleasant Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Add More Romance!
Ranked #5 of 27 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Oradell, NJ
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent Inn, so clean and beautiful. As we registered we received an iPad for the remainder of our stay. Breakfast was delicious and snack pantry outstanding. Wether you're in the mood for a cold beverage, coffee, tea or wine, it's all available. Also, great location to center of town. We have stayed there twice and will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you back again to Captain Fairfield Inn! Thank you for the kudos on our snack pantry, breakfasts and tech amenities. We are so glad you enjoyed your repeat visit and look forward to continuing to delight you upon future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    46
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
391
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a one night stay, but wish it could have been longer. The Inn Keeper was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was VERY quite and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious.

Located in a quite neighborhood conveniently located to restaurants and shops.

Would stay here again if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We wish you could have stayed longer, too! We look forward to welcoming you again when your schedule allows a longer getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This B&B was lovely in so many ways. The inn itself was beautifully decorated and maintained. We stayed in room #6 which was a good size and had a setee as well as a small table and chair. The aircon was a little noisy at times but it has been in a number of places we've stayed. The Wifi was excellent and reliable and the iPad they give you on checkin was full of places to see, eat and things to do. The innkeepers themselves were really nice and very helpful. Breakfasts were tasty and there was always fruit then a scone, popover or madelain provided followed by a choice of hot breakfast. While we were there we enjoyed waffles, crepes, scrambles egg with goats cheese and toast, omelate and sausage. The coffee at breakfast was great and they provided a lovely range of teas, cookies and coffee during the day and evening that guests could help themselves too. The honour bar for wines and beers was a good idea and the DVD library was a nice touch for rainy days or days when you just want to relax. We hope to return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is so nice to get great comments about our coffee. Roasted by Maine's own Coffee by Design, it is a staple here at Captain Fairfield Inn. We know how important great coffee is to a getaway! So glad you enjoyed our three-course breakfasts and made full use of our iPad with local information. We look forward to our next stay at our Kennebunkport boutique inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We decided to do a quick overnight for my birthday. Having been to the Attwater, the Newport, RI, Lark Hotel we thought we would try a Maine Lark. Captain Fairfield did not disappoint. Innkeepers, Alana & Jed were both so gracious and helpful. The Inn is an old federal style home with all the quaintness of traditional early Federal - center front entrance with stairs, beautiful wide plank hardwood floors and moldings mixed with the contemporary (super comfy beds, plush linens, modern bathrooms). There is a lovely sitting room if you need to get out of your room and the breakfast room is great for groups, singles or couples. I love the honor bar beer and wine kitchen area - even though we did not use it - it is nice to know you have the option of grabbing something anytime.

We stayed in the Breakwater room and it was quite spacious, loved the couch as an alternative sitting spot. You get lost in the oversized bed and I loved the gas fireplace even though it was too warm to use. The outdoor seating area with fire pit was lovely to look out onto. The Inn location is perfect - just outside of town and a block from the river. We walked all over and then sat in the beautiful garden just off the green by the Inn. Breakfast is 3-courses...alot of food but so worth it - we had delicious citrus salad, then homemade coffee cake (complete with candle for my birthday) and scrambled eggs with herbs and feta! Juice was mix of pineapple, apple and orange and coffee nice and strong! We truly felt so refreshed. Highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Our room was great but I would have loved one of the suites with the bath option. We booked last mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It was such a pleasure reading your review. We are pleased that you came to stay with us after visiting The Attwater, our sister property in Newport. If you haven't already done so, you may want to join our "On a Lark" Club. We are pleased that you connected with our mix of traditional and bold modern design style and that you loved our comfy beds and great location. Best of all - it is great to hear that you felt truly refreshed after visiting us. That's what we are aiming for! Hope to see you back here at Captain Fairfield or at another Lark Hotels property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The wife and I spent 2 days here without the kids and really enjoyed it. It's close enough to walk to the shops and restaurants and even over the bridge to Kennebunk. There is a small park close by and seem to be a few similar B&B's around but it still had a neighborhood feel. We stayed in the main house, room #9 which was plenty big and had a cheese plate and craft beer waiting when we arrived. It was great and really enough for 4 people. The innkeeper was younger than I expected (I guess I've gotten used to retirement aged people) but very professional and helpful. She welcomed us and gave us an Ipad to navigate the area with icons for areas of interest. My only complaint is that the room was far enough that the Wifi connection was hit or miss. Minor yes but made it less useful. Breakfast was a few courses, some small but very tasty with a lot of locally sourced ingredients and the coffee was good (key to me at a B&B). They have an honor policy with beer and snacks on the main floor so if you want a late night beverage you can grab on (which we did) and pay later. It was a quiet spot and little noise from guests around you. As others state, it has a mix of old and new design, both traditional and modern, which we liked but some prefer one or the other. Overall highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We are glad you enjoyed the iPad and our proximity to Dock Square and the local restaurants. So happy you took advantage of the honor bar and enjoyed Jed and Alana's hospitality. Also thanks for the heads up on our WIFI booster for the second floor. We will look into that. we hope you will return to Captain Fairfield In the next time your travels bring you north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent 3 lovely nights at The Captain Fairfield Inn. The Breakwater Room was very spacious with the most comfortable bed and pillows. lovely bath products and moisturiser were provided. Great quiet location, easy waling distance to restaurants. The chef went out of his way to provide great gluten free breakfast options for me. Nothing was too much trouble. a glass of wine on arrival plus the choc chip cookies and tea/coffe available through the day topped it off. Highly recommended. Great outdoor area with gas burners- unfortunately it was too rainy for us when we were there.

Room Tip: There is one room downstairs near the breakfast room and the lounge- may be noisy. The Breakwater wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We're pleased you had a lovely time during your visit from Australia. We love that you mentioned our bath products, because we think the Lather amenities are simply super! Jed is a terrific cook and takes great pride in meeting the dietary needs of our guests. So glad he and Alana took good care of you. We hope to see you again if your travel plans bring you back to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just returned from a quick trip to Maine to relax and refresh - no more school or little league - with some grown-up time just for us. We loved the Captain Fairfleid Inn. The decor is a stylish mix of contemporary and traditional. The on-site staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great for walking around Kennbunkport. After we returned from dinner, dessert, and a beach walk, we enjoyed a relaxing evening of reading magazines we brought upstairs from the lounge (we returned them in the morning) and surfing on the iPad that was provided at check-in. Breakfast was devine - on the menu for us was a citrus salad, a yummy coffee cake, and a choice of blueberry pancakes or sou vide eggs over a potato hash and toast. My husband had the blueberry pancakes, and I chose the eggs, and both were delicious. Our stay was just what the doctor ordered for two busy working parents!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Rachel" room and were very pleased. It was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
So glad a stay at Captain Fairfield Inn was just what the "doctor ordered" for you two busy working parents. It sounds like you made the most of our services and amenities and truly enjoyed exploring Kennebunkport. Please think of us (or any of our sister properties in Lark Hotels) the next time you need some adult time away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Address: 8 Pleasant Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport’s Boutique Choice. An artful blend of historic and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32” HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Fairfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.