We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Save Saved
You added Captain Fairfield Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Fairfield Inn
8 Pleasant Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Add More Romance!
Ranked #5 of 27 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday weekend and it was a great trip. The staff is extremely friendly, the rooms are extremely clean, modern remodels and the fireplace keeps everything toasty. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I got this trip on Jetsetter ... totally worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    47
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
394
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great accommodations in a historic inn with modern ammenities and luxurious bedding at very competitive prices. The innkeepers Alana and Jed were very welcoming and helpful. Upon arrival and check-in we were treated to a complimentary glass of wine and our New Year's Eve included a champagne toast with others staying at the inn. Breakfast was superb and plentiful. The inn is located in a quiet residential area in the midst of several other inns and conveniently within a short walk to Dock square. We hope to return on our next visit to Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay at the Captain Fairfield Inn was absolutely fantastic. The innkeepers were super accommodating. The whole place was perfectly quaint with just the right touch of luxury. Room was perfect, fireplace in the room was a lovely addition. The included breakfasts were amazing, particularly the fresh maine blueberry pancakes. Plan to be making many returns here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Captain Fairfield Inn was such a wonderful stay. Could not have asked for a more responsive staff as I am a vegan and they kindly changed their menu/made sure that they had vegan food available. There is a great mix of room available to suit anyones tastes. Ours was a contemporary with a gas fireplace, flatscreen t.v. and a lounge chair that could not have been more comfortable to enjoy some wine on the rainy day that we arrived. It was our first visit but will definitely not be our last.

Room Tip: Use their website to help you find a room that suits your personality/style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

From the first moment of arrival we were greeted and treated as most welcomed guests. The accommodations were superb.
The rooms were fresh and well appointed. The linens were Frette and we luxuriated in their comfort.
The food was all first rate with very fresh juices, breads and creatively prepared courses. The coffee was great.
Each afternoon we were greeted by homemade cookies and hot drinks which hit the spot.
The resident inn keepers. Alana and Jed were genuinely nice, friendly and were always willing to do more to ensure that our experience at the Captain Fairfield Inn was memorable and wonderful.
My wife and I would return, in a heart beat, to this most enjoyable inn.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived during a snowstorm and the Inn could not have been more charming or inviting. Our room, "The Library" was spectacular!!! Complete with King bed, couch, and gas fireplace [flat screen above]. The Inn keepers were delightful and the breakfast was delicious. Each room is given an Ipad upon arrival which contains area restaurant info, sights, shops, and newspapers. Definitely a nice touch. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We LOVED the "Library" room on the first floor. Charming!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

After staying in many inns in Kennebunkport over the years, we finally found our home away from home. The Captain Fairfield Inn abounds with the most perfect 24/7 hospitality possible. We loved the mix of contemporary and traditional furnishings found in the common areas as well as the private rooms. Our first visit for the Christmas Prelude, we chose to stay in one of the recently renovated contemporary rooms. On the return visit, we opted for a more traditional room complete with 12 inch wide pine plank floors. Both rooms had gas fireplaces and flat screen tv's. French press coffee was always available; yummy homemade cookies were served each afternoon, courtesy of Alana, and Jed served a choice of two unique breakfasts each morning!

The inn is located in a nice central Kennebunkport location, which makes walking to the town center convenient. A fire was burning every evening in the common sitting area. We looked forward to warming in front of it each evening after we returned from dinner.

Overall, it would be difficult to report anything at the Captain Fairfield Inn that didn't meet our needs and standards. So I'll just finish by leaving this review with a five star rating, thanks to Jed and Alana!

Room Tip: Each room is unique in that the inn offers different size beds, a variety of mattress types, and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Address: 8 Pleasant Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport’s Boutique Choice. An artful blend of historic and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32” HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Fairfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.