We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and unusual food...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandaloop

Bandaloop
2 Dock Square, Kennebunkport, Kennebunks, ME 04046
+1 207-967-4994
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Contemporary, Eclectic, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Tucked away on Cross Street in a repurposed old barn, in the heart of Kennebunkport, is where you will find Bandaloop's bright red doors beckoning you in. A warm, inviting, comfortable atmosphere with eclectic art and good music will complement your organic, fresh, and tasty dining experience. No pretension, just simple, friendly, and delicious!
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and unusual food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our second meal at Bandaloop during our annual vacation week in Kennebunkport, and once again, had wonderful meal. The mussels were amazing--steamed in a sauce of garlic, cream and a hint of Djon; my husband had a tempeh dish that he raved about. The brownie dessert was sublime-- it was made with bittersweet chocolate that was silky and heavenly, and I had great coffee. Friendly and attentive service-- you can be sure we'll be back next year!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    75
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a look see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a 630 reservation, and came almost a half hour late and was seated almost immediately, without a problem on a busy night.
We absolutely loved the Chicken Satay, it had two sauces, a peanut, and a Pistachio pesto, the sauces where very complimentary, and the texture of the pesto was really interesting, very good dish, I am wishing I had some right now.
I got the Delmonico, and my date got the Scallops, we both loved our meals, I thought my steak was under seasoned, but my friend thought I was nuts, I am a little bothered by allergies, and think that this time of year sometimes
The menu seemed to need a little direction, they led with an offering of Cajun Salmon on the entree menu and some kind of fudge brownie dish on the dessert menu, both where probably excellent, but sounded like they belonged on a different menu.
Our server, and the beer and wine selection where excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice organic vegetarian selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited this restaurant specifically because of their organic vegetarian selection. We had made reservations the previous day for 8pm the following night and we were lucky to get a seat! And a wonderful romantic corner table it was! Dress is business casual fun and the place was busy! I ordered the beet salad which was not too "beety" and the Tempeh entree which was a wonderful first time experience! My husband had the generous kale salad and the massive tofu steak! All wonderful! For dessert we had the highly recommended carrot cake and cream brulee. Both delicious! The meal with predinner drinks and bottle of wine came to under $140 for 2 people. Very reasonable for the quality you get. Server Elizabeth was awesome and entertaining as she randomly kept offering things not on the actual menu! Baked potato.....HA! ;) Would love to be served by her again! Keep up the great restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic and creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Amid the typical New England fare of traditional Kennebunkport, Bandaloop stands out for its unique menu and fun, casual atmosphere. Our waitress made a point of securing the last peach gazpacho soup for us -- and it was fantastic, unlike anything else I've ever eaten. If you've grown tired of lobster, streak and the other Kennebunkport traditional menus, stop by Bandaloop.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went for the first time and loved it. Sat at the bar and the setting was so relaxing....Went for a benefit that took place later in the evening but truly enjoyed my spinach salad and a Cold River Blueberry straight up! Jodi was very attentive and made the evening very enjoyable...I will definately be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandaloop also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Bandaloop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandaloop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.