We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Fairfield inn , kennebunkport, ma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Captain Fairfield Inn to your Saves list
Captain Fairfield Inn
8 Pleasant Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Lark Suite!
Ranked #4 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Holden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Captain Fairfield inn , kennebunkport, ma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I had the best weekend at this Inn as we visited the town's Christmas Prelude events. As fun as the events were, this B&B was the star of the show! Hosts Alana and Jed could not have been more gracious and personable and served the best and most varied breakfasts! The fires, wine, cheese, fruit and crackers served in the afternoon encouraged guests and hosts to get to know each other and really served to make everyone feel right at home. We could walk to the center of town in about 8 minutes, which was also a plus. We did not want to leave and are sure to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    48
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
403
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Captain Fairfield Inn is one of the best bed and breakfast we have ever been. Alana and Jed are very attentive innkeepers. The breakfast was always delicious. The design of the Inn is very tasteful and the location is excellent. A quiet neighborhood but walking distance to the centre of Kennebunkport. If we are again in this region we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the Inn for a return visit, knowing the Innkeepers had changed. First, the location of the Inn in a beautiful historic area of old homes; quiet location, but walkable to shops and restaurants! Receiving an iPad loaded with local restaurants, shops, and things to do, plus Internet availability, was outstanding and a service we hadn't encountered before. We used it extensively. The room was very clean and cozy - a little on the small side, but we appreciated the new and very comfy King bed. (We missed the antiques, but they aren't always very comfortable!) We loved the gas stove in our room, kept things nice and cozy. Alannah and Jed were very warm, helpful, and great Innkeepers, providing wine (to purchase) and snacks for our first evening. The breakfasts were delicious, and the pretty dining room with sliding glass out to a garden with the morning sun was inviting. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The B&B is located in a lovely historic neighborhood, walking distance to Kennebunkport's shops and restaurants. The innkeepers Alana and Jed were extremely gracious and attentive - they have the requisite hospitable personalities to succeed in the B&B business. A nice unexpected perc for guests is the use of an iPad during your stay, pre-loaded with info on the area. The decor was very different than the usual vintage pieces - an interesting twist on a historic property to have contemporary pieces. We found the inn to be very clean contrary to the earlier review. (I own a #1 rated historic B&B in St. Michaels, MD, so am well aware of what it takes for a great guest experience.) All in all, a very pleasant 4 nights' stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room #9 is last one at rear of hallway on second floor - perhaps the quietest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our second visit to Captain fairfield Inn. It is in a quiet location that is within minutes walk to the town center. Innkeeper Alana checked us in with a big smile and offered us an iPod for use during our stay. The iPod is a relatively new amenity and we think it is a very nice touch for the guests!

We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and chocolate chip cookies--offered each afternoon ... thin, soft, chewey, not too sweet and perfect with the complimentary tea and coffee!

Our room was clean, beautifully decorated, cozy and comfortable. It had everything we needed for a relaxing, restful weekend. We especially enjoyed the gas fireplace when the temperature dropped at night!

We ordered one of the combination cheese/fruit/meats plate and the innkeepers Alana and Jed delivered to our room beautifully prepared boards filled with delicious variety of cheeses, apple, grapes, Italian cured meats and crackers. They graciously wrapped the leftovers and refrigerated them for us to take at the end of our stay.

Thank you Alana and Jed. We look forward to staying at Captain Fairfield Inn again!!

T&J

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed two nights in October 2012 as part of a 40th anniversary trip. Got a warm welcome from Alana with a tour of the inn. We had the Captain Fairfield room on the second floor. It was clean and fresh. It was our first experience at being issued an iPad for internet use and controlling the Apple TV. The breakfasts were unique and tasty. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Jed and Alana made our dinner reservations in advance. Mabel's was excellent (especially the blueberry pie---better than grandmom's), and Pier 77 was tops with a great water view.
Overall, we were totally satisfied with our stay and would recommend Captain Fairfield to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The room was nicely decorated, it looks great from outside, is in a nice location and we got a friendly welcome with the best choc chip cookies in the US.
However once I found long hair on every surface of the bathroom I got the creeps wondering how well this place is ever cleaned. And barely an apology from the innkeeper who the day before had been world class and super friendly. How about making it up to people? Or even an apology? "Oh, I'll look into it." Is all I got.
It is also very noisy... I get that it's old and original wooden floors etc, but we heard everyone walking past the room as if they were in the room with us all night. Annoying.
So I guess a lazy housekeeper put a damper on the stay for me, but generally I would say its an average to above average choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Address: 8 Pleasant Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport’s Boutique Choice. An artful blend of historic and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32” HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Fairfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.