We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Locke Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Book Direct Discount
Ranked #1 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went here for my wife's birthday and it was perfect. Looking at the pictures online that customers took, I was a little concerned about the upkeep of the place, but it was not a problem at all. The room and whole place was beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in the Windsor room with a very nice fireplace and a huge tub. Teri helped arrange for my wife to have a beautiful bouquet with her favorite flowers and there were delicious chocolates for her as well. I even forgot my credit card at one of the local diners and Teri helped retrieve it for me after we left and made sure we got it back. Food was also delicious with a gourmet 3 course breakfast each day. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for your kind review. We greatly value our customer feedback and appreciate that you took a few minutes to provide for us. I look at the old photos and see how far we've come since we purchased the Inn. I'm painting the Arundel room now and when I'm done with that remodel, we will have refreshed all of the guest rooms! I am very pleased with the updates and, more importantly, our guests are raving about them as well. As of late last year, we are a new Select Registry member as well and are excited to be included in such a distinguished collection of Inns. New photos will be on our website in early March so please do check it out.

I'm so glad that you both enjoyed your stay. Best wishes to you and Callie and baby. It was very nice to meet you and we hope that you will be back to visit again.

Best wishes,
Teri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
139
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend staying at the 1802 House. We had a lovely sunlit room with a beautiful bathroom. The Inn is meticulously clean and very well kept. The breakfast was delicious and enjoyed sharing it with very nice. Terri and Roger made us feel at home and we would definitely stay at the Inn again the next time we are in Kennebunkport.
Fran and Howard

Room Tip: Call ahead and make early reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello Fran and Howard,

So good to hear from you! Thank you for your very kind review.

We love Christmas Prelude too. Kennebunkport does the holiday right. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Berwick room. It is one of our smallest rooms, but our guests do tell us how much they love it for those weekend away stays.

We wish you the very best for 2014 and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Can't say enough about the comfortable and relaxed vibe The 1802 House offered for our post holiday escape. Our room was cozy and the towels are thick! A first rate experience. Thanks Teri for a memorable week end - we look forward to returning!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Guest Relations Manager at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Marc,

Relaxed and comfortable is exactly what we strive for here at the 1802 House! It makes me smile that you mentioned the towels. They get a lot of comments from our guests who like that they are so soft and plush.

Thank you and Joanne for choosing us for your Kennebunkport stay. We enjoyed meeting you both. Hope you have a good 2014 and we will look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

As guests of 1802 House for the past 20+ years, our annual visits to the Inn have been restful, enjoyable and informative. We have met so many guests at the breakfast table and enjoyed exchanging "finds" in the area with them. In addition to meeting people from all over the U.S. and other countries, we would share some of the good and not so good times-- such as, the young couple concerned with returning home to an area in Va. where the snipers were still at large.

We look forward to Autumn, the foliage and the Inn. Since the early 90s, we have seen the Inn evolve in many ways as the ownership changed, each one bringing their own specialty to the premises. When we first visited, there was a common telephone in the sitting area, no TV and WBACH was playing throughout the Inn and the guest rooms.

Now there is TV, WiFi and other amenities. Through it all, the food, hospitality and comfort has remained constant, if not better. Although our visits, for most of the time, were in October, we have experienced Maine through 1802s eyes in March and June. The weather, shopping and access to the restaurants were different, but the Inn was always the same.

We consider it our "home away from home" and have recommended staying there to many of our friends and relatives. All the rooms are lovely and comfortable--we have stayed in all of them! Each year when we return, there's always something new in the Inn and we have fun checking to see what changed since our last visit.

1802 is definitely worth a visit!

Gloria & Bill F.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Manager at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Bill and Gloria,

Thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to your week with us each year as well. The 1802 House has been an Inn for nearly 30 years which makes it one of the longest running in Kennebunkport. We're so happy to be able to become a part of that history - and that of our repeat guests as well. We enjoy getting your comments on the changes that we are making and so pleased that you rate them so highly.

We hope that your 2014 is a better year for you. We wish you continued health and much happiness! Take care.

Best wishes,
Teri & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossvale, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Our recent stay at the 1802 house was so nice. We spent two nights, and felt right at home. We have spent many nights in Kennebunkport and this is one of the best by far. The room was comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. Thanks for making our stay in Kennebunkport a great experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Pam,

It was so nice to meet you and Rob when you were here. Thank you for your very kind review. We can't tell you how much we appreciate that you took time to share with others your comments about your stay.

Happy New Year to you both and we hope that you will be able to come back and stay again in 2014.

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This location is perfect if you are planning on spending time around town. Extremely convenient and walking distance to everything, yet away from town enough that you can enjoy the countryside setting !!

Room Tip: Camden room is on first floor, nicely renovated, and extremely comfortable bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi Michael,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. It was really nice to have all of you to stay for Prelude weekend. We're glad that you enjoyed it. I hope that you and Debbie have a happy holiday and new year. Hope to see you again in 2014!

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We love the 1802 house and Kennebunkport. The rooms are excellently maintained and very clean. The breakfasts are the best we have ever had. We usually can't eat lunch were so full. Teri is a gracious hostess and genuinely cares about her guests. This was our 17th year staying at the 1802 House and we have already reserved a room for next year..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi Mark,

It's so nice to see you and Maria every Prelude. We've got so many really lovely repeat guests (present company included) - who are very kind in their praise of the changes and updates we are making to the Inn. As you know, we are making-over the Suite in January and are looking forward to seeing what you think when you stay there next. Hope you have a happy holiday and best wishes for 2014.

All the best,
Teri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 15 Locke Street, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 3 Diamond Southern Maine bed and breakfast is one of Kennebunkport's finest historic Inns. We offer understated, casual luxury in our 19th century restored colonial. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, we are only a short stroll from Dock Square. Our rooms are well appointed with queen size beds, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. A three course gourmet breakfast is served each morning. 1802 House is an ideal destination for relaxation and as a base to explore everything coastal Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1802 House Bed And Breakfast Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1802 House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.